vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=127868

mute 09 Oct 2006 17:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by orban
I think I'll do it every 3 days but I don't know yet, we're not very busy right now so the delta indices are quite small.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I fail to see why this works and I still think there's missing data in these results....

Updated sphinx.conf

Added "IF(firstpostid=0,99999999,firstpostid) as firstpostid" to fields list and "sql_group3_column = firstpostid"

you only need to rebuilt the thread indices.

http://dragy.de/public/sphinx.conf

Updated includes/sphinx.php

http://dragy.de/public/sphinx.php.txt

Update search_forums template

Readded the show as threads, show as posts options...

Rolled back navbar and FORUMDISPLAY templates....back to "show as thread" "show as posts"....

http://dragy.de/public/sphinx_search...s.template.txt

Updated search.php

Remove


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.




I also added a "$vbulletin->GPC['nocache'] = true;" to the search_process_start hook, I had some queries that stuck and I think that's because vB cached some queries and did some very bad re-sorting on those....try it out.

Can someone summarize what's going on here? I got sorta lost. Are you guys trying to figure out how to do the "view as posts, view as threads" options using sphinx, or making it so those options fall back on the vb search?

orban 09 Oct 2006 17:13

"Are you guys trying to figure out how to do the "view as posts, view as threads" options using sphinx"

Yes and it seems to work, too.

mute 09 Oct 2006 17:15

hm, I suppose I will give it a shot then!

Mine seems to be working as intended! Do you guys think the "$vbulletin->GPC['nocache'] = true;" bit in the search hook is needed? I love how this hack seems to be getting simpler as time goes on :)

TECK 09 Oct 2006 19:47

I just made a script, that will compile easier Sphinx.
It's for people who are not really comfortable with Unix.

1. Open you SSH utility and type vim installscript > Press Enter.

2. Press i (Insert).

3. Paste the following script:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

4. Press ESC.

5. Type :wq (Write Quit) > Press Enter.

6. Type chmod +x installscript > Press Enter.

7. Type ./installscript > Press Enter.

Wait for install completion and read the messages.
Post any wierd errors here. You are done. :)

mute 09 Oct 2006 19:52

I also made a diff against the hacked search.php for vBulletin 3.6.2. To apply, just "patch -p0 < sphinx_search_362.diff" in your src dir.

http://junglist.org/sphinx_search_362.diff

orban 09 Oct 2006 19:56

TECK, does that apply the multiple group patch?

Also gonna try to add basic sorting (date asc, date desc, relevance) later and fix the post title search.

TECK 09 Oct 2006 19:57

Orban and other guys, please feel free to edit the script, in order to include all extra patches needed for vBulletin.
Post here the edits and let us know.

Quote:

Originally Posted by orban
TECK, does that apply the multiple group patch?

Also gonna try to add basic sorting (date asc, date desc, relevance) later and fix the post title search.

Nope, just the basic install, with SQL validation... if for some reason the server does not find it by default. It will remove some wierd messages the Sphinx regular install might spit.
That's the reason I posted the script, so you can edit it and add the patches.
It's pretty stright forward, with the Unix commands, you can add them there, following the same patern.

I did not looked into patches, because I'm not familiar with them yet.
I was hoping you will take care of it and post the edits. :)
Also please explain more in detail what you did, others will understand better.

Be aware of those locations:
DST_DIR=${HOME}/dist
SPH_DIR=${HOME}/sphinx
SRC_DIR=${HOME}/source
SQL_DIR=/usr

Type ${HOME} to see what returns returns to your Unix prompt:
$ ${HOME}
bash: /home/user: is a directory

You still use mysqli for the forums and mysql for the search, right?
I have my forums set on mysqli.

ubuntu-geek 09 Oct 2006 20:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by orban
TECK, does that apply the multiple group patch?

Also gonna try to add basic sorting (date asc, date desc, relevance) later and fix the post title search.

Looking forward to those changes ;P

TECK 10 Oct 2006 03:38

Ya, I will work on it. :0
Pretty new at patching me also...
Question: in your config file, you don't have any table prefixes?
http://dragy.de/public/sphinx.conf

I'm probably missing something. Are you using a recent vB version, where it has table prefixes?
Thanks for clearing this up.

mute 10 Oct 2006 03:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by TECK
Ya, I will work on it. :0
Pretty new at patching me also...
Question: in your config file, you don't have any table prefixes?
http://dragy.de/public/sphinx.conf

I'm probably missing something. Are you using a recent vB version, where it has table prefixes?
Thanks for clearing this up.

Technically he doesn't need dbname.sphinx_counter either, just sphinx_counter would suffice.

TECK 10 Oct 2006 03:57

Editing the sphinx.conf file as we speak.

mtgsalvation is a new database where all sphinx tables were created, I believe?
Let me know why you did not created the sphinx table into the vBulletin database. Thanks.

This part:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Does not have any table prefixes???

mute 10 Oct 2006 04:13

We're not storing the sphinx data IN mysql, so only one table needs to be created, and that is the sphinx_counter table. mtgsalvation is the name of his vbulletin installation.

TECK 10 Oct 2006 05:14

Thanks mute... however, I'm not clear with the query above.
It does not make sense. The sql_query posted in his .conf file will not work, if the database tables have prefixes.
Please explain more in detail why you don't need table prefixes.

Also, from his .conf file:
sql_db = mtgsforums

That's why I'm confused...

orban 10 Oct 2006 10:27

Okay, in my example:

mtgsforums: my vbulletin database
mtgsalvation: the database with the counter table in it

I do NOT have table prefixes. You have to add those.

TECK 10 Oct 2006 12:48

That makes a lot of sense... I was expecting this answer from my previous post above, Orban.
Thanks for the explanation. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2022, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.