vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=313776

Double Posts Problem!
by BULLDOG
18 Aug 2014 08:10

Running vB 4.2.1, we are currently experiencing:

1) Pop up notice asking if you want to navigate away or stay on the page when submiting a post

2) Choosing staying on the page submits the post...but TWO times!

How do we fix this, please?

CAG CheechDogg 18 Aug 2014 08:17

Hmmm...I recently had this problem myself ... It was a javascript conflict somewhere ...

What have you changed or installed recently that has javascript ...

BULLDOG 18 Aug 2014 08:32

The owner installed some patches recently:

Quote:

A security issue has been found that affects all versions of vBulletin including 3.x, 4.x and 5.x. We have released security patches to account for this vulnerability. This includes patches for vBulletin 3.8.7, vBulletin 4.2.2 and all versions of vBulletin 5. The patch is also applied to vBulletin 5.1.0 RC1. It is imperative that you apply these patches as soon as possible.

Due to functionality changes, the minimum PHP version for the patch is 5.2.0. This represents an increase for vBulletin 3. Alternatively customers can install the JSON functions separately via http://pecl.php.net/package/json in which case it will work with any compatible PHP version that their particular version of vBulletin supports. You will need to collaborate with your hosting provider or systems administrator to apply the changes to PHP.

All patches can be found at http://members.vbulletin.com/patches.php
This includes:
vBulletin 5.0.5 PL1
vBulletin 4.2.2 PL1
vBulletin 3.8.7 PL3
vBulletin 3.8.7 MAPI

You can find DIFF Patches for other versions here:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/node/4024547

ozzy47 18 Aug 2014 10:10

It may be from a mod, try disabling them all and see if the issue still persists.

Open your includes/config.php file and below<?php add this line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So it looks like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


BULLDOG 18 Aug 2014 10:37

Can this be located in the ACP?

ozzy47 18 Aug 2014 10:41

No, it should be done in the config file, to ensure all plugins are off.

But if you really must try it, ACP --> Settings --> Options --> Plugin/Hook System and set Enable Plugin/Hook System to NO

BULLDOG 18 Aug 2014 10:59

Thanks! I've disabled the hook system via the ACP... let's hope it works.

--------------- Added 18 Aug 2014 at 11:05 ---------------

... and just got the "Do you want to navigate away from this page" notice again!

ozzy47 18 Aug 2014 11:13

Then it is still possible there could be a plugin firing, as doing it from the ACP don't always disable everything.

What version of PHP are you running?

Perhaps you can try the fix described here, http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...#action_144001

You will have to be logged in to vB.com in order to see it.

Wolver2 18 Aug 2014 15:46

I am having the same issue the last few days!!!

I havent installed any new mods/plugins the last few months and still get the same problem

By the way only happens on Quick Reply.. Not sure why..

BULLDOG 18 Aug 2014 16:56

Okay, we've now disabled hooks both in the ACP and in the includes/config.php file as per post # 4...

BUT now the "Helpful Answers" are not showing anymore... they ARE enabled in the ACP Settings / Options, though..

How do we get the "Helpful Answers" back, please?

ozzy47 18 Aug 2014 17:30

So did disabling tha hooks fix the original issue?

Max Taxable 18 Aug 2014 17:42

I've had this happen when there is a hook firing twice, usually due to a plugin. You need to move the function to a hook like global_start where it only runs once per page... This way it never gets re-declared.

BULLDOG 19 Aug 2014 06:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy47 (Post 2511856)
So did disabling tha hooks fix the original issue?

No.

So we've enabled the hooks again.

We still get the double posts (but have enabled double posts checking so that we get the "Updated:" and silver line separation between two identical posts that are then put in one single post).

We also still get the notice if "Do you want to navigate from this page".

It's driving us nuts!!!

tbworld 19 Aug 2014 07:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by BULLDOG (Post 2511932)
No.

When you disable the hook/plugin system you are disabling all additional products that you may have added to vbulletin.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BULLDOG (Post 2511932)
Okay, we've now disabled hooks both in the ACP and in the includes/config.php file as per post # 4...

BUT now the "Helpful Answers" are not showing anymore... they ARE enabled in the ACP Settings / Options, though..

Because most modifications use the hook/plugins system, your modification 'Helpful Answers', should not run. That is the whole point in disabling the hooks/plugin system -- to see if you board works under a default setup. :)


Quote:

Originally Posted by BULLDOG (Post 2511932)
How do we get the "Helpful Answers" back, please?
So we've enabled the hooks again.

We still get the double posts (but have enabled double posts checking so that we get the "Updated:" and silver line separation between two identical posts that are then put in one single post).

This appends the current post to the last post if the last post was within certain time limits. It does not check for 'duplicate posts' more like "consecutive posts by the same poster".

Quote:

Originally Posted by BULLDOG (Post 2511932)
We also still get the notice if "Do you want to navigate from this page".
It's driving us nuts!!!


---------------------------------------------------

(REFERENCE)
*Check Error* = Check to see if: "Do you want to navigate from this page" does not appear.

1.) Shut off hooks/plugins. *Check Error*.

2.) Fix any JavaScript errors on your page as this will certainly create problems with the ckeditor as @Cag Cheechdog suggested. This will cause the problem you are seeing under the right circumstances. After repairing the JavaScript errors, *Check Error*.

3.) At this point vbulletin should be working and *Check Error* should not exist. If the problem still exists then stop here and obtain further assistance.

4.) Re-enable the plugins/hook system. Disable, all non vBulletin products -- this is all the modifications you have added to the board. Then *Check Error*. If everything is working well, then continue, else stop and obtain further assistance.

5.) Enable Helpful Answers and *Check Error*. If all is well at this point then the problem is due to one of your other products that you have added. You will have to enable them one by one to find which product is causing you problems.

This is really just a summary of all the great suggestions given above by the members of vbulletin.org, but it seems you missed the overall picture, which is why you came full circle. I hope this gives you a better picture of the troubleshooting steps. :)

I am tired, I am going to bed. :)

BULLDOG 19 Aug 2014 09:02

I actually did follow your instructions by for instance turning off hooks and "check errors"...

Now, I found errors after disabling hooks. So went back here asking for further assistance.

Enabled hooks, "checked for errors" to find that the problems are still there.

We haven't got any non vBulletin products installed nor any modifications.

Yes, Javascript errors were mentioned in this thread, but not really how to FIX them!

This is why I went here, asking for your help...


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:34.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.