vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=230415

Avatar in Header
by Seven Skins
17 Dec 2009 21:49

5 Attachment(s)
Avatar in Header

This will add user avatar in header.
User without avatar will be show blank avatar.
Unregistered user will not be shown any avatar.


Installation:

-Import the XML file via ... AdminCP > Plugin & Products > Manage Products > Add/Import Product.




Find in header template:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add Below:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


You can edit the margins to suit your needs

Live demo

Login to see the avatar.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


PS. Minimum height for the logo you are using must be 65 pixels, or else the avatar will be hidden behind the navbar.


Click Install if using this mod.


Thanks


Updated:
18 Dec 09: Changed template edits to correct problems with adverts in the header.
21 Dec 09: Add url to profile.php so avatar can be edited.
22 Dec 09: Working with vBulletin 4.0.0 (Gold)
14 Jan 10: Updated for vBulletin 4.0.1


.

milsirhc 17 Dec 2009 22:18

Thanks! Will be using this once VB 4 goes Gold!

Toxic2 17 Dec 2009 22:20

LOL That's Kinda Nice ! I can Imagine the members response :eek: tagged

elwachiman 17 Dec 2009 22:21

Excelente Tnks Man

Trek 18 Dec 2009 01:24

I can see my members enjoying this. =) Tagged.

fourat 18 Dec 2009 04:00

Nice work
Can you make it as widget ?

Cableguy69 18 Dec 2009 04:23

Looks good thanks, installed.

Kolbi 18 Dec 2009 15:43

My 3.8.x version: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=227666
:(

halkum 18 Dec 2009 16:59

I love this idea, but with the use of advertisements it made my header look sloppy, so had to remove it.

:(

Brandon Sheley 18 Dec 2009 18:42

nice mod, it looks good :)

Seven Skins 18 Dec 2009 19:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by halkum (Post 1932971)
I love this idea, but with the use of advertisements it made my header look sloppy, so had to remove it.

:(

lol ... I forgot about the ads. I have edited the installation process, please use that and avatar will stay up top.

See Screenshot:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attac...1&d=1261164876

.

trilogy33 19 Dec 2009 00:51

Nice one, thank you and tagged.
Probably will get more users uploading an avatar. :)

Dr.osamA 19 Dec 2009 09:57

installed
thanxx man
________
Box Vaporizers

jackph 19 Dec 2009 10:14

great, thanks :D

saqibnpt 19 Dec 2009 17:14

Great, Nice one thanks

Selcor 19 Dec 2009 21:35

It not works in VB4 beta 5 with another skin ...

In applying this supplement will not let me enter the forum ...

Seven Skins 19 Dec 2009 21:40

Have they released RC5 ... I dont think they have yet.

You just do the template edits according to your skin.

.

Selcor 19 Dec 2009 21:47

I have: Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.0.0 Beta 5 Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights

Just apply and try to enter the forum:

Quote:

Warning: require_once(./includes/functions_user.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in [path]/includes/class_bootstrap.php5(277) : eval()'d code on line 3

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required './includes/functions_user.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/gmaster/public_html/foro/includes/class_bootstrap.php5(277) : eval()'d code on line 3
Modify the template Header like you said. And the error still ...

Seven Skins 19 Dec 2009 22:51

Edit the plugin Header Avatar ... find this "./includes/functions_user.php" and edit it to "./includes/functions_user.php5"

.

Selcor 21 Dec 2009 03:45

Thanks!

WNYorker 21 Dec 2009 04:45

any way to link the avatar to the change avatar page? tried coding it myself, thought it might be easy, but couldn't figure it out.

Seven Skins 21 Dec 2009 15:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by WNYorker (Post 1934366)
any way to link the avatar to the change avatar page? tried coding it myself, thought it might be easy, but couldn't figure it out.

Updated, download and overwrite the exisitng installation.

.

zonaenlinea 21 Dec 2009 21:51

Thank you all very well prefect

nitra1000 21 Dec 2009 23:08

Tried with VB4 Gold and it's failing to show the avatar anything missing off the steps? or does this not work with VB4?

Glenshadow 22 Dec 2009 00:19

I liked the idea and installed it, however what about a piece of code to add maybe a table border or something similar around the Avatar when it is displayed ? Reason I ask is because most avatars are pictures and it kinda looks like a pic is just slapped up there, nothing fancy. (I haven't dug around in the code at all to try an accomplish this myself, but just suggesting.)

Thanks again for the mod !

*edit*
Forgot to mention, I have it working in vB4.0 Gold, I just followed the steps outlined and it works.

Another thing I was thinking.. what about calling it directly as it would in say postbit, so the Avatar populates the in exact size that it is through the rest of the board ?

I am no coder by far, but just an idea.

garretbyrne 22 Dec 2009 04:22

Excellent.. Nice one mate.. Installed

VonDoom 22 Dec 2009 06:45

Installed and 2nd the Gold Conformation. :) Thanks for another cool product. looks nice in combination with Alternative Header User Info

bacemail 22 Dec 2009 06:49

Any chance you created a mod that places an avatar in the thread list next to the thread creator's user name?

nitra1000 22 Dec 2009 18:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by nitra1000 (Post 1934855)
Tried with VB4 Gold and it's failing to show the avatar anything missing off the steps? or does this not work with VB4?

NVM was me being a nonce and not installing the plugin correctly.

For anyone else... you import the xml without filling in the other product details...

p.s Excellant plugin although would like to see a border around the pictures.

Seven Skins 22 Dec 2009 22:00

^^ In the Header Avatar plugin find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Replace it with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And edit "border: 1px solid #FF0000" to suit your needs.


.

Glenshadow 22 Dec 2009 22:41

I tried that just now.. no worky for me... tried solid, groove, etc.. even tried 10px to make sure it wasn't being weird on me...

Seven Skins 22 Dec 2009 23:00

Try again please, I have edited my post above.

.

HN™ 23 Dec 2009 03:01

Great, Nice one thanks !

Glenshadow 23 Dec 2009 17:43

Bingo.. thanks !

radmoose 24 Dec 2009 07:37

Thanks for this mod.

The issue that I am having is not with this mod, but I can't figure out how to make a minimum width of the header.. so I can change the header graphic and when someone resizes the avatar won't throw off the header graphic.

I only found the 10 ways tutorial at vBulletin.com on how to change hte header graphic, but I can't find any place that has info on how to make a minimum width... =/

Thanks again!

napy8gen 27 Dec 2009 15:47

hi. it is not showing in my ie8

Bluetiereign 27 Dec 2009 19:53

I like it. Thanks.

gyaronn 27 Dec 2009 19:53

nice one m8 good work :-)

SoFresh 28 Dec 2009 00:33

Super. Thank you!

TheSupportForum 28 Dec 2009 00:44

i would like to know if its possible to get it to float instead, i have already modified my own header

www.tutorials4you.co.uk

ragarcia87 28 Dec 2009 06:06

Awesome :D Works like a charm.

Seven Skins 28 Dec 2009 16:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by napy8gen (Post 1939408)
hi. it is not showing in my ie8

It should, I test my hacks in IE, FF, Opera etc ... before releasing.

Did you do the template edits?

.

napy8gen 29 Dec 2009 17:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seven Skins (Post 1940426)
It should, I test my hacks in IE, FF, Opera etc ... before releasing.

Did you do the template edits?

.

Hi SS.
I edited your plugin from working in header to navbar instead.
just change the location of template.
in FF it shown

carrlos 07 Jan 2010 06:16

I had a problem with this because my avatar is not a perfect square. To fix, I removed the width and height settings completely from the plug-in and changed the margin-right in the header to 80px (my default forum max size is 80x80). ;)

Switch3130 13 Jan 2010 02:47

This isn't working with vB 4.0.1

Deviant K1 13 Jan 2010 18:45

1 Attachment(s)
Don't remember if I posted that I installed this great mod so...

INSTALLED! :)


Anyways...

It isn't working for me either after upgrading to vB 4.0.1.

Please review the attached image below. It clearly knocks my logo down off the header :(.

When I disable the mod everything on my header is back to normal. Any ideas on a fix for this?

carrlos 14 Jan 2010 04:46

I have the same problem as Deviant_K1. I thought I was doing something wrong but clearly something is broken in 4.0.1.

RedHacker 14 Jan 2010 09:56

With 4.0.1 Version i think doing biggest the header... Please update..!!!

Seven Skins 14 Jan 2010 10:59

First post has been updated.

No need to update the plugin, just redo the edits in header template.

.

RedHacker 14 Jan 2010 12:05

Destroy the Welcome,Settings,myprofile,notifications and log out

Seven Skins 14 Jan 2010 12:14

If you have custom skin then you have to edit the header accordingly.
This works without any problem in default skin.

Add "{vb:raw ss_avatar}" to the header template where ever you need to.

.

RedHacker 14 Jan 2010 12:18

No i have default Style...

