vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=288954

Title Tag Grabber AND Video Embedding by BOP5 for VB5
by BirdOPrey5
11 Oct 2012 20:55

3 Attachment(s)
.

IMPORTANT! - Updated version released here: https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=325277

All New Version 3.0

Use version 3.0.1 on VB 5.1.5 and newer (tested on 5.1.7)
It has not been tested on old versions of VB5. If you still have an old version of VB5 try the Version 2.0 download.

This mod can do two things:
  1. It can automatically grab the title of a page you are linking to
  2. It can embed video URLs automatically

For example it will turn:

http://www.vbulletin.org

to

vBulletin.org Forum - The Official vBulletin Resource!

This is working on both the simple and complex style URL BBcodes, and it will ignore existing links if you have specified a custom title.

It can also turn a link like: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxEPV4kolz0 into an embedded video without use of the [video] BB Code.

In addition there is an option to auto embed old links that were previously embedded by the AME 2.x mod for vBulletin 3.x. If you still have [AME] BB Codes in your posts this mod can do its best to embed them like they used to be with AME.

Video Embedding is currently working with Youtube (both short and original URLs) and Vimeo.com videos.

The Mod should auto install, upload files as instructed in Readme (everything goes in the usual place.) Clear the system cache to see the mod work on existing posts.

If you wanted to undo the changes made by this mod simply delete the files/remove the mod/ and clear the cache. This mod does not alter the original posts, only the cached copies.

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this. :)
Donations Always Appreciated. :up:
Consider nominating for MOTM if you like it! ;)

BirdOPrey5 11 Oct 2012 20:56

Reserved.

ozzy47 12 Oct 2012 02:58

Looks cool Joe, I always liked that on sites that had vBSeo installed.

BirdOPrey5 12 Oct 2012 10:56

You never needed VBSEO- this mod still works on VB 3.x & 4.x for free: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=189658

Nirjonadda 29 Nov 2012 19:44

Can You update this mod for work on 4.1.10 ?

BirdOPrey5 29 Nov 2012 22:36

There is already a title tag grabber that works on 4.x. It's a 3.x mod that works fine on 4.x. I don't have the link offhand... search google for:

title tag fetcher site:vbulletin.org

Nirjonadda 30 Nov 2012 16:29

Title Tag Fetcher Does not work on 4.1.10 ? Only Like your mod ! please update it for 4.1.10 !

BirdOPrey5 30 Nov 2012 16:34

It works for me on 4.2.0, I have it installed on Qapla.com, and it was working on 4.1.5 as well.

The issue may be when using the WYSIWYG editor, it adds [url] tags around pasted URLs.

I have no plans to release this for 4.x, if anything I would release an add-on for the existing mod to make it play nicer with the WYSIWYG editor, but that is not high on my list right now, sorry.

Nirjonadda 30 Nov 2012 17:06

OK ! External Link Titles its work on 4.1.10 but have a one issue ! Its does not work other usergroup on 4.1.10 , Only work for super Admin,can you check for how to fix for work on all usergroup?

JamalFree 05 Jan 2013 17:56

:up: its very cool ; thanks

Dorgham 25 Feb 2013 13:48

Add a very wonderful
And useful for search engines

BirdOPrey5 14 Apr 2013 10:05

If anyone has problems with this please specify the exact version of VB5 you are using. Big changes are coming to the editor in future versions, minor differences is version numbers will be very important for tracking issues.

Sushubh 14 Apr 2013 17:59

Did not work on my test installation. I cleaned the system cache too. Here is a link.

Luis 15 Apr 2013 13:07

im on vb version 5.0.0, and didnt work!

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2013/04/22.jpg

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2013/04/23.jpg

BirdOPrey5 15 Apr 2013 13:15

Sorry guys, I should have been more clear. This mod has no hope of working on 5.0.0 or 5.0.1 due to the infamous link bug, regardless of whatever else may have changed.

Beginning with the release of 5.0.2 I will resume development and at that point please be specific about any errors you find.

Sushubh 15 Apr 2013 13:53

haha thanks. i am giving vb5.0.1 a try after having a mega disaster with 5.0.0. looks like i would have to wait for a few months more before considering moving back from ipb. plugins like these are very essential for me especially considering vbseo team has not announced any plans to release a version for vb5 yet.

BirdOPrey5 21 Apr 2013 21:21

So it turns out I can get the mod mostly working in VB 5.0.1. If you use "Paste as Plain Text" when you paste links into the VB5 editor, they work fine in 5.0.1. If you paste as a hyperlink you get the ugly URL BBCode but you do get a working link at least.

