vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=104059

config.php problems
by BradOlsonBemidj
30 Dec 2005 20:38

I have some config.php problems as shown here and I can't get the forum displayed:
What folders do I need to create?

Bradley

Zachery 30 Dec 2005 20:41

I've removed your link so that you won't be giving away any senstive information.

I highly suggest you redownload vBulletin and reupload it. Also make sure you are editing the .php files with notepad or wordpad.

BradOlsonBemidj 30 Dec 2005 20:41

I get this error: Configuration: includes/config.php exists, but is not in the 3.5 format. Please convert your config file via the new config.php.new. and I have 3.5.2

Zachery 30 Dec 2005 20:44

I highly suggest you redownload vBulletin and reupload it. Also make sure you are editing the .php files with notepad or wordpad.

Danny.VBT 30 Dec 2005 20:44

Are you editing config.php.new accordingly to work with your database and have the correct settings and then saving it as config.php?

stinger2 30 Dec 2005 21:00

i am having the same problem.......i edited the file with ultra edit but anything i upload is shown as 0KB file and its empty......not only the config.php

any suggestions??

BradOlsonBemidj 30 Dec 2005 21:16

Now here's the error: The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please confirm the values entered in the 'includes/config.php' file.

Zachery 30 Dec 2005 21:21

Please confirm that the values entered in the 'includes/config.php' file are correct.

Scrolls 19 Jun 2006 01:36

how do i know if they are correct or not?

Danny.VBT 19 Jun 2006 02:19

Well if the installation works - then you know it they are correct.

If you are getting an error - that means that what you configured config.php does not match what you specifically have set up on your server.

SCORPION1 19 Jun 2006 02:56

for starters you need to open the config.php.new if its a fresh install you will find this in you upload/includes folder


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

the xxx_xxx is what ever your data base you have set up on your sever is if you dont know that this is in your sql database here is an example if your data base is set up as forums_forums and the username is pinky_pinky the XXX_XXX will be
fourms_pinky well thats how mine is
are you using cpanel x if so thats how your sever will be set up

secend normal changes is


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

easy just put your email address in place

thrid change


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

where the xxx is you must put your username and password that you use to log into your main sever where you host your site

now that should be all the changes needed all you do now is save the file as config.php you are now changing it from config.php.new and make sure you are save it to the upload/includes folder then just upload everything you need to your sever done!!!!

p.s if you need any help pm me other than that good look m8

G0F0RBR0KE 19 Jun 2006 05:21

I could help you out with ur issues. I have help out so many members setting up their forums.

You can simply PM me.


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.