vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=231407

Ophelia 30 Dec 2009 14:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD (Post 1942097)
This isn't an error - it's a warning. When your server has a php configuration file that sets a value for <em>open_basedir</em>, this restricts the parts of the filesystem that *any* script can access. It is quite possible to set <em>open_basedir</em> and LDM's settings such as <em>file_root_prefix</em> to be incompatible, hence the warning.

I'm not overly experienced with the server side of things; but if we have had LDM running okay in the past, is this something that I need to worry about?

Quote:

The LDM code does not currently update its database records to change all the pointers for existing uploads and thumbs from the previous directory to the new directory. I can probably send you a straighforward bit of sql to use with, e.g., phpmyadmin, to make the update, and will add this problem to the 'to do' list.
No worries on sending the code. I just wanted to make sure that it wasn't a bug. Once we go live everything will be where it's suppose to be :)

Quote:

There are now (actually for some time in vb 3 also) two ways of accessing the comments system, one using the 'dropdown' method that you are probably used to, and the second using an extended 'inline' feature that you are observing. You can choose which you want on the admin/settings page. I think you've enabled them both to show simultaneously.
There we go! All fixed :)

Quote:

Probably, you ask so nicely :):)
Thank you :)

Quote:

This is a matter of caching certain bits of the display in order to gain speed. It is one of those things which gets tuned as one goes along, and was not a priority for this beta release. There is however a 'display bit caching' setting on the admin/settings page which is already partially functional.
I turned on the "bit_cache_active" and it did seem to load faster. Not sure if it's my imagination or not ;)

I'll be doing more testing... we won't be going live until they get the CMS functioning better, but we are very excited about all the changes :)

ryacine 30 Dec 2009 16:44

1 Attachment(s)
Hello mates,
Thank you for this wonderful mod, one of the most important mods actually. I tried to install it on my test board, but it doesn't seem to complete the installation. It shows a message as shown in the image, but nothing happens, no matter how much I wait. But when I enter the "Addon manager", it's there, but when i try to login as admin : mysite/local_links_admin.php , nothing happens, only a white page. I don't what the problem is. Thank you.

JWL 30 Dec 2009 19:14

Can someone link a working site with this please?

I am interested in this and would like to see how it works.

Thank you

linuxututs 30 Dec 2009 21:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by JWL (Post 1942755)
Can someone link a working site with this please?

I am interested in this and would like to see how it works.

Thank you

I'm waiting for the next update myself. ( Scared to screw up my new site )
But one thing is for sure, this is a GREAT Mod, had it installed on my 3.8.4 site a week or so before I upgraded. It is/was SUPER !

Thanks for the great Mod.

Thanks,

AndrewD 31 Dec 2009 08:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by ryacine (Post 1942606)
Hello mates,
Thank you for this wonderful mod, one of the most important mods actually. I tried to install it on my test board, but it doesn't seem to complete the installation. It shows a message as shown in the image, but nothing happens, no matter how much I wait. But when I enter the "Addon manager", it's there, but when i try to login as admin : mysite/local_links_admin.php , nothing happens, only a white page. I don't what the problem is. Thank you.

May be a problem with the time taken to upload the xml product file.

Try uploading the product file (product-eirma_ldm.xml) into your includes/xml directory, then tell vb to install that file, instead of doing the upload.

ryacine 31 Dec 2009 10:13

Quote:

May be a problem with the time taken to upload the xml product file.
Try uploading the product file (product-eirma_ldm.xml) into your includes/xml directory, then tell vb to install that file, instead of doing the upload.
Thank you AdrewD for the answer. And most important, thank you so much for the mod.
It worked. Yeaaah. Awesome work, superb mod. Installed and nominated. Good luck.

Deviant K1 01 Jan 2010 06:28

Heyas Andrew!

Great Job as always on this mod. INSTALLED!!!

