Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBAdvanced Cleaner Site Navigation Module - CSS Driven Rollovers Details »
vBAdvanced Cleaner Site Navigation Module - CSS Driven Rollovers
Mod Version: 1.00, by Chris-777 (Member) Chris-777 is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.5 Rating: (5 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 64
Released: 10 Mar 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 519
Not Supported Template Edits  

vBAdvanced Cleaner Site Navigation Module - CSS Driven Rollovers

What's new: Releasing the 3.5 version of this for 3.6.x.

What it does: Replace your default vBAdvanced navigation pane with a cross-browser, CSS driven rollover menu.

Time to install: 10 Minutes
Tested: IE, Firefox, Maxthon, Opera
Difficulty: Easy
Templates: 2
CSS Edit: 1
Demo: http://www.sevenstring.org

I wasn't happy with the stock look of the vBAdvanced portal navigation. It's very plain, and I personally like rollovers (if done properly) for adding a little bit of organic movement to static pages.

Here's the default CMPS on the left, and my module on the right. The screenshots don't really do it justice, for the full effect check out my website linked above. I am using it both for navigation and for the "Artist Reviews & Interviews" portal templates.

Default: This Mod:


Step 1: Create the New Module

AdminCP -> vBA CMPS -> Add Module -> Template

Module Title: Site Navigation
Column: Left Column
Display Order: 1
Active: Yes
Update All Pages: Yes
Template to Include: (adv_portal)clean_nav
Style: (Your style)

Template content is as follows:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This is the WHOLE template. For each link you want to add, you will need to add the following line BEFORE the closing </table></td>, and edit it to the URL and description of the option that you are linking:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Use Module Shell Template: Yes
Usergroups: All set to yes


Other template edits:

In my example, #444444 is my ON color, and "#555555" is my OFF color. Change these to whatever you like. I also have a fixed table width in the initial table call, here:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Edit that accordingly to match your layout.

Step two: CSS Definitions

ACP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> (Your Style) -> Main CSS

Scroll down to Additional CSS Definitions

At the bottom, Add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This is for the same font and color in my demo. Change the #FFCC00 to your desired color, and edit your font CSS as desired.

Step 3: Disable your old navigation block.

ACP -> vBA CMPS -> Edit Modules -> Site Navigation

Set "Active" to No. Keep in mind that you'll have two modules named Site Navigation now, so make sure you disable the non-template driven, default module and not the one you just created.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	vbamod_updated.jpg
Views:	530
Size:	13.6 KB
ID:	61690  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements YUI! Site Navigation Module for VBA 3 RC2 Dankness vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 26 17 Feb 2011 16:07
vBA CMPS Cleaner Site Navigation - CSS Driven Rollovers Chris-777 vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications 25 04 Feb 2008 11:17
Miscellaneous Hacks vBadvanced - Site Checker Module Mr House vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 15 29 Oct 2007 06:23
Toplist Random Site vBadvanced Module derekivey vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 75 25 Feb 2007 15:50

  #16  
Old 05 May 2007, 13:39
Chris-777's Avatar
Chris-777 Chris-777 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by icemanic View Post
Also, is this possible to do without the module border around it, so there is no "Site Navigation " title or border, just so it shows only the links....

is this possible?
I don't think so, since vBA formats the modules, then loads the template code inside it. The title is part of vBA, not the actual template that you edit.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06 May 2007, 22:52
rickyreter rickyreter is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Hi,can't get this to work with colours any one help...p;ease
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 14 May 2007, 18:25
icemanic icemanic is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
anyone figure out how to get sub-root , so certain rollover will drop down a 2ndary menu???
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 15 May 2007, 03:16
Chris-777's Avatar
Chris-777 Chris-777 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by rickyreter View Post
Hi,can't get this to work with colours any one help...p;ease
Can you post your code?

(And click install )
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19 Jun 2007, 15:57
rlpartida rlpartida is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quick question,

In what template should I change the font size to make it smaller (or larger)???

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 21 Jun 2007, 04:00
ShawneyJ's Avatar
ShawneyJ ShawneyJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Shawn
unreal m8 great job i love it. installed and mod of the month.
__________________
Sorry Guys, just a little busy lately.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 21 Jun 2007, 04:03
ShawneyJ's Avatar
ShawneyJ ShawneyJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Shawn
Originally Posted by rlpartida View Post
Quick question,

In what template should I change the font size to make it smaller (or larger)???

Thanks
which ever style you put the the code in the CSS in this step, i highlighted red what to change.

ACP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> (Your Style) -> Main CSS

Scroll down to Additional CSS Definitions

At the bottom, Add:

-----------------------------------------------------------------
.portalnav
{
color:#FFCC00;
font: bold 10px verdana;
Text-Decoration: none;
}

.portalnav a, .portalnav a:link, .portalnav a:visited, .portalnav a:hover, .portalnav a:active {

text-decoration:none;

color: #FFCC00;

font: bold 10px verdana;
}
__________________
Sorry Guys, just a little busy lately.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 26 Jun 2007, 12:55
rlpartida rlpartida is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Hello Jaycob,

Thank you very much for your response. It worked like a charm!

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 26 Jun 2007, 14:10
Andyucs's Avatar
Andyucs Andyucs is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Real name: Andy
so what code goes into the template your calling up called

adv_portal_clean_nav
__________________
Regards Andy
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 26 Jun 2007, 16:03
wolf32 wolf32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Wolf
Originally Posted by Andyucs View Post
so what code goes into the template your calling up called

adv_portal_clean_nav
This is the initial code to create the first link and the template.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you want to add more links, then you would use


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

HTH

Nice Mod Chris
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 26 Jun 2007, 22:48
ahmednadir ahmednadir is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Real name: Ahmed Rahimtulla
worked like a charm
thanks alot mate....installed
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 26 Jun 2007, 23:16
ahmednadir ahmednadir is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Real name: Ahmed Rahimtulla
just 1 thing though..

Is it possible to change the font colour.
at the moment its the same colour as the titles and thread colour, the normal navigation I had (the 1 that came with the portal) was a different colour (orange). Is it possible to change it so I can have it in orange so it stands out?

-EDITED-

Sorry mate, did'nt read the second step (was in a rush to install...lol)
great add to my site
thanks alot

Last edited by ahmednadir; 26 Jun 2007 at 23:23.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 20 Jul 2007, 15:59
wolf32 wolf32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Wolf
Superb hack. Much Thanks!

I'm having some customization issues though. I'm trying to add a couple of icons to the left of the text, and just can't get it to work.

Any suggestions?

Edit: Anyone???

Last edited by wolf32; 21 Jul 2007 at 23:30.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 20 Jul 2007, 21:25
inteller2k7's Avatar
inteller2k7 inteller2k7 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC
the one problem i am having is that it dont c all this settings
Column: Left Column
Display Order: 1
Active: Yes
Update All Pages: Yes
Template to Include: (adv_portal)clean_nav
Style: (Your style)

Template content is as follows:
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 21 Jul 2007, 00:05
wolf32 wolf32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Wolf
Originally Posted by inteller2k7 View Post
the one problem i am having is that it dont c all this settings
Column: Left Column
Display Order: 1
Active: Yes
Update All Pages: Yes
Template to Include: (adv_portal)clean_nav
Style: (Your style)

Template content is as follows:
These settings appear when you go to ACP > vBa CMPS > Add Module.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:43.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: