vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=244236

Tryppnotic69 12 Jun 2010 06:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by docvader (Post 2052371)
No, it shows up in Apache as a mod, and in the environment. They installed the Apache end of it, not the PHP end. According to Maxmind, it's another way of doing it, but, apparently, it doesn't work.

I've asked them to put the PHP extension in for geoip. we're using Linux. Finding the right directions for Linux was not clear; if you have a good link, I'd appreciate it.

Softlayer just installed it on my Linux server using these instructions, and it worked great.

http://www.maxmind.com/app/installation?city=1

On step 3 (http://www.maxmind.com/app/api), they used Apache Module (mod_geoip) as the API. Everything works great at my forum.

LbR 12 Jun 2010 13:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by digitalpoint (Post 2050776)
Yeah, sorry... I knew that was going to be the biggest sticking point, but it *is* a fairly common PHP extension so some people hosting on managed servers might have some luck. For those that run their own servers, it's pretty easy to install from RPM or just compile it.

Sadly there isn't a way around needing some sort of geotargetting mechanism though. I thought about making it geotarget against my servers for people, but then people would complain about privacy and such with all the geotargetting requests going to a central server. Can't make everyone happy unfortunately. :)

will that work with a VPS?

TeknoSounds 12 Jun 2010 17:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by docvader (Post 2052371)
No, it shows up in Apache as a mod, and in the environment. They installed the Apache end of it, not the PHP end. According to Maxmind, it's another way of doing it, but, apparently, it doesn't work.

I've asked them to put the PHP extension in for geoip. we're using Linux. Finding the right directions for Linux was not clear; if you have a good link, I'd appreciate it.

I just installed the extension myself the other day on my Fedora box.

Just used YUM to grab the latest geoip packages (theres two you need), then just made sure the folder with the geoip.so was in my included path, restarted apache, and np :)

digitalpoint 12 Jun 2010 18:03

Well, depending on the operating system you are running for your server, there probably is a pre-packaged RPM installer for it.

I just compiled mine from source...

Install the libraries by downloading and compiling as per the instructions here:
http://www.maxmind.com/app/c

Then download and compile/install the PHP module for it:
http://pecl.php.net/package/geoip

For my installation, the GeoCity .dat files go into /usr/local/share/GeoIP/ (I think that's the default... don't think I would have changed the path for them).

You can download the .dat files from:
http://geolite.maxmind.com/download/...y/GeoIP.dat.gz
http://geolite.maxmind.com/download/...iteCity.dat.gz

pete_brady 12 Jun 2010 19:01

i had to manually compile from source as above but also rename GeoLiteCity.dat to GeoIPCity.dat & copy it to /var/lib/GeoIP

i was probably doing it wrong though

installed & working just fine now. thanks!

(& thanks also for your vb optimisation article at digitalpoint)

digitalpoint 12 Jun 2010 19:40

Yeah... they changed the name of their .dat file they distribute a few months ago for some reason and they haven't updated the libraries to reflect that. Not sure why they changed the name of the file, but renaming it to the old name works fine (as you found).

docvader 12 Jun 2010 22:00

thanks for all the extra info.
Got it working. Great job DP

Boko577 12 Jun 2010 22:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoZmicShReddeR (Post 2050871)
I added extension=php_geoip.dll and restarted apache server and when I click on the map link I get

Fatal error: Call to undefined function geoip_record_by_name() \usermap.php on line 100

I am using vB_Datastore_Filecache

Same problem??? Why won't it work?

TeknoSounds 12 Jun 2010 22:30

pretty sure the windows version will need the .dat file too

MikeF 12 Jun 2010 23:15

Is there any way to completely exclude guests from this mod? It eats up a huge amount of resources, but is of no relevance to our full time members.

docvader 12 Jun 2010 23:46

Boko, that GeoLiteCity.dat file needs to be in usr/local/share/ directory, and it needs to be renamed to GeoIPCity.dat.

syrn 12 Jun 2010 23:49

not working ......??

imranbaig 13 Jun 2010 02:07

Hey, Thanks for sharing with us.

Megatr0n 13 Jun 2010 13:30

Any chance this will be updated for 3.8?

digitalpoint 13 Jun 2010 17:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeF (Post 2052687)
Is there any way to completely exclude guests from this mod? It eats up a huge amount of resources, but is of no relevance to our full time members.

What resources is it overloading on your server?
Quote:

Originally Posted by Megatr0n (Post 2052932)
Any chance this will be updated for 3.8?

No, sorry... I don't run any 3.x forums, so...


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:29.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.