vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=237404

Thread Thumbnails
by Null Parameter
03 Mar 2010 18:24

7 Attachment(s)
Thread Thumbnails
Created By: Null Parameter

The Thread Thumbnails mod allows users of a forum to specify, in several possible ways, a thumbnail for their thread to be displayed on Forumdisplay thread list.

I had created the mod for vB 3.8, but people we're crying out for a ported version to vB4, and, thanks to help from several of the members, here it is!


Description of Features

Thumbnails are displayed on the Forumdisplay next to the threadicon.
In the ACP Options, assuming you are using the Auto-Template Edits, you can choose which side of the icon to display it on.

Forum Display Screenshot


When submitting a new thread or editing the first post of a thread, a thumbnail can be specified directly if the User Entered URL option is chosen in the ACP. Another option is to Require the thumbnail. If the thumbnail isn't required, it may be left blank by the user, and it can either not be shown at all on forumdisplay or be replaced by a default thumbnail image specified in the ACP.

New Thread Screenshot

Edit Post Screenshot


All available options in the ACP include...
  • Turn Off/On Thumbnails
  • Turn Off/On Auto-Template Edits
  • Which forums to use thumbnails in
  • Turn Off/On thumbnails on sticky threads
  • Require thumbnails (doesn't work with attachment option)
  • Choose to retrieve thumbnails from one of the following
    • User Entered URL
    • First Attachment
    • First Image in Post
  • Choose where thumbnail is displayed in threadbit (relies on Auto-Template Edits)
  • Thumbnail CSS Style
  • Specify No Thumbnail Replacement Image
ACP Options Screenshot


This version is also now using phrases, so it can more easily be translated!


Installation

Install the product XML file. That's it!

If you have a highly customized style, there is a chance that the auto-template edits will not work. In that case, you will need to make the template edits manually. See the included README for more details.


Thumbnail Style

The style for thumbnails is specified in the ACP. It is used to choose exactly how thumbnails will be displayed, including width, height, margins, borders and many other attributes.

The style is specified in CSS, and is applied directly to the HTML img tag.

Here are some examples of possible thumbnail styles, along with a description of what they will do. If you don't know much about CSS, you can learn more here.
  • Every thumbnail will have a width of 100 pixels, but be constrained to being a maximum of 150 pixels in height
    • width:100px;max-height:150px;
  • Every thumbnail will have a width of 120 pixels and have a margin of 3 pixels around the thumbnail, so that it doesn't touch any of the other elements in the threadbit
    • width:120px;margin:3px;
  • Thumbnails aren't allowed to exceed 150 pixels in either dimension, and are also mildly transparent
    • max-width:150px;max-height:150px;opacity:0.8;filter:alpha(opacity=80);
Note: Using CSS positioning attributes (i.e. position, float, clear, etc.) could mess up the threadbit structure, so beware.


FAQs

The version of this mod for vB 3.8 showed thumbnails in the search results. Where did they go?
The search system between vB 3.x and vB4 changed significantly. I didn't have the time to figure out the complexity of it, and was unable to find any examples of other mods that integrated into the search results.

If you know how this is done, feel free to contact me and we can work to get this feature back in!
Does this mod work for RTL Languages, such as Arabic?
There is a separate product XML file available for download that has the appropriate changes to support RTL languages.
When I choose the First Image in Post option, no thumbnails show up in my current threads. Why?
Thumbnails are only updated when a new thread is created or when the first post is edited. Parsing through every forum/thread whenever the options are changed could be disastrous for performance.

Luckily, a user of this mod, megamoose, created a script that you can use to help this out. I want this method to be known, but because I didn't write this, I make no promises that it will work.

Quote:

Originally Posted by megamoose (Post 1911383)
This should enable batch processing. I have tested it.
Change the $STEP_AMOUNT at the top to something lower if you still get errors
Remember this is for vB version 3.8
Always backup your data before running scripts like these

TO THOSE WHO HAVEN'T BEEN FOLLOWING THE CONVERSATION:
This script will go through all your existing posts and give them thumbnails, based on the First IMG in post option.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Translations

Arabic

Versions

v3.1
  • Fix for Required Thumbnails
  • New feature to automatically use ALL Forums
v3.0
  • Support for vB4!
  • Use Phrases
  • Option to make Thumbnails Required
  • Option to select where to show the thumbnail on Forumdisplay
  • Option to specify the CSS Style of thumbnail images
Mod Support

I am fully willing to support this mod and continue to add new feature to it when they are desired enough to make them applicable to the product as a whole. The issue is that I do not have access to a vB4 installation, and therefore cannot develop.