Quick question, I updated to this version from v2.3.0 on my vB3.8.4 board. I noticed that it created a navbar tab link "Links/Downloads". I was wondering is there a setting I over look that will allow me to remove the tab at least for now? If not in the settings of LDM, do you think you can advise me on another suggestion as to removing the tab? I only need to remove it for a bit since the wife and I are still working on the skin and setting up a better listing of our tab links.

Thanks!!! :D

To JWL
by Deviant K1
01 Jan 2010 06:28

JWL,

If you can wait maybe within the next day or two, I'll have my site re-opened and leave you the link so you can see the LDM. I've been using this mod since I found it for vB 3.7. The mod is great and I really can't see my site not having it.

AndrewD 01 Jan 2010 08:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deviant K1 (Post 1943762)
Heyas Andrew!

Great Job as always on this mod. INSTALLED!!!

Quick question, I updated to this version from v2.3.0 on my vB3.8.4 board. I noticed that it created a navbar tab link "Links/Downloads". I was wondering is there a setting I over look that will allow me to remove the tab at least for now? If not in the settings of LDM, do you think you can advise me on another suggestion as to removing the tab? I only need to remove it for a bit since the wife and I are still working on the skin and setting up a better listing of our tab links.

Thanks!!! :D

Sure - go to vb/admin/products and plugins/plugin manager and disable the plugin Links and Downloads Manager - Add LDM to main vBulletin menu. That will hide the tab except when you are already inside LDM.

linuxututs 01 Jan 2010 15:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by JWL (Post 1942755)
Can someone link a working site with this please?

I am interested in this and would like to see how it works.

Thank you

Here you go Mysite.

Went ahead and backed up everything and installed with no issues to speak of yet.
Super Mod!

Thanks,

Deviant K1 01 Jan 2010 19:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewD (Post 1943811)
Sure - go to vb/admin/products and plugins/plugin manager and disable the plugin Links and Downloads Manager - Add LDM to main vBulletin menu. That will hide the tab except when you are already inside LDM.

Thanks buddy!

I actually found that out 20 minutes after I posted this... :D.

So far so good, no bugs found! :up:

Deviant K1 02 Jan 2010 06:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by JWL (Post 1942755)
Can someone link a working site with this please?

I am interested in this and would like to see how it works.

Thank you

I have re-opened my site if you still want to check out the LDM. --> LINK
Just click on the "Video Gallery" tab on the navbar.

I did notice one syntax error that only pop up when I first visit my LDM but it goes by so quickly that I don't get a chance to see the full error message. My guess it's one of the extras acting weird. It only happens if I clear out my cookies in my browser (Firefox), and re-visit my LDM page. I'll try to get a screenshot of it and post it.

Asides from that it works great. Just as it did on my vB 3.8.4 board :).

AndrewD 02 Jan 2010 07:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deviant K1 (Post 1944687)

I did notice one syntax error that only pop up when I first visit my LDM but it goes by so quickly that I don't get a chance to see the full error message. My guess it's one of the extras acting weird. It only happens if I clear out my cookies in my browser (Firefox), and re-visit my LDM page. I'll try to get a screenshot of it and post it.

I think the error is in the block_context_menu plugin. It can be fixed by editing the plugin Links and Downloads Manager - Block right mouse button context menu attached to the hook ldm_maindisplay_begin and adding a line at the end containing just the character } (closing brace)

SemperFideles 02 Jan 2010 11:44

Andrew,

Thanks for all of your hard work. I don't mean to complain but we have noticed that, with certain custom themes, the LDM becomes unreadable. Is there a way to fix this? It doesn't seem like LDM is inheriting the site theme.

AndrewD 02 Jan 2010 12:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by SemperFideles (Post 1944839)
Andrew,

Thanks for all of your hard work. I don't mean to complain but we have noticed that, with certain custom themes, the LDM becomes unreadable. Is there a way to fix this? It doesn't seem like LDM is inheriting the site theme.

You're correct - the 3.0.0 beta release is not yet integrated with the new vb styling features. I am working through the problems - if you can point me at pages that don't look right (e.g. by PM), I'll give this attention.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:16.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.