vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=138031

RSS robot not working --
by ericgray
31 Jan 2007 15:10

I am having an oddity with my 3.6.0 newsfeeder --

-- the sub-forum is here --

http://spbr.org/pbsmiles/upload/forumdisplay.php?f=26

I was running the news feeder on this Google RSS script --

http://news.google.com/news?hl=en&ne...F-8&output=rss

and I have it run to set up but in RSS feeds and Scehduled Task Manager --

-- and it says it's running in both areas, but when I look at the log, it hasn't pulled any articles --

-- and if I go in the Sch. Task Manager and run it manually, it runs -- and pulls articles --

:|

any thought?

thank you!

eric

webmazter 01 Feb 2007 01:12

Check your "footer" template for "$cronimage".

It has to be there.

ericgray 01 Feb 2007 02:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by webmazter (Post 1171659)
Check your "footer" template for "$cronimage".

It has to be there.

thank you for this -- i checked, and it is there -- :(

webmazter 01 Feb 2007 06:40

what is your site traffic?

You may need more traffic to trigger $cronimage to run.

JimmyN 01 Feb 2007 08:09

Could be a bug in this version vb, or some problem with another mod.
Last version vb i had it working fine and now i get the same problem as you are getting.

The RSS poster will not automaticly post i have to manually run it.

Any ideas people? something to do with the Scheduled Tasks?

thanks

ericgray 01 Feb 2007 10:53

the weird thing is, too, is that the other "tasks" appear to be running automatically --

-- yet the RSS Robot says it runs, but pulls nothing, and when you look at the log, nothing is pulled --

-- then if you run it manually, on the "scheduled task manager", it runs and pulls feeds --

:(

Quote:

Originally Posted by webmazter (Post 1171825)
what is your site traffic?

You may need more traffic to trigger $cronimage to run.

site traffic is pretty good --

Threads: 10,723, Posts: 145,375, Members: 932
There have been 477 post(s) in the last 24 hours.
Welcome to our newest member, mattmalz

webmazter 01 Feb 2007 14:48

How about try disabling plugins / mods / hacks and see what happened. :)

ericgray 01 Feb 2007 16:14

that is my next step -- that's GOTTA work --right?

:D

thanks!

eric

webmazter 01 Feb 2007 19:19

inform us about it. :)

ericgray 02 Feb 2007 13:34

okay -- i have me something here -- a hack -- here --



http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...15#post1172915



and here's what i wrote --



i think this is a great mod -- no question --

-- i originally had 3.0 and my board was running fine --

-- when i upgraded to this version, with its cron script, it disabled my rss autpost robot --

-- since i disabled this version and went back to 3.0, the bot is posting again -- for now --

-- just an FYI --

eric


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:34.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.