vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=326811

Most Users Ever Online Statistic.
by alfuzzy
13 Oct 2018 19:24

Anyone know how to reset (if possible) the "Most Users Ever Online Statistic" found in the "What's Going On" area?

Looked in the Admincp area...but couldn't find anything...maybe need to dig deeper.

Thanks

MarkFL 13 Oct 2018 19:55

I think you'd have to run a query to edit the 'datastore' table. At vBcom, the advice given is to manually run this query:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I have not tested this, so hopefully you have a test installation you can try this with first.

alfuzzy 14 Oct 2018 00:35

Nice. That certainly looks much more involved than a nice-easy reset button in the admincp (if there was one)!;)

Thanks MarkFL...appreciate it.:)

Max Taxable 14 Oct 2018 19:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by alfuzzy (Post 2596776)
Nice. That certainly looks much more involved than a nice-easy reset button in the admincp (if there was one)!;)

If there was one that is exactly what it would do - run that same query but with one click.

Easy enough to paste this into ACP/Maintenance/Execute SQL Query/ Manual box and click "Continue."

alfuzzy 14 Oct 2018 20:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by Max Taxable (Post 2596789)
If there was one that is exactly what it would do - run that same query but with one click.

Easy enough to paste this into ACP/Maintenance/Execute SQL Query/ Manual box and click "Continue."

Yes..."Easy Enough" (if someone is used to doing this sort of stuff).:) But even MarkFL above mentioned..."I have not tested this, so hopefully you have a test installation you can try this with first.";)

It really would have been great if vBulletin had incorporated a "reset" button in the admincp for that most ever users online statistic.

That statistic can be so easily manipulated...and being able to easily reset it would be handy for when a website is significantly altered...and generating a "new" most users ever stat under the new conditions would be useful.

Thanks

MarkFL 14 Oct 2018 20:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by alfuzzy (Post 2596790)
Yes..."Easy Enough" (if someone is used to doing this sort of stuff).:) But even MarkFL above mentioned..."I have not tested this, so hopefully you have a test installation you can try this with first.";)

It really would have been great if vBulletin had incorporated a "reset" button in the admincp for that most ever users online statistic.

That statistic can be so easily manipulated...and being able to easily reset it would be handy for when a website is significantly altered...and generating a "new" most users ever stat under the new conditions would be useful.

Thanks

I just ran the manual query I posted above on my local dev site (vB 4.2.5), and it worked without issue. :)

alfuzzy 14 Oct 2018 20:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarkFL (Post 2596791)
I just ran the manual query I posted above on my local dev site (vB 4.2.5), and it worked without issue. :)

Thank you sir...appreciate it.:)

Max Taxable 15 Oct 2018 00:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by alfuzzy (Post 2596790)
Yes..."Easy Enough" (if someone is used to doing this sort of stuff).:)

I mean, it's quite simple really even if you've never done it.

alfuzzy 15 Oct 2018 22:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by Max Taxable (Post 2596796)
I mean, it's quite simple really even if you've never done it.

I get ya on that.:)

I think that part that had me concerned was with MarkFL's first post in the tread about doing things on a test site...rather than the live site (which could indicate some level of risk).:(

But then MarkFL said he did it...and things worked fine.:)

Thanks

Max Taxable 15 Oct 2018 23:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by alfuzzy (Post 2596813)
I think that part that had me concerned was with MarkFL's first post in the tread about doing things on a test site...rather than the live site (which could indicate some level of risk).:(

That's pretty much a standard disclaimer, any time anyone with experience is recommending you manually run a db query. Along with either/or, "Make sure you do a backup first!"

Could sound ominous, but really it's not. It's just part of "best practices" not to do stuff like that on your live site without first trying it on a tester. And it's "best practices" to recommend testing first.

You never let us know if you ran the query or not, and if so did it get you where you wanted to be.

alfuzzy 16 Oct 2018 03:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by Max Taxable (Post 2596814)
That's pretty much a standard disclaimer, any time anyone with experience is recommending you manually run a db query. Along with either/or, "Make sure you do a backup first!"

Could sound ominous, but really it's not. It's just part of "best practices" not to do stuff like that on your live site without first trying it on a tester. And it's "best practices" to recommend testing first.

Totally understand the disclaimer aspect. No way 100% of the suggestions will work 100% of the time. And it's the 0.00001% of the time something doesn't work...is when something will come back to bite you in the butt!;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Max Taxable (Post 2596814)
You never let us know if you ran the query or not, and if so did it get you where you wanted to be.

My main issue is I've had trouble setting up a test site. Tried doing it on my server...and it didn't work out (even with expert help). And tried doing a local test setup using products like XAMPP & MAMP...and couldn't get it to work ether. Setup instructions for XAMPP & MAMP just not detailed enough. I'm sure after I figure out how to do it the first time...it will make total sense.

Just not there yet with the learning curve! lol

Thanks

MarkFL 16 Oct 2018 04:36

Oh yeah, the first time I set up a local server using xampp it took me hours to get it working. There's definitely a learning curve for all this stuff, but what I lack in expertise I mostly make up with tenacity.

But, once you do get a local server set up it's well worth all the effort. I've got all kinds of forum software now running on it, and it's super nice to have a place to try things out without worrying about destroying a live site.

Max Taxable 16 Oct 2018 06:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by alfuzzy (Post 2596817)
My main issue is I've had trouble setting up a test site.

You can safely run the query. It's been tested. It's only affecting the datastore, there's zero chance it can do any damage. You're good to go.

rekha 17 Oct 2018 10:37

If you have your admincp setup to allow mysql queries, then it is @ admincp -> Maintenance -> Execute SQL Query. Otherwise, you can login to mysql directly or use a mysql frontend (we use Navicat) to run mysql queries.


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:17.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.13
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.