vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=127868

amcd 02 Nov 2006 21:34

can we go one step deeper on this delta thingy?

main index - rebuilt once every day or maybe twice a week
delta 1 - rebuilt once every hour or maybe 4 times a day
delta 2 - rebuilt every 5 minutes

is it possible? will having the index in 3 parts affect performance?

mute 02 Nov 2006 22:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by amcd
can we go one step deeper on this delta thingy?

main index - rebuilt once every day or maybe twice a week
delta 1 - rebuilt once every hour or maybe 4 times a day
delta 2 - rebuilt every 5 minutes

is it possible? will having the index in 3 parts affect performance?

There really isn't a point in doing so. I run my delta updates every 5 minutes, and it takes ~1 second, and I get about 450 new posts per minute..

amcd 03 Nov 2006 06:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by mute
There really isn't a point in doing so. I run my delta updates every 5 minutes, and it takes ~1 second, and I get about 450 new posts per minute..

oh. then i suppose the current 2 level system is fine.

how often do you rebuild the main index? i have set it up for once a day.

ALanJay 03 Nov 2006 07:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by amcd
how often do you rebuild the main index? i have set it up for once a day.

I rebuild my once a day at the slowest part of the night. Which seems to be fine. The delta is run every 5 minutes and takes a few seconds to create. We have between 10-40,000 new posts a day.

mute 03 Nov 2006 15:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by amcd
oh. then i suppose the current 2 level system is fine.

how often do you rebuild the main index? i have set it up for once a day.

I personally have no plans on rebuilding my main index on a regular basis. Given the nature of the way this delta update stuff works, there is really no penalty to letting your delta updates grow in size, so I don't plan on rebuilding my index until sometime in the future that we have a maintenance window or something like that.

mute 05 Nov 2006 17:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by mute
Our search is working flawlessly, and seeing ~4000 searches per day, which isn't too shabby at all.

Question for you guys, as I can't seem to find much in the way of documentation regarding the searches.

Does sphinx support "OR"? If you were to search for "test one two", it searches for all three with an implicit "AND". If you search for "blah not bleh", it will search for "blah -bleh". If you search for "test or task or mask", it will search for that literally (and likely ignore "or" as one of my stopwords)

Anyone? A couple of my more picky users are complaining, and I don't really have an answer for them, as I typically just do keyword searches.

So.. anyone smarter than I am have an answer to this? :)

orban 05 Nov 2006 17:33

Ask in the sphinx forum maybe....:O

mute 05 Nov 2006 17:37

I think that | is OR and & is AND, but I haven't tested it just yet. I hope they make it a tad more user friendly in the 0.9.7 release, my users aren't all that tech savy :)

ALanJay 05 Nov 2006 18:01

As Oban says there has been discussion on these kind of things on the sphinx forum http://www.sphinxsearch.com/forum/

mute 06 Nov 2006 04:28

Right, that's where I found it. I'll probably end up doing search and replace additions to my search page to replace natural language operators with their character representation.

ALanJay 06 Nov 2006 06:56

A quick question has anyone sucessfully configured there search to work with 2 letter words?

I have set my system for max length of 2 but I still only seem to be able to find 3 letter words.

amcd 06 Nov 2006 07:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by ALanJay
A quick question has anyone sucessfully configured there search to work with 2 letter words?

I have set my system for max length of 2 but I still only seem to be able to find 3 letter words.

first tell me how to configure that then i will tell u my results :)

mute 06 Nov 2006 15:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by amcd
first tell me how to configure that then i will tell u my results :)

min_word_len = 2

Rebuild your indexes :)

ALanJay 06 Nov 2006 15:52

I discovered that when you change the word lenght (or the stop bits file) you have to fully stop "searchd" and restart it for the changes to be taken into account.

Once searchd was restarted it behaved as expected.

Another query / thought. I have been so impressed by Sphinx that over the last couple of days we have impelemented a search of our non forum content using it. It works well. But I then thought it might be nice to create a simple search for the forums.

If anyone is interested I have some very basic code to do this - started with the code from test.php and once a valid result is found it does a search in the forum trhead database for the thread $docinfo[group2]

$article_query = "SELECT title, threadid FROM ???_forum.thread WHERE threadid='$docinfo[group2]'";

From there you can select the article trhead and create a simple output page.

If anyone in interest in more details shout and I might clean up the code so it can be looked at by all you pros :)

DaiTengu 08 Nov 2006 18:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by orban
It's weird though it doesn't even get set...should at least be an empty array. And why is it even a seperate global and not $vbulletin->coventry?

Just remove the line if you aren't using coventry then.

Such a mess ;)

I'm also having this problem, and the forum I'm using it on _is_ using Coventry. The results are returned & everything, but I'm assuming they'll search posts & return results of posts of users that are in Coventry if I turn this off.

Other than that, I'm completely amazed at how fast search is running :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:18.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2022, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.