vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=151440

AJAX Preview For New/Edit Thread/Reply/PM
by -=Sniper=-
05 Jul 2007 18:14

2 Attachment(s)
------------------------------------
http://www.vBulletinExpert.com
------------------------------------

What does it do?

- Allows you to see the preview without leaving the page! via AJAX!
- See Demo.gif

----------
17/11/2007
----------

1.3
~~~

- The hack no longer uses the vbulletin "Preview Post" button, instead its got its own button at the top, this
gives users the option of doing a ajax quick preview or the default vbulletin preview.
- Added "updating" text while the preview is being processed.

----------
14/10/2007
----------

1.2.1
~~~

- Fixed a few bugs
- No more edits required

----------
06/07/2007
----------

1.2
~~~

- Fixed image issue
- Added AME - Auto Media Embedding preview

----------
05/07/2007
----------

1.1
~~~

- Phrase added
- Cached templates

1.0
~~~

- First Release

NOTE: If you don't Click Install, I will not provide you with any support!

Sofia 05 Jul 2007 18:20

Great work, Sniper :) Thanks a lot ;)

iogames 05 Jul 2007 18:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sofia (Post 1283605)
Great work, Sniper :) Thanks a lot ;)

Wow Sofia! where do you get that avatar? it's a Character? how's she called?

Love Manga/Anime

Sofia 05 Jul 2007 18:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by iogames (Post 1283620)
Wow Sofia! where do you get that avatar? it's a Character? how's she called?

Love Manga/Anime

It's "Kamafun" = Kamasutra and Fun. this picture is a mobile phone logo : http://sonnerie.aol.fr/logokamafun.aspx :)

semka 05 Jul 2007 19:21

Woooow!!!! Its very nice, thanks!

Distance 05 Jul 2007 19:29

Looks nice, good work :)

EnIgMa1234 05 Jul 2007 19:41

great hack great job

Stoebi 05 Jul 2007 20:09

Hi,

really a great hack. Thank you :)

The hook newreply_form_complete exists twice.

My wish is to see the signature in AJAX preview, if present like the original preview.
It is possible to see the table first, if user hit the preview button?
Found a hardcoded phrase in template newpreviewajax


Regards, Stoebi

alessai 05 Jul 2007 20:10

COOOOL << love AJAX installed

-=Sniper=- 05 Jul 2007 20:23

strange, I'll remove it and add a phrase, I'll have a quick look at signature Ajax preview, no promise though :)

edit: removed duplicate hook use, will update phrase later

Magnumutz 05 Jul 2007 20:30

I like it... this has to reduce server load.
*Magnum clicks install*

Kaleem 05 Jul 2007 20:31

Great one nice :)

Njm 05 Jul 2007 20:35

wow nice work man

Quantnet 05 Jul 2007 20:52

there is uncached templates when for newreply

newpreviewajax
newpost_disablesmilies_ajax

-=Sniper=- 05 Jul 2007 20:53

thanks totally forgot about them! will cache them now!

-=Sniper=- 05 Jul 2007 21:06

please update to 1.1 as it reduces two queries :) since I forgot to cache the templates.

Quantnet 05 Jul 2007 21:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by -=Sniper=- (Post 1283738)
thanks totally forgot about them! will cache them now!

Got the new file. Updated and it knocked off 2 queries :D
Thanks

ragtek 05 Jul 2007 21:16

very fine idee

Allan 05 Jul 2007 21:24

Thank you for this hack, it's very nice :)

Xil Ze 05 Jul 2007 21:26

superb

beduino 05 Jul 2007 21:28

tks sniper!
a very interesting hack :D
all the best
beduino

mhackl 05 Jul 2007 21:36

This is one made my day. Sweet Hack!

Renada 05 Jul 2007 22:49

Thank you Sniper :)

Hornstar 06 Jul 2007 00:06

Very sexy ^^ nice work.

Slave 06 Jul 2007 00:38

Wonderful hack .. works with 3.6.0 .. installed :)

Tulsa 06 Jul 2007 00:42

Very nice mod. Thanks.

testebr 06 Jul 2007 01:34

ALERT: this mod is incompatible with a lot other mods like "Anymedia".

Nice idea, but I cant use it. I need preview my videos.

-=Sniper=- 06 Jul 2007 03:28

ALERT : I'd be happy to integrate with AME - Auto Media Embedding if people request it (nicely). (Only with AME since it offers excellent expandability)

Also read first post regarding support!

4x4 Mecca 06 Jul 2007 03:43

I'm nicely requesting it! :D Pretty please

PoetJA-1975 06 Jul 2007 06:24

Very nice - Thanx for the sharing!

Jacquii.

Coders Shack 06 Jul 2007 07:39

very nice :D

Xplorer4x4 06 Jul 2007 07:53

It would be great if the preview box only showed up when there was text to preview. :)

D.Ilyin 06 Jul 2007 08:29

thanks for share! :) Nominate MOTM!

projectego 06 Jul 2007 09:09

/me clicks install! :D

Smoothie 06 Jul 2007 15:48

One small suggestion. Lets see how to put this. The images (collapse_tcat.gif and collapse_tcat_collapsed.gif), shouldn't they follow the skin image folder? Hope I phrased that correctly.

Snake 06 Jul 2007 19:36

Thanks for the release! I've been waiting for something like this but any idea why the hack's still in beta stages? :\

-=Sniper=- 06 Jul 2007 22:49

no one has reported major issues so I'll move it out of beta, I just want a game of Pro Evo 6 first :) before any updates :)

-=Sniper=- 07 Jul 2007 00:01

1.2
~~~

