vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=249277

dartho 02 Feb 2012 09:52

I think vBulletin will be fixing it in 4.1.11 ?

F&R 04 Feb 2012 11:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by dartho (Post 2153534)
@Daffy - The logo is defined in the CSS so you can change there or overwrite the existing image file "images/misc/mobilelogo.png"

If you can;t see it being rendered, it could be that your brower doesn't support it, or if you have the options addon for this style you have enetered in text for the header which replaces the logo.

Aha!! That's why I don't see the logo.

I was wondering if it would be possible to add back a "mobile" adsense type thing Adsense Mobile Ad types here

I was also wondering if it was possible to put the option to go the Lite style at the top of the page on the standard layout so it is possible to switch between full and lite without having to fish in the styles drop down at the bottom.

The reason I ask this is because there are times when I use this style on my laptop/computer. Having a low bandwidth version is brilliant if you are stuck on dial up or using an overcrowded WiFi network.

Wonderful work thank you:)

Fixed errors doing these changes
by Hippy
04 Feb 2012 22:53

dartho

I test most everything with this site http://validator.w3.org
can you review and confirm the changes made are good
thanks dartho
if all checks out, could you please add to your nexted version if you release one

when I ran this skin through that site
there was 14 Errors, 3 warning(s)
you can run your site as well .. need to make sure changing to the style you use that address with the Example-->"?styleid=6" at the end of the url so it does not read the default style

with the fixes I did to these 2 template

This document was successfully checked as XHTML 1.0 Transitional! Passed
header template
1st the changes I made here where

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and changed

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

also in the navbar template
all the
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I added a / at the end

changed template

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


dartho 04 Feb 2012 23:05

@F&R - There's nothing to stop you adding Ads in - the ad hooks etc are all there. I'm pretty sure you can just paste in the code you receive from Google

re: Full Site link - if you have a drop box, I assume you have the 'Options' addon installed? IN which case you should be able to select the option to have a link in the footer rather than a dropdown box

dartho 04 Feb 2012 23:51

@Hippy - Thanks. I closed off those input tags as well as some img tags in other templates. As for the script, rather than change it, I simply added comment codes insode the <script> tags:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

as I wasn;t sure if the code changes would affect functionality.

At one stage in t he distant past, I think the original version of this style was XHTML Strict, but I got lazy over time :o

Hippy 05 Feb 2012 02:23

welcome
yes I remember some img tag but i forgot where they where ..
that was a different day I was testing and forgot to mention it here since I did forget about them..

I wasn't sure what the a&&a ment all I could come up with was &alt; I i could not come up with anything in a search ..
but I did find this http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7...for-var-i-in-a this is why I change that code..

keep me posted bud and again thanks for the fantastic mobil (better that vb's "IMO") style ;)

if you comment out the script will the image still resize I test what I did and they still do..
if thats what it's for..

dartho 05 Feb 2012 06:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hippy (Post 2296302)
if you comment out the script will the image still resize I test what I did and they still do..
if thats what it's for..

Yep the comment is only meant to stop the bowser trying to render it whilst allowing the script engine to still execute the script - or something like that ...

F&R 05 Feb 2012 09:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by dartho (Post 2296273)
@F&R - There's nothing to stop you adding Ads in - the ad hooks etc are all there. I'm pretty sure you can just paste in the code you receive from Google

re: Full Site link - if you have a drop box, I assume you have the 'Options' addon installed? IN which case you should be able to select the option to have a link in the footer rather than a dropdown box

Thanks for the reply, yes I have the options add-in installed and it does display "desktop" on the Lightweight style, BUT what I was asking is how I can put the reciprocal button on the desktop style to quickly go to the lightweight style when it is loading the desktop style.

On the ads stuff, ok great, I will have a play.

I do have one more problem. On my windows phone 7 it displays fine and when I change pages, the lightweight style is still in force. However on an iPhone and on a Nokia Xpress Music, when you change page (to go into thread for example) it reverts to the desktop style.

I have uninstalled the style and the options and then reinstalled them, cleared system cache and updated styles. The users have cleared their caches and logged in again, but it still reverts to the desktop style when you change pages. Any ideas? As I said my Windows Phone 7 behaves as expected, iPhones don't.

dartho 05 Feb 2012 12:13

@F&R - Try editing the headinclude template and removing the line

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

In regards to link - try editing the header template in your default style, search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and add the following immediately before it:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

that what type of thing you are after?

Hippy 05 Feb 2012 12:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by dartho (Post 2296281)
@Hippy - Thanks. I closed off those input tags as well as some img tags in other templates. As for the script, rather than change it, I simply added comment codes insode the <script> tags:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

as I wasn;t sure if the code changes would affect functionality.

At one stage in t he distant past, I think the original version of this style was XHTML Strict, but I got lazy over time :o

can you add the edit you did I am not quite sure how you ment to do, this are ..... the code ? and just add the code in replace or the dots there in your example ?

dartho 05 Feb 2012 21:59

search headinclude template for

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and replace with :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

this is an optimised version of the above code block you can use instead (optimised for size) I should probably move it to an external file so that browsers can cache it


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


F&R 05 Feb 2012 22:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by dartho (Post 2296407)
@F&R - Try editing the headinclude template and removing the line

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

In regards to link - try editing the header template in your default style, search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and add the following immediately before it:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

that what type of thing you are after?

Thanks, will give this a go tomorrow... the styleid will be 2 for me I guess.

The style not sticking apparently is a known issue due to be fixed in 4.1.11 but will give your fix a go first, might be easier. but it's 11.30pm here so time for bed. Night and thanks for the help.

Salleen 05 Feb 2012 22:32

not working @ 4.1.10

Hippy 06 Feb 2012 01:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by dartho (Post 2296594)
search headinclude template for

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and replace with :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

this is an optimised version of the above code block you can use instead (optimised for size) I should probably move it to an external file so that browsers can cache it


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


my headerinclude it

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


The Rocketeer 06 Feb 2012 03:13

@ Hippy, Could you please list / put all your and moof's edits currently required in one new post with instructions and everything? So we all can use that until vBulletin 4.1.11 fixes these issues. It should also make it easier for Dartho to update his style and make the necessary changes.

I have also had someone work on my mobile styles Homepage(as in the CMS home) and to be honest it looks very decent now, I will post my edits soon so some of you can get the cms home page working with your mobile style. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.