vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=101326

Marco van Herwaarden 24 Nov 2005 04:36

Hmmm that looks like a design error. To allow higher values, change the 'mh_unm_changelimit' column of the usergroup table in your database from TINYINT to SMALLINT. Will update this in the next release.

Guest190829 24 Nov 2005 04:38

This may be useful for my forum..hm...I will test it out none-the-less. :)

WNxWakko 24 Nov 2005 05:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarcoH64
Hmmm that looks like a design error. To allow higher values, change the 'mh_unm_changelimit' column of the usergroup table in your database from TINYINT to SMALLINT. Will update this in the next release.


I have no clue how to do that. Is there a query I can just run from the Admincp?

Oblivion Knight 24 Nov 2005 06:29


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Yes, mh_unm_changelimit should be there twice.. :)

Marco van Herwaarden 24 Nov 2005 07:32

You can run the following 2 queries:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you are using a table prefix, then add it in front of the tablename (ie. prefix_usergroup).

If you run the queries from the AdminCP, you must run 1 line at a time. If you are using something like phpMyAdmin, you can just copy&paste both lines in 1 go.

Marco van Herwaarden 24 Nov 2005 07:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oblivion Knight
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Yes, mh_unm_changelimit should be there twice.. :)

If you use SMALLINT(3), it will not increase the column size. ;)
SMALLINT defaults to 5 positions.

PS I never understand why people keep quoting numeric default values.

dieselpowered 24 Nov 2005 15:37

So if someone changes their member name, does it change the member name all all previous posts? Plus I can only assume that the old username will be in quoted posts...correct?

Marco van Herwaarden 24 Nov 2005 16:44

It will be changed everywhere, except quoted posts.
It uses the standard routines in vB to change the name, the same that is used when changing from AdminCP. Everything that would be changed when doing it from the AdminCP, is also changed with this hack.

It merely builds on top of the standard functions by giving Users and moderators also a place to change the name, and to add logging/reporting to it.

Snake 24 Nov 2005 18:02

Nice update there...

nexialys 25 Nov 2005 13:35

feature request:

having this History of Usernames to be searchable as "registered users" so if someone wants to register with a username that is in this list, he will not be able to, and will be required to contact the admin if this is an error...

the situation come often when someone register, and not remember his password or complete username, and instead of asking for a new access he register twice... that came at least 3 times here this year only... ;)

something like "this username was once used by a user on this site. if you really need this username, please contact the admins. "... and this can be joined with the Ajax Alert...

Marco van Herwaarden 25 Nov 2005 14:14

Well that would be something completly different......and for 3 times a year?

But i have been thinking about not allowing a change if a name have been used before.

For example a popular guy on the board, decide to change his name, and a newbee immediate change his name the the popular guys old name.

A lot of people would get confused. Or maybe just no reuse of names for 3 month.

nexialys 25 Nov 2005 14:48

that's the same situation i guess, just not the same start.. lol

;)

zappsan 25 Nov 2005 20:18

Just installed this on my testboard and I really like it.
Thanks

Just one question:
Quote:

Sorry, the username entered contains one or more semi-colon characters ( ; ).

Please go back and remove any semi-colons
What's wrong with semi-colons?

Marco van Herwaarden 25 Nov 2005 20:48

They are not allowed i guess. But that has nothing to do with my hack, it is vB itself blocking it.

zappsan 25 Nov 2005 22:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarcoH64
They are not allowed i guess. But that has nothing to do with my hack, it is vB itself blocking it.

Oh, ok, thanks for clearing me up.

I've got another problem:
When I allow a usergroup to change names, they can't login into the ModCP anymore.
They click on the "Change name" link, enter username and password in the login window, but instead of logging them in, the login window is displayed again.

Am I doing anything wrong?

edit: I just noticed that the user needs to mod at least one forum to make it work.
Is there a way to change this?


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:22.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.