I follow the instoductions....

Deviant K1 15 Jan 2010 02:53

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Seven Skins (Post 1955273)
First post has been updated.

No need to update the plugin, just redo the edits in header template.

.

Definitely Appreciated! Working great with nothing broken in the header. View the attachment below.

Thanks! :)

RedHacker 15 Jan 2010 06:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by RedHacker (Post 1955322)
Destroy the Welcome,Settings,myprofile,notifications and log out

It is work.. I do one mistake no add below but replace.. It is now perfect...

kontagio.us 16 Jan 2010 04:48

Thank you for this.

ErnieTheMilk 16 Jan 2010 10:41

OK, a stupid question.... where do I find the header template in 4.0?

iyama 17 Jan 2010 10:15

admincp>search in templates: find text:<div id="toplinks" class="toplinks">
And on the left site you see a box with header>click on it

Delifed 18 Jan 2010 04:26

wrong thread.

Reef Man 18 Jan 2010 20:11

Installed.

Just one question, my avatars are bigger, what size do you recomend to edit the margin?
I tried, but I am a novice on this.

Thanks for the support.

Seven Skins 19 Jan 2010 00:00

Your forum is not working, when it is let me know via pm, then I will have a look.

.

utahraves 19 Jan 2010 01:43

I have 4.0.1 and I am a little knowledgeable with template edits however I have followed these directions and it does not work for me :(

utahraves 19 Jan 2010 01:44

Just kidding, 1000 refreshes later it came.

utahraves 19 Jan 2010 01:45

I got it working in FF but it doesn't want to work in IE8 w/wo compatibility mode no.

Reef Man 19 Jan 2010 15:12

yes, they are working. you can see here:

http://www.acuarios-marinos.com/forums/forum.php

I placed a big logo and i think that solved. Take a look and let me know.

gabrielt 21 Jan 2010 23:49

Good. One suggestion. To add this manual modification into a plugin, this way whenever the official "header" template is modified after the release of a new vBulletin version we won't need to re-edit it.

balkanboy 21 Jan 2010 23:52

cool installed :D

GamerPerfection 07 Mar 2010 10:31

Nice Mod. :) but unfortunately I don't think it really works with my custom template header. Nice idea though. Maybe if it was in a widget? But great Mod anyway. :)

Seven Skins 07 Mar 2010 12:22

You just to find a place where you can put "{vb:raw ss_avatar}"

hossgher 07 Mar 2010 12:43

installed great, works great, thanks!

movslow 12 Apr 2010 19:34

Re-installed for 4.03 and works fine fyi.
:up:

warezgen.com 12 Apr 2010 23:20

working fine. thanks

GamerPerfection 14 Apr 2010 22:21

Can i get this to work in a CMS Widget at all? If so, how?

akxt660 08 May 2010 07:49

I like it. Ok for VB4.0.3?

sKippah 13 May 2010 15:15

Wrong thread sry

eksajlee 13 May 2010 17:44

If you want border around avatar use this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

instead of COLOR put Red, Blue, Black, #000000 whatever you want :D

goran424 02 Jul 2010 21:13

1 Attachment(s)
There is a problem though:

once I installed this add-on, Paul M's "Display Unread Posts and Reputation Comments" no longer displays number of unread posts even though they are out there.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=231060

However, if I click on "You Have No Unread Posts", it will list all unread posts anyway.

Not sure who needs to do the fix, you or him, but sure would appreciate if something can be done because I would like to keep both of these mods.

Gero50 04 Jul 2010 01:41

Is this avatar in the header a link to the user profile or just a extra image.

goran424 04 Jul 2010 07:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gero50 (Post 2064087)
Is this avatar in the header a link to the user profile or just a extra image.

Not just an image, upon clicking on it takes you to Settings / Edit Avatar.

goran424 04 Jul 2010 07:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by goran424 (Post 2063368)
There is a problem though:

once I installed this add-on, Paul M's "Display Unread Posts and Reputation Comments" no longer displays number of unread posts even though they are out there.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=231060

However, if I click on "You Have No Unread Posts", it will list all unread posts anyway.

Not sure who needs to do the fix, you or him, but sure would appreciate if something can be done because I would like to keep both of these mods.

Never mind, problem is gone now....

BlueCheri 04 Jul 2010 08:43

Installed for 4.0.4, works fine for it :)

Thanx

Gero50 04 Jul 2010 11:02

Installed perfectly. Thanks a bunch.

