vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=276953

Friendlier URLs by BOP5
by BirdOPrey5
14 Jan 2012 13:54

4 Attachment(s)
Current Version: 0.9 Beta

The purpose of this mod is to make "friendly" URLs in VB4 even better.

DO NOT USE IF YOU HAVE VBSEO - It should already do this.

Demo: Test Thread on Qapla.com

For SEO purposes it is often best that only standard English characters and numbers are in URLs.

If you have a forum where non-English languages are used and you have letters with accents or other symbols in them they would become part of the links to your threads and your site would be indexed like that. However when a user searches for something like "Jagermeister" they will usually type "Jagermeister" into the search and not the technically correct "Jgermeister."

Previously in VB4 there was no way to convert to a automatically, or even to strip them from the URL altogether.

This mod adds those options. It has a built in translation table for the most commonly used accented characters. It also allows you to specify custom translations if there are additional letters you want to translate to their English/Latin equivalents.

It also includes a final option to simply strip (remove) any special characters it can't translate.

I am marking this Beta as I have tested it and run in on my own forum, www.qapla.com, but I have not tested it extensively.

You must have VB 4.1.10 or above for this to work, it will not work on older versions.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this. :)
Donations always appreciated. :up:
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it! ;)

lodos0677 14 Jan 2012 18:38

beautiful work. congratulations..

fiatforever 14 Jan 2012 19:23

Looks great, thank you :)

OldSchoolDSL 14 Jan 2012 20:19

tagged

I wonder how this will work on nginx

SuperTaz 14 Jan 2012 20:30

Will this affect URL's for sites with vBSEO?

Morpheus NS 14 Jan 2012 20:50

Installed in test forum, it works like a charm! I was waiting for something like this since I started using vBulletin, nominated for MOTM.

Dr.osamA 14 Jan 2012 22:36

installed under test

thank you sir

thecore762 14 Jan 2012 22:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by SuperTaz (Post 2287839)
Will this affect URL's for sites with vBSEO?

You don't want to use this if you are already using vBSEO.

BirdOPrey5 14 Jan 2012 23:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by SuperTaz (Post 2287839)
Will this affect URL's for sites with vBSEO?

Quote:

Originally Posted by thecore762 (Post 2287898)
You don't want to use this if you are already using vBSEO.

What he said. If you are using VBSEO don't use this mod- I think VBSEO already does this for you...

I should probably add that message in the top post.

Thank you all... If we go a couple weeks without major bugs I'll take it out of Beta- just didn't have time to do extensive testing, wasn't expecting 4.1.10 to be released so soon. :D

Juggernaut 16 Jan 2012 01:12

Exellent product, nominated as well. :D

sadiq6210 16 Jan 2012 04:44

Finally
Thanks .. this is great

I was using basic links and I converted the links to advance after I installed this great mod but there is two issue:

1- When I copy and past the link in any post, I is appearing again like this
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attac...7&d=1326552849

but there is no issue when I click on the link where I got the correct link.


2- If I enter any thread from the old basic link such as:
http://www.domain.com/forum/showthread.php?t=276953

The link is automatically converting to the advance link, but like this only:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attac...7&d=1326552849

BirdOPrey5 16 Jan 2012 12:05

How are you copying and pasting the link in #1- what is your copy source? The browser address bar? Can you paste a link here using the [code] bb code?

3) When you say auto convert do you mean it changes in your address bar from the old basic to the new advanced before the page even loads?

Morpheus NS 16 Jan 2012 12:38

Working great in live forum, I can finally sit down and relax, my links are fine without using an expensive solution like vBSEO... Is there any way to do the same thing in cms articles meta description?

sadiq6210 17 Jan 2012 05:22

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2288513)
How are you copying and pasting the link in #1- what is your copy source? The browser address bar? Can you paste a link here using the [code] bb code?

Also, when I copy the link and paste it here I face the same bug, like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

While when I copy it from the address bar it was as shown in the screen shot:
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2012/01/38.jpg


Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2288513)
3) When you say auto convert do you mean it changes in your address bar from the old basic to the new advanced before the page even loads?

Yes, you can try to enter this link:
www.qapla.com/mods/showthread.php?t=139

You will notice that the link will change in your address bar to:
http://www.qapla.com/mods/showthread...-de-los-perros

In your forum it is perfect .. but in my forum (Arabic lang.) when I enter any thread using the old basic link, then It changes to the new advance link but only like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

It should be:
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2012/01/38.jpg

BirdOPrey5 17 Jan 2012 12:28

Ah, In your Friendly URL settings (the built in ones) look at the Enforce Canonical URL options...

Turn it off (No) for registered users and Off for guests... The defaults are Yes and Standard.

The Rocketeer 25 Apr 2012 02:24

This looks to be one great ad on BOP. Congrats. Voted and Nominated :) I currently have vBSEO Installed on both of the boards I own however if I ever stop using vBSEO I would definitely use this.

1 Question though, for those who are on a shared hosting plan, does this mod increase CPU load and take up a good amount of grunt like it vBSEO?

BirdOPrey5 26 Apr 2012 12:06

No this is a very lightweight mod... I use it and I'm on shared hosting with no ill effects. It's really just a few lines of php code.

Nirjonadda 26 Apr 2012 16:26

Its not working on my site in 4.1.10

BirdOPrey5 26 Apr 2012 16:37

What is happening?

Can I get a link to your site?

hostcini 16 Jun 2012 18:16

Amazing. There is no problem with Turkish chars. It's working at windows servers too (tested).