Several people were gracious enough to offer up a test installation for me to use, and that is how this mod exists today. If any new features/fixes are wanted, other people will need to be just as gracious.

Also, since I don't own a vB4 instance, I'm supporting this strictly out of the kindness of my heart. So, if you wish to Support me as a developer, it would be much appreciated.

Enjoy!

Aclikyano 03 Mar 2010 18:37

thanks ill check it out! :)

Aceman 03 Mar 2010 18:41

not first.. but AWESOME!

Xtrigit 03 Mar 2010 19:06

OMG!!!!!!! Thank you so much! This is the ONLY MOD that made me downgrade to 3.8.4. I will test it later this week and see how it goes.

kalisekj 03 Mar 2010 19:43

Awesome A Must Have for me and most of my sites. Thank You! Now To Pray it works.

kalisekj 03 Mar 2010 20:04

OK First Bug as I can see now, I changed to before thread icon and now have 2 pics on the forum display page 1 before thread icon and 1 after thread icon. LOL

VBoptimize Users You Must Disable Cache Styles (Set It To No) then the thumbnails will work as needed. Also You need to Disable vB Optimise: Cache Templates so that you do not get multiple Thumbnails on Forum Thread Display. This is just a small part of vboptimize that is well worth turning off to get thumbnails to work.

Null Parameter 03 Mar 2010 20:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by kalisekj (Post 1996323)
OK First Bug as I can see now, I changed to before thread icon and now have 2 pics on the forum display page 1 before thread icon and 1 after thread icon. LOL

VBoptimize Users You Must Disable Cache Styles (Set It To No) then the thumbnails will work as needed. This is just a small part of vboptimize that is well worth turning off to get thumbnails to work.

LOL, I was just about to post that when you edited it in. vB Optimize goes behind vB's caching and caches the templates on it's own. This leads to cached templates receiving multiple edits when switching between Before/After Thread Icon.

akvaryumforum 03 Mar 2010 20:11

No Thumb selection not work. I just links to /attachment.php?attachmentid=&stc=1&thumb=1 al no thumbs.

Null Parameter 03 Mar 2010 20:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by akvaryumforum (Post 1996332)
No Thumb selection not work. I just links to /attachment.php?attachmentid=&stc=1&thumb=1 al no thumbs.

Ahh, nice catch. I have a separate code path for the attachments part. I'll add that in right away.

Deceptor 03 Mar 2010 20:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by Null Parameter (Post 1996330)
LOL, I was just about to post that when you edited it in. vB Optimize goes behind vB's caching and caches the templates on it's own. This leads to cached templates receiving multiple edits when switching between Before/After Thread Icon.

Anything I can do to resolve that? :)

Null Parameter 03 Mar 2010 20:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Null Parameter (Post 1996336)
Ahh, nice catch. I have a separate code path for the attachments part. I'll add that in right away.

I uploaded a new version with this change. Go try it now, the First Attachment + No Thumbnail Image combo should work now.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deceptor (Post 1996337)
Anything I can do to resolve that? :)

I'm not really sure, because I have no idea how vB Optimize works. :)
I was basing that answer/guess solely on the description of the mod. It really depends upon when and how the template caching is done vs how and when I do the auto-edits.

akvaryumforum 03 Mar 2010 20:29

The problem solved, now it's workin like a charm for me. :)

Null Parameter 03 Mar 2010 20:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by akvaryumforum (Post 1996345)
The problem solved, now it's workin like a charm for me. :)

Good to hear! Let me know if you see anything else.

kalisekj 03 Mar 2010 20:45

deceptor read my thread above It tells what options to turn off in vboptimize to get the thumbnails to show properly.

Deceptor 03 Mar 2010 20:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Null Parameter (Post 1996343)
I uploaded a new version with this change. Go try it now, the First Attachment + No Thumbnail Image combo should work now.


I'm not really sure, because I have no idea how vB Optimize works. :)
I was basing that answer/guess solely on the description of the mod. It really depends upon when and how the template caching is done vs how and when I do the auto-edits.

The cache doesn't intrude really, it basically stops vBulletin from querying templates. The templates are still placed in the array as they normally would.


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:58.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.