JesusSuarz 20 Jul 2010 07:00

I change my template to make it this way:

http://img832.imageshack.us/img832/1...atarheader.jpg

I want is to display the user avatar after registering your account

kontagio.us 22 Jul 2010 03:11

In IE 8 with vBulletin 4.0.5 I get this error. It works perfectly fine with Firefox logged in as the same user and also with the admin account. See the code below the images.

IE 8 Regular view:
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/539/regulart.jpg

IE 8 Compatibility view:
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/9452/compatibility.jpg

What it looks like in Firefox:
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/3151/firefoxgu.jpg


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


[email protected] 22 Jul 2010 11:27

Does anyone know how to get the avatar to point to the users member.php page instead of their edit avatar page?

deathtrancer 25 Jul 2010 11:27

Thank you, awesome work

movslow 27 Jul 2010 18:03

It doesn't work w/this skin here --> http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=242855 (CF1), b/c they don't have a "toplinks" pointer in the HEADER template.

Any ideas?

Thanks
:up:

farhanisfarhan 27 Jul 2010 22:10

Nice One...

surfer2124 06 Aug 2010 18:49

How do I use in a widget?

surfer2124 13 Aug 2010 22:02

Is this mod supported?

Seven Skins 13 Aug 2010 22:34

It is ... if you use it in default skin and in the header not in a widget.

PreciseDemise 13 Aug 2010 23:27

Nice! :D Maybe this will get hte lazy buggers to up load one :D

Thanks guys =)

8thos 26 Sep 2010 06:42

Works great!

8thos 04 Oct 2010 04:12

I take that back. This is the mod that screwed up my main login page.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=251567

Mr_Running 27 Oct 2010 13:49

Great Job Seven Skins works with 4.0.8 default. I thought it needed sharing that it works :)

I added the border and when I remove the width and height settings I lose the border. I know this combo will work but I could use a little help and It would be great to have it below the logout.

Maybe Carrlos would be willing to help :) not to single you out friend :)
Quote:

Originally Posted by carrlos (Post 1949299)
I had a problem with this because my avatar is not a perfect square. To fix, I removed the width and height settings completely from the plug-in and changed the margin-right in the header to 80px (my default forum max size is 80x80). ;)

what do I need to remove width and height...or do I need to find "profile.php?do=editavatar" ...if so where do I find it...LOL :)
I feel like I am trapped in a square box :) --> I like the square if it was an image but if it user uploads a random "photo" and does not square it up! It will be distorted. I guess user can learn to square their photos to look good but if they do not have to all the better.

I thought I would just remove this " width=\"60\" height=\"60\"
but no it did not work. Learning code is fun :)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Avatar in header mod is awesome!
Cheers,
:)
Mr_Running

sweetguy2004 28 Oct 2010 09:50

Thanks friend installed!

Mobo 09 Nov 2010 16:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr_Running (Post 2114850)
Great Job Seven Skins works with 4.0.8 default. I thought it needed sharing that it works :)

I added the border and when I remove the width and height settings I lose the border. I know this combo will work but I could use a little help and It would be great to have it below the logout.

Maybe Carrlos would be willing to help :) not to single you out friend :)


what do I need to remove width and height...or do I need to find "profile.php?do=editavatar" ...if so where do I find it...LOL :)
I feel like I am trapped in a square box :) --> I like the square if it was an image but if it user uploads a random "photo" and does not square it up! It will be distorted. I guess user can learn to square their photos to look good but if they do not have to all the better.

I thought I would just remove this " width=\"60\" height=\"60\"
but no it did not work. Learning code is fun :)

$ava_urlX = $ava_url[0];
$ss_avatar = "<a href=\"profile.php?do=editavatar\"><img src=\"$ava_urlX\" width=\"60\" height=\"60\" style=\"border: 1px solid #FF0000;\" alt=\"Avatar\" /></a>";

Avatar in header mod is awesome!
Cheers,
:)
Mr_Running

I was able to get it to work. Here is what my section of that code looks like:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Hope this helps.

Outbackmark 10 Nov 2010 04:27

I like this mod, just one problem, your code does not use the full server path to functions_user.php which causes problems with other mods, any chance of rectifying this?

hardboiled 10 Nov 2010 22:17

Installed, works great. Thank you.

blake247 12 Nov 2010 03:21

Installed this mod, now I get "Own3d By Cyb3R"

Seven Skins 13 Nov 2010 14:56

^^ You can open this hack in the notepad and see the code ... there is no way this hack can do this.


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:21.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.