vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=203353

abrecher 11 Jun 2009 23:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sorky (Post 1827926)
Thanks for the link & login. Couldn't login but looking at your site was enough to show me you were using the 3.7.x version. To upgrade to the 3.8.x version you have to make sure you uninstall the old one after recording your settings as the 3.8 version uses a different product ID

I never installed any version on the site before I installed the 3.8 version. I had to uninstall it when the index page wouldn't load. Then I went ahead and installed the 3.7 version and it worked fine.

I'm sorry about the login issue, you should be able to log in now.

Sorky 12 Jun 2009 09:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by abrecher (Post 1827944)
I never installed any version on the site before I installed the 3.8 version. I had to uninstall it when the index page wouldn't load. Then I went ahead and installed the 3.7 version and it worked fine.

I'm sorry about the login issue, you should be able to log in now.

Latest installed and seems AOK.

timallen82 15 Jun 2009 04:50

I have installed this mod and I really wish I could get it to work!

I am confused as to how you set up Forums and Subforums.

Right now, I have several Categories. Within each category, I have forums.

Two of my Categories have a lot of forums. I want to use this mod on those two categories only! The rest of my forum list, I want left alone.

For example, One of my categories is for my sponsors and in that category, I have a forum for each sponsor.

Do I need to change the category to act as a forum? If I do that, then I won't have the category heading that I like.

Please help a confused vBulletin noob!

Thanks!

Sorky 15 Jun 2009 06:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by timallen82 (Post 1829919)
Do I need to change the category to act as a forum? If I do that, then I won't have the category heading that I like.

In a nutshell, if your forum displays "SubForums: ...", this mod can be used to improve that display.

At Club-R I do not see that. You need to have child forums that are deep enough (eg: If there was a "regions" category inside the "communities" that contained NE, SE, etc, then it would likely do what you are after).

What option or Mod do you use to have each Category appear in its own table? If that was off and the forum home sub-forum depth is 1, then you may also see my Mod in action.

PS: Yes it does work for categories as well.

timallen82 15 Jun 2009 06:33

Thanks for the help. I will try your suggestions. I think I understand what you mean.

Sorky 15 Jun 2009 10:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by timallen82 (Post 1829937)
Thanks for the help. I will try your suggestions. I think I understand what you mean.

I see you figured it out - Hope it gives you what you want ;-)

PS: What option or Mod do you use to have each Category appear in its own table?

Alfa1 16 Jun 2009 10:26

If a forum is set to not show sub-forums, it still shows the text 'sub-forums:'

Sorky 16 Jun 2009 13:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alfa1 (Post 1830570)
If a forum is set to not show sub-forums, it still shows the text 'sub-forums:'

They were never really linked, but it does make sense. I'll have a look at it.

1.7.2 Features
by Sorky
17 Jun 2009 01:49

Removed as this was a small change and I did another so I simply combined them in the next version

Sorky 17 Jun 2009 11:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by Il Pompa (Post 1802496)
Great job!! Can you add the "alt code" on post counts when the mouse is over?

I finally guessed what you meant... You wanted it to say "Threads/Posts" when you hover over the numbers.

PS: It was a span title rather than an alt code ;)

1.7.3 Features
by Sorky
17 Jun 2009 11:39

Change Log

1. Hiding SubForums now hides the SubForums: prefix as well
2. Hover over the counts to see what they are (added title to the count span)
3. Other minor coding and commenting adjustments

Alfa1 19 Jun 2009 02:06

If you hide a sub-forum, that is actually a sub-sub-forum, then it will be hidden on the display of its parent. But it will not be hidden on the main forum index/ FORUMHOME.

Example:

- Forum A
- Forum B
-- subforum1
-- subforum2
--- subsubforum1
--- subsubforum2
--- subsubforum3
--- subsubforum4
- Forum C
- Forum D

If you hide the children of subforum2, then subsubforum1,2,3,4 will not show on the forumdisplay of Forum B. But they will still show on the main forum index.php while they should be hidden on the main forum index as well.

Sorky 19 Jun 2009 02:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alfa1 (Post 1832361)
If you hide a sub-forum, that is actually a sub-sub-forum, then it will be hidden on the display of its parent. But it will not be hidden on the main forum index/ FORUMHOME.

The option is designed to hide the SubForum display for a specified forum, not to specify a Forum that would not be visible (ie: you specify the parent). Hiding particular forums completely would be better served using forum permissions. Note also that the Forum-Jump-Menu would have them listed.

Although I do somewhat understand what you are asking, this Mod is more about cosmetics than security.

Alfa1 20 Jun 2009 00:48

For cosmetic reasons I would like to hide some subsubforums from index.php (forum index) while showing its parent subforum. Could you add this function?

Sorky 21 Jun 2009 01:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alfa1 (Post 1833000)
For cosmetic reasons I would like to hide some subsubforums from index.php (forum index) while showing its parent subforum. Could you add this function?

Would you not simply use the "Forum is Active" option in the actual subsubforums configuration? That hides it from view in all the displays (including the jump menu).


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:35.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.