- Fixed image issue
- Added AME - Auto Media Embedding preview

sola 07 Jul 2007 00:41

Looka good. Will install. Thanks.

Smoothie 07 Jul 2007 03:49

what's the upgrade procedure? re-up the product??

-=Sniper=- 07 Jul 2007 09:10

ah yes, thats all just "import product again". I'll update readme file later on.

TheMilkCarton 07 Jul 2007 11:30

Not sure if you were looking to expand this product any, but I thought I might as well throw some suggestions out there :)

1) Integrating this hack with editpost
2) Integrating this hack with PMs

I find myself using "Preview Post" a lot more often in Edit Post and Send PM than New Post/Thread. Just my 2 cents.

Anyway, great hack!

Smoothie 07 Jul 2007 15:23

upgraded, works great.

-=Sniper=- 07 Jul 2007 21:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheMilkCarton (Post 1285061)
Not sure if you were looking to expand this product any, but I thought I might as well throw some suggestions out there :)

1) Integrating this hack with editpost
2) Integrating this hack with PMs

I find myself using "Preview Post" a lot more often in Edit Post and Send PM than New Post/Thread. Just my 2 cents.

Anyway, great hack!

good idea, i'll update it monday :)

Mecho 07 Jul 2007 22:01

looks great ... i think it also helps for server loading too . isnt it ?

RedTyger 07 Jul 2007 22:33

Looks like a terrific job, good stuff. I'll be installing this once it's added to the other areas. :)

TheMilkCarton 08 Jul 2007 05:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by -=Sniper=- (Post 1285288)
good idea, i'll update it monday :)

Thanks! :) I actually already added it to pm and editpost. I'm working on adding it to the PM preview in userinfraction and possibly the signature preview in modifysignature (just for fun). Modifysignature seems tricky though, not sure if I'm smart enough to get it working. :) What I'm not sure about is whether it'll follow signature permissions in the preview without me changing a lot of the plugin code.

-=Sniper=- 08 Jul 2007 22:52

Modifysignature will require quite a bit of code because of all the checks that need to be made.

Mecho 09 Jul 2007 12:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mecho (Post 1285316)
looks great ... i think it also helps for server loading too . isnt it ?

anyone plz ??

-=Sniper=- 09 Jul 2007 20:24

I don't know about server load but considering that users will not reloading the whole page again and again it should help.

Triky 10 Jul 2007 11:33

Yes, really great work!

minimalize 18 Jul 2007 04:16

is there an info how to do the template changes manually? I think they didnt work at my vb!

-=Sniper=- 18 Jul 2007 17:13

check the readme file in the zip file!

ammoskumar 19 Jul 2007 03:41

Fantastc:D:D:D Thanx Bro

Digbijoy 19 Jul 2007 16:47

thanx dude !!!!

will surely install it.
i love AJAX.

