vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=164477

Execute Scheduled Tasks Via Crontab
by Jafo232
06 Dec 2007 05:46

1 Attachment(s)
This product will run your scheduled tasks via crontab rather than the current method where Vbulletin uses an image to execute tasks. This can slow down a users experience especially with long running tasks. It also stops all of those cron.php entries in your webserver log.

This product is really only useful for those on *nix (Linux/Unix/Etc) servers. Will not work on Windows based servers.

You should have a rudimentary understanding of crontab before installing this hack.

For those wondering how this differs from this hack, well, first of all, it works for 3.6.8, but more importantly it actually replaces the method Vbulletin uses to execute scheduled tasks, whereas the other hack only helps it out.



Brought To You By WorldWideCreations.com.

mobilescafe.com 06 Dec 2007 05:51

Thanx for this.

yahoooh 06 Dec 2007 06:12

Thanx

Jafo232 06 Dec 2007 17:14

Your Welcome. :)

plothook 06 Dec 2007 19:02

*Marked as Installed*
Nifty little utility. Thanks

Jafo232 07 Dec 2007 03:30

Your welcome.. Let me know if you have any issues with it.

Benj 07 Dec 2007 07:41

very useful cheers

Jafo232 07 Dec 2007 16:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by Benj (Post 1396629)
very useful cheers

If you find it useful, by all means, click install. :)

GoodKarmaKid 17 Mar 2008 18:37

does this work with vb 3.76beta ?

I'd like to install this and get rid of the dumb vbulletin way of running the tasks.


Thanks,
jason

GoodKarmaKid 18 Mar 2008 04:06

I'm not much of a programmer or a coder, but I can follow directions :D

I've uploaded this to vbulletin 3.76beta and it appears to work just fine, I will continue to keep my eye on it, but as far as I can tell it is working as intended.

Thanks for the add on

Jason

Jafo232 18 Mar 2008 15:38

Don't see why it wouldn't, but I for one will not modify any plugin for a beta. When it is released, then I consider it.

GoodKarmaKid 28 Mar 2008 04:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jafo232 (Post 1467913)
Don't see why it wouldn't, but I for one will not modify any plugin for a beta. When it is released, then I consider it.

Do you consider RC1 (release candidate 1) a release ? :).


I like the idea of using this instead of vbulletins built in cron tasks.


Thanks,
Jason

Jafo232 28 Mar 2008 15:18

No I don't consider it a release. You are always free to try it yourself. :)

Jafo232 30 Mar 2008 17:31

Unless they have seriously changed the way scheduled tasks are done, I don't see how it would not work in the latest beta versions.

|Jordan| 15 Dec 2008 19:20

Can this increase server load? My webhost just contacted me saying that cron.php among other scripts were using too much cpu.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:47.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.13
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.