This bug does not exist in VB 5.0.2 and the mod works well in VB 5.0.2 for those on the beta testing team, and for everyone else soon.

I have added some new features to the mod.

Besides just grabbing titles of pages you can now also automatically embed video URLs without the use of any BBCode. Just paste a YouTube or Vimeo URL into a post and (if enabled) the mod will convert it to an embedded video.

In addition to embedding video URLs the mod can also work with databases that have been upgraded from VB 3.x where the "AME" mod was in use. The AME mod is not available for VB5 yet and I don't know if it ever will be. If you didn't clear the AME tags before upgrading to VB5 you probably have many video URLs still stuck inside the [AME] BBCode.. Such as [AME]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxEPV4kolz0[/AME]. This mod can auto-embed video URLs inside AME BBCode. Again it will work with YouTube and Vimeo URLs. (Both original YouTube URLs and the shorter youtu.be URLs.)

Sushubh 21 Apr 2013 21:37

That is awesome. Hopefully vB5 reaches stages of usability. You have solved 2 of the issues I have with it!

ecrotty 23 Apr 2013 19:08

This is huge. THANK YOU, THANK YOU.

VB5 may be usable yet!

Karl Mart 01 May 2013 08:47

Hello!

I get this message:
""Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in [mysitepath]/core/packages/bop5titletagsvb5/api/content/text.php on line 75"

BirdOPrey5 06 Jul 2014 18:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by Karl Mart (Post 2419389)
Hello!

I get this message:
""Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in [mysitepath]/core/packages/bop5titletagsvb5/api/content/text.php on line 75"

Sorry for the delay- this mght happen if there were many URLs to fetch at once- or some other reason it was going slow. Increasing the max time to 60 seconds should help if possible.

Does this happen all the time or only on occasion?

kehindelawal 09 Jul 2014 10:38

I installed it on my site and it works quite nicely. However some website developers embed a shortened link on the page in the Title Tag. This makes the Title Tag not display appropriately.

Example:
http://businessdayonline.com/2014/07...vote-tomorrow/#.U7w9MpS9nmc

The above link does not display because of the highligted part.

is it possible to fix this somehow?

http://businessdayonline.com/2014/07...vote-tomorrow/
without the highlighted part displays apprpopriately

BirdOPrey5 09 Jul 2014 11:33

Thanks, that is definitely a bug, let me work on it, I'll let you know when I have a fix.

BirdOPrey5 09 Jul 2014 11:47

Updated-

In my test I couldn't replicate this problem. I had to take a guess at the problem URL because the VB software here shortened it.

Is this the URL that was having the problem?

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If not please paste the exact, full, URL not working inside the [code] BB Code.

If that was the URL causing the issue then please let me know what version of VB 5.x and what version of PHP you are running, and if possible, a link to a thread where it happened.

kehindelawal 13 Jul 2014 19:47

Thanks. it happened on the thread here http://nigerianinvestorforum.com/for...=1405280733539
i am on vb 5.1.2 and php 5.5
That is the correct link

kehindelawal 14 Jul 2014 07:51

Most link are now just showing as LINK. i wonder what might be wrong. my site is here...nigerianinvestorforum.com

kehindelawal 30 Jul 2014 07:20

still not working well. while some website display the title adequately, some just default to the LINK.

will like to get this working plss!

djcaseanova 17 Mar 2015 14:34

Installed the mod on vB 5.1.5 because the included video link is not very useful if users can not user YouTube Short codes (even though it states it's supported format). This worked perfect for embedding YouTube videos.

Marked as installed...... Thanks! Time saver!

Vaskania 16 Apr 2015 19:17

Installed and working on 5.1.6.

Having an issue when editing posts though. Links show up truncated when editing, and as such, the link is no longer rewritten once the post is saved. Not sure if that's an issue with the mod or VB5's forced truncation though.

/edit
Got the above bit worked out. Was the forced truncation. Modified the bbcode_url functions and all's well.

BirdOPrey5 16 Apr 2015 22:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vaskania (Post 2543251)
Installed and working on 5.1.6.

Having an issue when editing posts though. Links show up truncated when editing, and as such, the link is no longer rewritten once the post is saved. Not sure if that's an issue with the mod or VB5's forced truncation though.

/edit
Got the above bit worked out. Was the forced truncation. Modified the bbcode_url functions and all's well.

Thanks for reporting this, I will look into it and post an update.

Vaskania 16 Apr 2015 23:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2543273)
Thanks for reporting this, I will look into it and post an update.