Invalid ID 19 Jul 2007 17:56

Great job

exes_slayer 07 Aug 2007 09:51

AJAX FTW!
/me clicks installed

M-Tuning 07 Aug 2007 10:02

Nice hack!

kfiasche81 07 Aug 2007 13:48

there is a bug , the preview box, hide the "error messages box"

TheBlackPoet 07 Aug 2007 13:55

very sweet!!! i thought it was going to type as i typed.. but it didnt ... still this does the job!!! installed and voted!!!!!

-=Sniper=- 07 Aug 2007 13:57

kfiasche81; please provide more details, thanks

TheBlackPoet; yeh I was hoping to do that, but I think the editor is already using the events needed to achieve it.

RvG2 08 Aug 2007 04:20

it works great! 3.6.7 pl1 :) with custom template also.

kfiasche81 08 Aug 2007 09:15

This img when the AJAX Preview For New Thread / Reply is DISABLE and i try "Submit New Thread"

http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/5...magine1bi6.jpg

This img when the AJAX Preview For New Thread / Reply is DISABLE and i try "Preview Post"

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/2...magine4co0.jpg

This img when the AJAX Preview For New Thread / Reply is ENABLE and i try "Submit New Thread"

http://img367.imageshack.us/img367/4...magine2hu7.jpg

This img when the AJAX Preview For New Thread / Reply is ENABLE and i try "Preview Post"

http://img367.imageshack.us/img367/116/immagine3js7.jpg


As you can see your product override the error message box and bypass it when i click Preview post...
Wait for the fix.. bye

Brew 09 Aug 2007 06:54

Works great on my 3.6.8 setup.

But I had to do the template edits first, then import the product. After that it is working great.

Good job!

-=Sniper=- 13 Aug 2007 16:12

kfiasche81; thanks I will look to fix that and try to get rid of edits if possible.

cynthetiq 15 Aug 2007 03:28

is the AME preview supposed to also embed the item such as youtube video?

because it doesn't in my mod.... is there a switch i need to turn on?

rainyleaves 16 Aug 2007 17:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by kfiasche81 (Post 1311835)
there is a bug , the preview box, hide the "error messages box"

I got same problem.
And I got sintax error with this mod.
VB3.6.8

I think you lose 'error message' code.
And it's caused by Sintax error.

Please fix the problem... :)

exes_slayer 25 Aug 2007 12:05

marked as uninstalled!
its a great hack BUT your users who use firefox may loose the possibility to create threads, when they click post new thread the page refreshes and nothing happens, quite many users who use ff on my forum told me that they can't post new threads because after they click post new thread page refreshes and nothing happens, after i disabled the hack everything got back to normal at every user who reported the problem

aceofspades 25 Aug 2007 17:46

Deos this work with quick reply?

cynthetiq 25 Aug 2007 19:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by cynthetiq (Post 1317766)
is the AME preview supposed to also embed the item such as youtube video?

because it doesn't in my mod.... is there a switch i need to turn on?

Wild, it didn't work the first day when I tested it, but it works beautifully now.

Thank you again!

cynthetiq 25 Aug 2007 19:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by aceofspades (Post 1325464)
Deos this work with quick reply?

yes it does

Reply posts never update
by uB|Delta One
28 Aug 2007 05:45

Hello,

I've recently installed this hack on my forums and it works perfectly. The only problem now, is I've noticed that when people reply to posts, it hangs on a while page and says "page loading" and it never does. If you simply refresh the page after submitting a reply, the post shows up as if nothing happened. If users post a new thread, this does not happen.

What have I done wrong? And, how can I fix it to utilize this hack and get the normal reply posting back to functionality?

Thanks,
Patrick

Chadi 29 Aug 2007 04:17

1 Attachment(s)
This is not working for me at all odd enough

vnairp11 30 Aug 2007 14:24

Please e nable embeded video code support such as from yahoo myspace etc.

PlymWS 30 Aug 2007 16:32

Great work. I would install this but I need my previews to also include any attachments in the preview as well.

Ba$im 05 Sep 2007 11:04

Great work, Sniper

YsTyle 10 Sep 2007 19:09

great and useful mod! Thank you very much!

