vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=326961

Disable VBulletin Sidebar Tab
by alfuzzy
12 Dec 2018 10:51

I have the vBulletin sidebar setup on my sites home page...it contains things like forum activity (new threads. new posts, activity stream, etc)...and some advertisements.

If you're familiar with the sidebar...there's a tab that can be clicked on to hide/display the sidebar. I would like to disable this tab...so that users cannot hide the sidebar.

I've heard there are ways to do this via plug-in or coding...can someone please explain how to disable the sidebar tab so users cannot hide the sidebar?

Thank You:)

scottkoz20 12 Dec 2018 12:06

if you are using BOP5's sidebar anywhere, you can configure this by usergroup in the Settings -> Options -> Sidebar Anywhere by BOP5

z3r0 12 Dec 2018 12:07

I don't use the sidebar on any of my sites, but I've just had a look at a site that does and it looks like just adding the following to your additional.css template should do the trick.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


alfuzzy 12 Dec 2018 13:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by scottkoz20 (Post 2597764)
if you are using BOP5's sidebar anywhere, you can configure this by usergroup in the Settings -> Options -> Sidebar Anywhere by BOP5

Awesome! That was going to be my next question...where I can get the "sidebar anywhere" (I'm assuming it's a plug-in). I heard about it...and wanted to get it. Great to hear what I wanted to do can be done there.:)

Thanks very much Scott!

--------------- Added 12 Dec 2018 at 13:49 ---------------

Quote:

Originally Posted by z3r0 (Post 2597765)
I don't use the sidebar on any of my sites, but I've just had a look at a site that does and it looks like just adding the following to your additional.css template should do the trick.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thanks z3r0. I'll give it a try.:)

Does the "none" in the code mean that the sidebar can't be closed/hidden?

Thanks again.

--------------- Added 12 Dec 2018 at 14:22 ---------------

Just an quick extra question about the "Sidebar Anywhere by BOP5" plugin (if anyone knows).

If I currently have multiple sidebar blocks setup on my home page (via the vB Blocks Manager)...will installing "Sidebar Anywhere by BOP5" over-ride threse already setup sidebar blocks?

Thanks

djbaxter 30 Dec 2018 23:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by alfuzzy (Post 2597771)
Just an quick extra question about the "Sidebar Anywhere by BOP5" plugin (if anyone knows).

If I currently have multiple sidebar blocks setup on my home page (via the vB Blocks Manager)...will installing "Sidebar Anywhere by BOP5" over-ride threse already setup sidebar blocks?

No. It just allows you options for where and how to display your existing sidebar.

alfuzzy 02 Jan 2019 10:56

Thank you.


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:39.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.