It's nothing wrong with your script. The bbcode files in VB5 itself had to be modified. Instead of having an option in the admincp, they forced url truncation to 55 chars in the php code.

indio007 27 Apr 2015 20:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2417741)

In addition to embedding video URLs the mod can also work with databases that have been upgraded from VB 3.x where the "AME" mod was in use. The AME mod is not available for VB5 yet and I don't know if it ever will be. If you didn't clear the AME tags before upgrading to VB5 you probably have many video URLs still stuck inside the [AME] BBCode.. Such as [AME]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxEPV4kolz0[/AME]. This mod can auto-embed video URLs inside AME BBCode. Again it will work with YouTube and Vimeo URLs. (Both original YouTube URLs and the shorter youtu.be URLs.)


Hi, I'm trying to get this package to work to convert the ame tags. Our tag syntax is like this.

[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Adu-f9xERy8"]Mario[/ame]

Is this acceptable?

mdawg 21 May 2015 04:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by kehindelawal (Post 2508973)
still not working well. while some website display the title adequately, some just default to the LINK.

will like to get this working plss!

There seems to be no rime or reason to what URLs become titles and what become the default LINK.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Vaskania (Post 2543251)
Installed and working on 5.1.6.

Having an issue when editing posts though. Links show up truncated when editing, and as such, the link is no longer rewritten once the post is saved. Not sure if that's an issue with the mod or VB5's forced truncation though.

/edit
Got the above bit worked out. Was the forced truncation. Modified the bbcode_url functions and all's well.

Yes I have noticed this too, and yes it is a major pain if editing a post that has multiple links in it. If you wish to preserve to titles you must copy and paste the actual URLs back in before saving the post.

Vaskania can you please advise on what exactly to do to prevent this from happening.

mdawg 01 Jun 2015 23:55

Does this still work with 5.1.7 ? Because when I just posted a new URL in 5.1.7 with this hack running the URL appears odd, with the URL itself appearing between [url=" and
[/url] with the thread title sandwiched in between.

BirdOPrey5 02 Jun 2015 11:36

I have just updated this to version 3.0 to deal with the problems reported when editing posts.

It is now working fine for me on VB 5.1.7.

Please upgrade.

I have set the minimum version to VB 5.1.5. If you run VB 5.1.5 or higher I strongly recommend you to upgrade to the Version 3.0 product available in the download links.

mdawg 02 Jun 2015 15:48

Thanks! for the new version. Running on vb 5.1.7 now, and yes it maintains the thread title after editing and re-saving which was a real pain before when it lost the thread title.

Question: leaving this setting "Text For Pages With No Title" blank so that it just leaves the URL intact in full instead of the word Link when it cannot figure out the title - is there any downside to this? I mean, it seems like seeing the URL spelled out is better than the nondescriptive word link. If this is left blank it won't affect the mod's ability to pull titles or cause anything crazy to happen will it?

BirdOPrey5 02 Jun 2015 18:50

No downside. Just personal preference.

tomcoleman 04 Jun 2015 08:28

just installed this on 5.1.7

Now everytime I user posts you get an error saying "error loading Post"

BirdOPrey5 04 Jun 2015 12:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomcoleman (Post 2547093)
just installed this on 5.1.7

Now everytime I user posts you get an error saying "error loading Post"

Are you sure you uploaded all the files?

Uninstall/remove the mod (if you haven't already) to stop the error.

tomcoleman 09 Jun 2015 08:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2547104)
Are you sure you uploaded all the files?

Uninstall/remove the mod (if you haven't already) to stop the error.

yes - had to remove/disable to make the board work again

Can you fix?

BirdOPrey5 12 Jun 2015 15:19

I've tested now on several VB5 sites without issue. Do you have any other mods installed?

scottct1 20 Jun 2015 18:49

I just installed this on 5.1.7 and get the following at the top of the screen.

Warning: file_put_contents(result.txt): failed to open stream: Permission denied in .../packages/bop5titletagsvb5/api/content/text.php on line 23 Warning: file_put_contents(nodeid.txt): failed to open stream: Permission denied in .../packages/bop5titletagsvb5/api/content/text.php on line 24 Warning: file_put_contents(keys.txt): failed to open stream: Permission denied in .../packages/bop5titletagsvb5/api/content/text.php on line 25

What does it mean?

scottct1 20 Jun 2015 19:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomcoleman (Post 2547093)
just installed this on 5.1.7

Now everytime I user posts you get an error saying "error loading Post"

Getting the same error. Fresh install of 5.1.7 only other add on installed is viglink.

BirdOPrey5 30 Jun 2015 19:21

It seems I inadvertently left several lines of debugging code enabled in the 3.0.0 release. This code would try to create text files with varias variable dumps.

Depending on your server setup this may have caused warning messages or errors when running this mod.