(installed)

WarLion 10 Sep 2007 20:13

wow soooo f. cool thanks for this , i love it installled

FleXy 16 Sep 2007 13:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by exes_slayer (Post 1325336)
marked as uninstalled!
its a great hack BUT your users who use firefox may loose the possibility to create threads, when they click post new thread the page refreshes and nothing happens, quite many users who use ff on my forum told me that they can't post new threads because after they click post new thread page refreshes and nothing happens, after i disabled the hack everything got back to normal at every user who reported the problem


the same !

click uninstall, but mod is really great if it will be morking for all.

cynthetiq 16 Sep 2007 16:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by exes_slayer (Post 1325336)
marked as uninstalled!
its a great hack BUT your users who use firefox may loose the possibility to create threads, when they click post new thread the page refreshes and nothing happens, quite many users who use ff on my forum told me that they can't post new threads because after they click post new thread page refreshes and nothing happens, after i disabled the hack everything got back to normal at every user who reported the problem

Quote:

Originally Posted by FleXy (Post 1340088)
the same !

click uninstall, but mod is really great if it will be morking for all.

I just tested this on my system, as I'm double checking my funtions for launching soon.

I've tested in in FF and Opera and have no functionality problems with this mod.

vnairp11 19 Sep 2007 16:22

it doesn't preview regular youtube embedded codes..

Fifthe1ement 24 Sep 2007 07:20

It doesn't work for me as I uploaded the product file and installed and then changed my template as instructed in the install txt. But when I create a new thread and click the preview button my browser doesn't move although it says above press preview to refresh or something like that. What is wrong?

Thanks,

FifthE1ement

thaki 03 Oct 2007 06:17

Quote:

It doesn't work for me as I uploaded the product file and installed and then changed my template as instructed in the install txt. But when I create a new thread and click the preview button my browser doesn't move although it says above press preview to refresh or something like that. What is wrong?
same problem!!

-=Sniper=- 04 Oct 2007 23:38

i'll update on weekend, which should means less edits I hope and look at reported bugs!

m002.p 05 Oct 2007 00:41

Great work, a nice but simple add-on ;)

Fifthe1ement 14 Oct 2007 06:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by -=Sniper=- (Post 1353109)
i'll update on weekend, which should means less edits I hope and look at reported bugs!

Any news as this was quite some time ago?

Thanks,

Fifth

-=Sniper=- 14 Oct 2007 19:59

I've updated it and fixed a few bugs (e.g. when javascript is disabled it will no longer show the preview box), upgrade requires you undo previous changes to templates. Please report back with any problems.

AzaDiyaR 14 Oct 2007 21:53

thanks this working very good :D

Smoothie 16 Oct 2007 02:27

Isn't working for me. The page just refreshes. 1.2 worked fine, but 1.2.1 does not.

-=Sniper=- 16 Oct 2007 21:31

Smoothie; try clearing browser cache.

lordtopcat 20 Oct 2007 00:04

Hi,

I have installed as directed in the Readme.txt file provided with the modification.

It says there are no template edits, however the modification does not work for me.

When I go to new thread and hit Preview, it refreshes and displays the preview as usual. However I do see the "Click Preview Post to update!" box created by the modification.

As directed above I have cleared my cache, but this problem still arises.

I am using vBulletin 3.6.8 P1, and using Firefox 2.

Thanks,
LTC

DragonMasterNYC 20 Oct 2007 01:38

Nice can you say installed

lordtopcat 20 Oct 2007 02:20

I have said installed

Illustrious 20 Oct 2007 22:12

1.2.1 doesn't work. I'm also running vBSEO and a custom style, if that makes any difference.

I have not tested 1.2.

Smoothie 23 Oct 2007 01:58

still not working, page just refreshes with preview, same as it is in the default vB.

andryus 01 Nov 2007 01:39

this don't work in opera =S

soulface 01 Nov 2007 07:46

same here.. its not working..

RaheYa 01 Nov 2007 08:08

Same problem, it's not work. vBulletin 3.6.8 PL1; AJAX Preview For New Thread / Reply v1.2.1

* Mark as Uninstalled :(

neopet001 01 Nov 2007 12:53

Still not working, waiting for a good one as your illustration
Marked as installed

Strik3 02 Nov 2007 01:35

vBulletin 3.6.8 Patch Level 1 with vB Style and it wo'nt work.. :/


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:28.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.