vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=266689

Micha66 19 Sep 2011 21:13

hi i need some help
weeks, days and so on are allways on 0
it worked only 1 time in the beginning, than i changed something
i wnt the counter as a widget.

Gemma 19 Sep 2011 22:32

Quote:

i wnt the counter as a widget.
Did you try this - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...1&postcount=19

Micha66 20 Sep 2011 10:01

yes i tried, but no succsess

i left the uploaded files from sidebar_countdown1.0.2.zip on the server. was it right?

i also wrote:

<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript" src="countdown/js/jquery-1.4.1.js"></script>
<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript" src="countdown/js/jquery.lwtCountdown-1.0.js"></script>
<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript" src="countdown/js/misc.js"></script>
<link rel="Stylesheet" type="text/css" href="countdown/style/main.css"></link>

in the footer.


By the way: Your support here is really great. Thanks in advance.

Gemma 20 Sep 2011 11:25

No you don't need to add anything to the footer. When you add the widget/sidebar code make sure you change the targetDate values tot he date you want to countdown to.

BlueCheri 20 Sep 2011 13:25

1 Attachment(s)
Working fine, thanx.

Some setting need to do :(

Image attached, how to fix this?

Want to do countdown for X'mas

Thanx in advance.

Gemma 20 Sep 2011 13:30

Looks like the css file is missing, did you upload the files correctly?

BlueCheri 20 Sep 2011 13:43

Yes

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gemma (Post 2248194)
Looks like the css file is missing, did you upload the files correctly?


Gemma 20 Sep 2011 13:44

Can you send me a link to your site?

wally07 23 Sep 2011 04:23

Hi Gemma,

the countdown works perfect!

Is there any way to make it timezone specific?

Gemma 23 Sep 2011 17:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by wally07 (Post 2249146)
Hi Gemma,

the countdown works perfect!

Is there any way to make it timezone specific?

Sorry, I haven't been able to make it timezone specific but this might be helpful, instead of using the targetDate command use targetOffset. So using the example code below, the countdown would be set to expire for everyone in 5 days, 4 minutes and 15 seconds (from when going live) - not sure if that would be helpful?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you want to use that method of countdown just replace this part of the code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And set the countdown to suit your needs.

Savage Circuits 23 Sep 2011 23:28

Sadly I can't get the widget to even show up in the CMS. I have several custom widgets though most aren't used all the time. When I add this one no frame even shows up. That in itself kind of concerns me. Any ideas why it wouldn't even show up? Running 4.1.5

Savage Circuits 23 Sep 2011 23:36

I found that if I just use the default name for the widget the frame shows up, but not the icon and I see, "{vb:raw widget_title}" above the counters which all read 00. But that proves there's something wrong in the other widget which prevents it from even being used. I have all three .js files the CHMOD of 775 and the css files all where they're supposed to go.

FYI, if you just download the zip in post#19 you do not get all the files needed it seems.

Gemma 23 Sep 2011 23:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by Savage Circuits (Post 2249430)
FYI, if you just download the zip in post#19 you do not get all the files needed it seems.

Yes, I'm aware of that but since this isn't a CMS widget I never added them to the OP zip. I linked to them in case anyone wanted to adapt it to be a CMS widget and because someone a few posts above #19 requested it.

As for your widget not showing up, have you created the vbcms_widget_countdown template? You also need to add the widget to your grid layout and you may need to clear the CMS cache.

Savage Circuits 24 Sep 2011 00:39

Apologies...I did not create the template. I pasted the code into the widget. =( Okay, we'll try again.

Savage Circuits 24 Sep 2011 01:17

Okay, I got it working! Thanks for all your help!


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:55.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.