JAFRI 13 Jul 2012 16:08

this work on 4.2 ???

BirdOPrey5 13 Jul 2012 16:20

yes

sbs68 20 Aug 2012 22:03

Thanks, I have installed it on 4.1.12 an worx.
GREAT for HUNGARIAN friendly URLs!

Mark_Zuckerberg 30 Sep 2012 19:47

Isnt this thing is by default in vb 4.2?

Mark_Zuckerberg 30 Sep 2012 20:01

The purpose of your mod is to re write the links in friendly url but i found a default option in vb 4.2 name friendly urls and in that if we select Advanced Friendly URLs it does the same what your mod do so i am confused should i have to install this mod on vb 4.2 or not?

BirdOPrey5 01 Oct 2012 01:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark_Zuckerberg (Post 2369820)
The purpose of your mod is to re write the links in friendly url but i found a default option in vb 4.2 name friendly urls and in that if we select Advanced Friendly URLs it does the same what your mod do so i am confused should i have to install this mod on vb 4.2 or not?

This mod doesn't make "friendly" URLs... it makes friendly URLs better.

It removes many special characters and non-latin characters from URLs- some people believe doing this is better for SEO... I personally do not know if it is better or not but someone asked for something like this so I made it.

I have no real argument for or against using this one.

Like it says in the description it's for things like this:

Quote:

Previously in VB4 there was no way to convert to a automatically, or even to strip them from the URL altogether.

Mark_Zuckerberg 01 Oct 2012 10:24

thanks for the replied got your point and un installed it also :)

BirdOPrey5 01 Oct 2012 11:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark_Zuckerberg (Post 2369944)
thanks for the replied got your point and un installed it also :)

Thank you- Please use the "Mark as Installed" link in the top post.

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2013/09/18.jpg

Mark_Zuckerberg 01 Oct 2012 15:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2369956)
Thank you- Please use the "Mark as Installed" link in the top post.

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2013/09/18.jpg

:p i have already done this bro i know this and again click un installed but tagged it for future if i needed :)

pokusek 02 Feb 2013 18:14

Awesome mod! I just have one problem - when a sitemap for blogs is being generated, UTF-8 characters are turned into weird mess. Everything else is fine. Could you please tell me how to fix it? Thanks for your time.

Rodrigo. 07 Feb 2013 12:33

yes for me work in vb 4.2 pch level 3

BirdOPrey5 08 Feb 2013 23:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by pokusek (Post 2401385)
Awesome mod! I just have one problem - when a sitemap for blogs is being generated, UTF-8 characters are turned into weird mess. Everything else is fine. Could you please tell me how to fix it? Thanks for your time.

Never heard of this issue... Are you sure if the mod is disabled the sitemap URLs are correct?

if so can you please paste in an example blog title causing the issue.

pokusek 03 Mar 2013 21:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2402989)
if so can you please paste in an example blog title causing the issue.

I sent a PM with more details, thanks for your time.

yeppuda 10 Apr 2013 15:37

vb3 please?
it is super hacks.

BirdOPrey5 13 Apr 2013 18:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by yeppuda (Post 2415530)
vb3 please?
it is super hacks.

Sorry but VB3 doesn't have "friendly URLs" so this isn't an option.

mikesafl 15 Apr 2013 18:16

Can i make it strip periods and add spaces? That is what im having trouble trying to do

BirdOPrey5 12 May 2013 10:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikesafl (Post 2416535)
Can i make it strip periods and add spaces? That is what im having trouble trying to do

No, not designed to strip periods or add spaces to URLs.

fai99al99 06 Sep 2013 12:36

very nice and helpful .. great mod
thanks

working fine 4.2.1

fai99al99 06 Sep 2013 12:56

can i use it to translate words ?

like : "العربية"
translate to "Arabic"

BirdOPrey5 06 Sep 2013 13:11

No, it won't translate words just individual characters.

fai99al99 06 Sep 2013 13:23

i have add this to the $bop_reps = array


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and it did translate the words fine
is this will cause any problems ?

BirdOPrey5 06 Sep 2013 15:03

That is fine I misunderstood.

I thought you meant will it translate like Google Translate.

What you did is technically a replacement, not a translation, you can do replacements you just have to do each one manually.

fai99al99 06 Sep 2013 16:13

there's a little problem

it doesn't
Quote:

strip (remove) any special characters it can't translate.
in RSS
-----------------------------
no,its working fine
my mistake

Bubble #5 07 Sep 2013 18:05

4.2.1

Seems to work well on our forum. Great job BOP :up:

thetechgenius 03 Sep 2014 22:07

I'm using DBSEO by DBTECH, do I need this mod? Will it even work with DBSEO, or will it break my Forum URL's?

BirdOPrey5 04 Sep 2014 17:05

I'm afraid I've never tested it with DBSEO but I would strongly imagine you do not need it- I doubt it would work.

Darkman7030 05 Jan 2016 15:45

have a problem


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=236960

also use the think the error comes from what kan do now?

BirdOPrey5 06 Jan 2016 11:04

If you disable the subforum manager does the problem go away? If so I would say they are incompatible.

Darkman7030 10 Jan 2016 13:02

Is there no way to fix that?

BirdOPrey5 10 Jan 2016 13:26

Probably, but sorry, I'm not working on this mod anymore. I have set it to be re-usable code in case someone else wants to work on it, they are welcome.

Torbe 13 Feb 2016 11:47

Works on 4.2.3, thanks :D


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:42.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.