vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=323946

Dave 07 Dec 2016 20:08

The change to the PHP file I supplied a couple of posts ago did not fix that? I had the same issue and changing that fixed it for me.

RichieBoy67 07 Dec 2016 20:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave (Post 2579228)
The change to the PHP file I supplied a couple of posts ago did not fix that? I had the same issue and changing that fixed it for me.

Thanks Dave but no, no change with that. I am not getting an error any more but it is not fixing the issue.

caciquegm 16 Dec 2016 02:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 (Post 2579229)
Thanks Dave but no, no change with that. I am not getting an error any more but it is not fixing the issue.


RICHIE, you finally resolve this issue? i have the same problem.

Twixted Chaox 16 Dec 2016 03:07

4 Attachment(s)
i made a whm/cpanel module for lets encrypt which handles everything for you. just select the domain/subdomain you want to install it on and it handles everything else...

attached a few screens for you to look at....

I switched a long time ago because of this :D makes it so easy why wouldn't you :D

RichieBoy67 17 Dec 2016 18:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by caciquegm (Post 2579494)
RICHIE, you finally resolve this issue? i have the same problem.

I never did resolve the issue but my work around is to use firefox, click on the yellow triangle warning in the url box and click disable security.. I do this in the admincp only..

--------------- Added 17 Dec 2016 at 18:16 ---------------

Quote:

Originally Posted by Twixted Chaox (Post 2579495)
i made a whm/cpanel module for lets encrypt which handles everything for you. just select the domain/subdomain you want to install it on and it handles everything else...

attached a few screens for you to look at....

I switched a long time ago because of this :D makes it so easy why wouldn't you :D

I have Plesk. :)

Internal links still need to be changed, settings, etc. Adding the certificate itself is really easy. I use Cloudflare and their cert so that aspect is even easier.

I think there are still issues with certain areas of Vbulletin itself and some plug ins..

Thanks through..would use your plug for sure if I had cpanel.. :up:

Mark.B 18 Dec 2016 18:53

Those getting mixed content warnings in the admincp, please make the file changes here:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/node/4355527

These changes will work for either vB3 or vB4 (not needed in vB5).
They are applied by default in 3.8.11 and 4.2.5.

CAG CheechDogg 19 Dec 2016 01:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark.B (Post 2579596)
Those getting mixed content warnings in the admincp, please make the file changes here:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/node/4355527

These changes will work for either vB3 or vB4 (not needed in vB5).
They are applied by default in 3.8.11 and 4.2.5.

I don't have those changes at all and I don't get mixed content warnings in the admincp and it always displays the greed padlock ....just saying ...

Ashlar217 19 Dec 2016 04:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg (Post 2579607)
I don't have those changes at all and I don't get mixed content warnings in the admincp and it always displays the greed padlock ....just saying ...

Same here... I also use an image importer to fix mixed content warnings in the forums/CMS/Blog etc.. So far I am keeping everything secure with no mixed content warnings by doing nothing other than installing the SSL and adding the image importer.

RichieBoy67 19 Dec 2016 17:58

I actually made the changes to the admincp/index.php and I still have the issues with mixed content.

In addition when I click on those processing links with in the admincp they still show urls that do not have https://..

What version of Vbulletin do you guys have?

Ashlar217 19 Dec 2016 19:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 (Post 2579632)
I actually made the changes to the admincp/index.php and I still have the issues with mixed content.

In addition when I click on those processing links with in the admincp they still show urls that do not have https://..

What version of Vbulletin do you guys have?

I'm using 4.2.3. Not sure how much help it will be. I hope you get it sorted out Richie

Dave 19 Dec 2016 19:43

I think I'm going to make a guide soon on how to move to HTTPS on a fresh vBulletin installation. (latest vB4 version) I'll see what errors I encounter and maybe that will help you and other people in the future.

RichieBoy67 19 Dec 2016 20:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg (Post 2579607)
I don't have those changes at all and I don't get mixed content warnings in the admincp and it always displays the greed padlock ....just saying ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ashlar217 (Post 2579612)
Same here... I also use an image importer to fix mixed content warnings in the forums/CMS/Blog etc.. So far I am keeping everything secure with no mixed content warnings by doing nothing other than installing the SSL and adding the image importer.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave (Post 2579636)
I think I'm going to make a guide soon on how to move to HTTPS on a fresh vBulletin installation. (latest vB4 version) I'll see what errors I encounter and maybe that will help you and other people in the future.

Dave, how about a guide for an old installation using cloudflare and customized heavily? :)

I have actually converted a few sites in the past without a hitch, no modifications needed. The issue here could be related to my cloudflare cert seeing as the way it is done through cloudflare at least with the package I have is to have the ssl cert actually hosted at cloudflare.. This could be the issue even though I cannot understand why it works every where else. I cannot find anything url wise that needs to be changed in the database or the templates.

The fact that I see a non ssl url inside the admincp though is a dead giveaway that something is wrong. I am talking about the links used when you save a setting edit or a plug in change. You get that page that says processing.. Mine shows a non https:// url. I get past that page now though and then get solid white. Clicking those links does nothing.

Dave 19 Dec 2016 20:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 (Post 2579637)
Dave, how about a guide for an old installation using cloudflare and customized heavily? :)

I have actually converted a few sites in the past without a hitch, no modifications needed. The issue here could be related to my cloudflare cert seeing as the way it is done through cloudflare at least with the package I have is to have the ssl cert actually hosted at cloudflare.. This could be the issue even though I cannot understand why it works every where else. I cannot find anything url wise that needs to be changed in the database or the templates.

The fact that I see a non ssl url inside the admincp though is a dead giveaway that something is wrong. I am talking about the links used when you save a setting edit or a plug in change. You get that page that says processing.. Mine shows a non https:// url. I get past that page now though and then get solid white. Clicking those links does nothing.

I also run Cloudflare with HTTPS (Cloudflare SSL only) enabled on my forum (about 900k posts) and I don't really have any problems. I only had one problem in the past and that was the HTTP error in the AdminCP which I fixed by modifying one of the PHP files.

In Omnibus 19 Dec 2016 21:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave (Post 2579636)
I think I'm going to make a guide soon on how to move to HTTPS on a fresh vBulletin installation. (latest vB4 version) I'll see what errors I encounter and maybe that will help you and other people in the future.

That would be helpful to a large number of people who never saw the need for https up 'til now. Honestly, if you're not collecting personal data there is no need for encryption but Google is gonna Google.

Mark.B 19 Dec 2016 22:28

This covers most scenarios:
https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/arti...forum-to-https

--------------- Added 19 Dec 2016 at 22:30 ---------------

Quote:

Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg (Post 2579607)
I don't have those changes at all and I don't get mixed content warnings in the admincp and it always displays the greed padlock ....just saying ...

If you're not having mixed content issues in the admincp then there is no need to make the change, as my post says. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:06.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.