vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=266689

Gemma 10 Nov 2011 13:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by psychobike (Post 2266254)
Gemma you were correct there were settings for the countdown in my headinclude template. However after entering the new countdown settings I'm only getting all 0's on the countdown. Any idea where I might look for a cure?

Try going to AdminCP > vBa CMPS > Diagnostics and Rebuild the module cache.

Quote:

Btw, what would the chances be of making this a plugin/product so settings can be made in acp?
Not something I'm looking at doing - however anyone else is free to take what I've done and expand on it.

matrixmark 08 Dec 2011 20:26

Thanks for this, is working great

kylek 15 Dec 2011 21:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gemma (Post 2265427)
The CMS and vBA CMPS give me a headache lol, what couldn't you get working Countdown or layout?) and I'll try and reproduce it.



The attached image is from the CMS page (needs a modified grid) not FORUMHOME, you can have it display on the forum index by creating a table and adding the countdown code within it.

On my own site I did it this way. In the FORUMHOME template find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Above that add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I'm not supporting that though so you'd be best to try it out on a test site or using a test style.


Thanks Gemma!!

Been playing around with this and noticed if someone uses 1024 res it screws up the 4 countdowns in a row. And we do still get a lot of members that use 1024 x 768.

How would one break the layout so you would have 2 countdowns and then the next two countdown times below the first two? I have tried breaks, etc but still cant figure it out.

Something like this is what I am trying to achieve:

Countdown timer 1 - Countdown timer 2
Countdown timer 3 - Countdown timer 4

Gemma 15 Dec 2011 21:53

Let me play around for a bit and I'll get back to you :)

kylek 15 Dec 2011 22:20

Thank you again Gemma,

And actually I lied, we have 6 league games that I want to display so would like to have it break after the 3rd one if possible. So it would be 3 timers, then 3 below it (1 below for now). When we set up the last couple of tournament games I will figure out how to insert two more timers.

Gemma 15 Dec 2011 22:40

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

we have 6 league games
Ah ok, you can check out what I've done for 4 and see how it looks - I'll go and duplicate a couple of the countdowns now. I've attached a screen below and it is on the dark theme of my site if you want to check it out live.

Let me know if it looks ok

Edit: I can also omit the number of weeks for you if the countdowns are going to be less than 100 days - but might still need to play with the font sizes

kylek 15 Dec 2011 23:51

That looks great on your new dark theme on your site. We do not need weeks as each game will be weekly but dont worry about it as you are going way out of your way to help us!

Gemma 15 Dec 2011 23:55

Cool :)

This code should help you get started, any problems just shout and I'll look in the morning :)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

All you should need to do is set up the 6 timers, and replace the instances of BLOCK TITLE, LINK TO YOUR IMAGE, IMAGE TITLE, OPTIONAL URL LINK and COUNTDOWN TITLE where applicable or remove them.

kylek 16 Dec 2011 08:24

Looks great but have been playing with a default forumhome template and when I try to add it above or below the whats going on section our left sidebar disappears. It doesn't completely disappear but gets pushed down below the forum section.

Gemma 16 Dec 2011 09:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by kylek (Post 2278254)
Looks great but have been playing with a default forumhome template and when I try to add it above or below the whats going on section our left sidebar disappears. It doesn't completely disappear but gets pushed down below the forum section.

Bugger, I missed a </div> tag to the end of the code; I've updated the code above :)

Gemma 19 Dec 2011 22:57

Updated the demo link in first post.

I've also tested this using the latest jquery and didn't run into any problems running either a single countdown or multiple countdowns.

If you want to run it with the latest jquery replace this part of the template edit:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


LoveStream 20 Dec 2011 05:08

Hello. good idea.

I have a question.
Can I use this for COUNTUP not countdown? Any idea?

Gemma 20 Dec 2011 09:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by LoveStream (Post 2279299)
Hello. good idea.

I have a question.
Can I use this for COUNTUP not countdown? Any idea?

No, sorry.

Poker Face 26 Dec 2011 02:25

Installed 4.1.8 CMS Widget... Thanks!

Quote:

Originally Posted by LoveStream (Post 2279299)
Hello. good idea.

I have a question.
Can I use this for COUNTUP not countdown? Any idea?

I would be very interested in this, as well!

I’d like to run one “up” and one “down” and at the same time, in widgets, on the CMS.

Gemma 30 Dec 2011 19:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by Poker Face (Post 2281012)
Installed 4.1.8 CMS Widget... Thanks!

I would be very interested in this, as well!

I’d like to run one “up” and one “down” and at the same time, in widgets, on the CMS.

What would you run a count up timer for? :erm:


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:26.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.