vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=312421

[vB3/vB4] VERY general SQL query via AdminCP to change usernames in quotes.
by Max Taxable
25 Jun 2014 15:07

You gave someone a username change. Great, but his old username is still in all places where he was quoted in the past.

Run this query in AdminCP, replacing with actual usernames
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



BUT: if there exists a apostrophe in the old username, the DB will think that's the end of the string and will kick a syntax error. Therefore where apostrophe exists in either username, double it, as such: ''

Example:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Where old name was: Sammy's and new name is: Elliot.


You're welcome.:D

mokujin 25 Jun 2014 15:11

Not tested, but try these ;-D

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Max Taxable 25 Jun 2014 15:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by mokujin (Post 2503664)
Not tested, but try these ;-D

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Those might work too. The one I posted did definitely work.:D

mokujin 25 Jun 2014 15:14

Oh wait, I thought you need help, but this is a how-to ;-))

Max Taxable 25 Jun 2014 15:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by mokujin (Post 2503666)
Oh wait, I thought you need help, but this is a how-to ;-))

Yep I had used this query before and never had problems. When it kicked the syntax error this morning, it took me a bit to figure out why.

So, just thought I would share in case anyone else wants to globally change quoted usernames, and needs a query to do it.

I smell a Hack coming here, one that does this automatically any time you change a username?

blind-eddie 21 Jul 2014 00:30

Would you happen to know what query to run to change username in other areas that do not change when a new name is applied?

--------------- Added 21 Jul 2014 at 01:38 ---------------

Never mind, I went into the database and changed the names that needed changed in the areas that did not change the users name.

Max Taxable 21 Jul 2014 02:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by blind-eddie (Post 2507551)
Would you happen to know what query to run to change username in other areas that do not change when a new name is applied?

What areas are those, just out of curiosity. PMs quoted? Can add what you've figured out, to the article.

blind-eddie 21 Jul 2014 02:17

ibProArcade v2.7.2+

Max Taxable 21 Jul 2014 02:29

I wonder if that is true also for v3 Arcade.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:27.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.