I have updated to version 3.0.1 and made sure all debug code is disabled.

mdawg 22 Nov 2015 15:09

This works but occasionally when I edit a post it still doesn't grab the title on the save, and I have to re-edit and re-paste the full URL.

DemOnstar 31 Jan 2016 18:38

Does this mod remove the control functions, pause, full screen etc from the window within the thread?

If so, how can it be changed?

Cheers. . . ...

mdawg 20 Apr 2016 21:31

With vb 5.2.1 have you noticed any issue with this mod converting email addresses and other stuff into http: format? This does appear to be an issue with this mod and not with 5.2.1 because I toggled your mod on and off, and only with the mod ON did I notice the below issue:

For example on a post on my vb 5.2.1 forum I had an email address
webmaster@mysite.com
entered into a post, and the forum first converted it upon saving to look like this
< a href="http://webmaster@mysute.com</a>
(no hyperlink)

and then when I did nothing more than edit/save without touching it, it converted it to a hyperlink looking like this
http://webmaster@mysite.com

so finally I had to turn HTML ON, and add noparse /noparse tags to beginning and end and then it looked like this finally
webmaster@mysite.com
but not a hyperlink.

This seems to have something to do with the word WEB in webmaster that alerts your mod to convert to an http hyperlink.

I experienced this same issue when I tried to enter the text
test-site.php

into a post and your mod converted it in the same way as above, except directly to a bizarre hyperlink
http://test-site.php
without the interim strange conversion, again necessitating the noparse /noparse tags.

Again - I went into a test forum of mine and toggled your mod on and off, and turning it off rectified this issue, so there is an issue with your mod and vb 5.2.1

Or maybe this was there all along as a bug in your mod, and the word "web" in webmaster or the hyphen in the .php makes your mod think this is a URL to be converted.


To clarify:

Of these for example

wp-atomic.php
wp-installit.php

word-installit.php
word-atomic.php

forbear-atomic.php

The first four end up http: conversions. The last one, not.


webmaster@mysite.com
hello@mysite.com

the first with the word webmaster in it, ends up converted to http:// hyperlink. The second, remains as a webmail hyperlink.

shimei 09 Jun 2016 05:33

Any plans for vb 5.2.2? Anyone know whether this mod works?

mdawg 10 Jun 2016 03:34

It does work with 5.2.2 with the noted above issues from my 4/20/16 post.

shimei 10 Jun 2016 14:07

Works for me using 5.2.2.

mdawg 13 Jun 2016 16:41

It does work yes and I have it installed on 5.2.2 However it has the above noted issue from my post # 47

shimei 10 Aug 2016 03:37

Is there a way to exclude the urls in < iframes >

Edit: looks it will exclude if using \</iframe>| in the ignore regex feature.

Thanks,
Shim

mdawg 10 Aug 2016 17:10

The solution I found was to bookcase the problematic terms with noparse /noparse tags. But, it would be preferable if the software were updated to prevent the issue entirely because you can't really know what terms will be problematic before you post them....

Manuela 24 Mar 2017 14:18

Just tested it in vb 5.2.6

Worked great for videos... but I had to deactivate it.

Because for URL it also rewrote all links within attached images from URL and they were not shown anymore.

Setting "Auto Parse ALL URLs" to "No" also disabled the video function... so its unfortunately useless for me.

Do you think you can find a solution for this problem?

BirdOPrey5 24 Mar 2017 19:30

Can you post a plaint text example of the attached image issue that is causing you problem? So I can enter the text on my VB5 forum and see if I can replicate the issue?

Manuela 25 Mar 2017 10:43

Sure.. here is what it does to an attachement when implemented with extern URL:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This only happens to extern URLs, not to image attachements that had been uploaded to server.

BirdOPrey5 28 Mar 2017 10:32

Hello,

I need the text you type into the post before it happens, not after it happens.

You can get the text by viewing the raw source in the Advanced editor before submitting the post.

Manuela 28 Mar 2017 23:05

That was an attached image used on vb 5.2.6.
No written Text, URL or written BBCode.

Clicked on the Image Icon, filled in the Image-URL and then saved the post. Nothing else.

And after installing and activating the mod all attached images in posts turned to the code I added above.

BirdOPrey5 09 Apr 2017 12:14

Sorry I don't foresee anytime to work on this, I have marked it re-usable code, if anyone wants to take a look at improving it themselves and releasing an updated version, feel free.

mdawg 24 Apr 2017 17:57

What it seems to do is truncate the URL for external links IF it is a really long URL such as say one for an image, example:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/zm...ghO5dS0dg=w300

it turns it into this upon saving:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com

I don't believe this has anything to do with "images" per se, it just means that this hack is altering any really long external URLs when posted as external links. (When you use the ADD LINK function.) When you click to edit the external link URL, it is all there, but after you post it, it is truncated such that it no longer goes to the correct URL.

Within the same post if you post the URL as a line in the post text (NOT as an external link), the URL appears fine.

To summarize again:
If you try to use the Add Link function to the right of the Image button, upon posting the URL is truncated and invalid. However if you click to edit, the URL is all there. Just upon saving the URL is altered.

But if you simply post a URL within the message, it appears okay.

I am assuming that this is something this hack is doing, and not a bug in VB 5.3.0


---

As far as what Manuela is saying up there, yes it does post the image when you try to find and post it via URL, but it also makes a crazy URL at the top of the post, which for this URL
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/zm...ghO5dS0dg=w300

looks like this:
[ATTACH=JSON]{"data-align":"none","data-size":"full","title":"zmJTC0HBAeAk9ZcCjNANsQMLv78-oc04-b9olW60XYFBj78jf3-Iuj36EghO5dS0dg=http://w300.jpg","data-attachmentid":74051}[/ATTACH]


---

So these are two separate, perhaps related, bugs with the hack. I wish Bird O'Prey could find the time to revise this very useful hack. We could pass a donation hat and I would contribute if that would make a difference. Thanks!

Manuela 24 Apr 2017 20:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdawg (Post 2585787)
As far as what Manuela is saying up there, yes it does post the image when you try to find and post it via URL, but it also makes a crazy URL at the top of the post, which for this URL
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/zm...ghO5dS0dg=w300

looks like this:
[ATTACH=JSON]{"data-align":"none","data-size":"full","title":"zmJTC0HBAeAk9ZcCjNANsQMLv78-oc04-b9olW60XYFBj78jf3-Iuj36EghO5dS0dg=http://w300.jpg","data-attachmentid":74051}[/ATTACH]

It happenend also to uploaded image attachements.

By the way: Somehow I canīt delete this mod :( Whenever I click on delete its gone for a while.. but after refreshing the cache for the forum, it is back again in products and hooks and also activated. At the moment I just keep it deactivated.
Can I delete it via FTP or does that cause any trouble?

mdawg 25 Apr 2017 14:25

On my forum, and I've had this hack running for a while, if you click to upload an image DIRECTLY (not via URL) it works fine. Not sure what you mean by "image attachments."

The only issues are as noted in my posts #47 and #60 above.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...5&postcount=47

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...7&postcount=60

The basic issue has to do with an upload done via URL - the hack does not affect images themselves only URLs.

INTERESTINGLY, if you upload an image via URL using the paperclip on the RIGHT, it works.

Would love to see this hack updated.

--

As far as deleting the hack, if you are careful to delete only its files, should be fine.

Manuela 12 May 2017 15:51

Hi there,

I would like to delete this product because it does not work but I canīt :(

Right now I go to the Manage Product and choose delele this product.
Then its gone...

But after refreshing the cache of the system it is back again (and activated) :(

So right now I keep it deactivated (since weeks)... but I would like to delete all of it.

What can I do? Is this a known issue or am I the only one having problems like this?

Did not work with 5.2.6 and now still having this problem after updating to 5.3

Donīt know if it is based on this product. Did not try to delete another one yet.

Can I delete it via FTP? Does that work?

BirdOPrey5 12 May 2017 18:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manuela (Post 2586434)
Hi there,

I would like to delete this product because it does not work but I canīt :(

Right now I go to the Manage Product and choose delele this product.
Then its gone...

But after refreshing the cache of the system it is back again (and activated) :(

So right now I keep it deactivated (since weeks)... but I would like to delete all of it.

What can I do? Is this a known issue or am I the only one having problems like this?

Did not work with 5.2.6 and now still having this problem after updating to 5.3

Donīt know if it is based on this product. Did not try to delete another one yet.

Can I delete it via FTP? Does that work?

Yeah sorry about that. When I created it VB5 had this new "auto install" feature which sounded good. Just upload the files and the product installs itself the next time the forum loads.

Well the problem is, if you uninstall it, it just re-installs itself. :D

The safest way would be to go to the folder:

/bop5titletagsvb5/api/content/

Edit the text.php file.

Find the line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change it to


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Then Uninstall the product from product manager.

Then delete the entire bop5titletagsvb5 folder and all its contents.

Manuela 12 May 2017 20:33

Thank you!!! Now I was able to deinstall it :)

mdawg 26 Jun 2017 00:52

With permission from BOP5 and help by Rhodium this mod has been updated here:
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=325277

You'll want to uninstall and delete all the old files before installing the new mod.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:27.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.