Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB Database Backup Details »
vB Database Backup
Mod Version: 3.7.001, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (32 votes - 4.84 average) Installs: 516
Released: 08 Jan 2008 Last Update: 30 Apr 2008 Downloads: 3125
Not Supported Translations  

This modification is no longer available or supported.

Note: Because I did not write the original version, but rather have modified & adapted it, support of this modification may be limited

When vb 3.5 first came out I was using this backup system on my vb 3.0 - and having nothing better to use - I converted it to work on vb 3.5 (here) and since then I have cut it down and adapted it, first for vb 3.6 and now for vb3.7.

The original version was by Trigunflame and the rights to the code were bought by Zoints (D.Chapman) in January. In 2007 David gave me permission to release my adaptation.

I have stripped out much of the extra stuff that I do not use (or indeed, could not get to work). This is a simple (lite) version that does a php based dump of your database either as one file, or one file per table.

Notes:
* I will not add anything new to this, or spend vast amounts of time supporting it.
* This is a Lite version to allow people to use the basic backup functionality on 3.7.


History:

v3.7.001 : First version for vB 3.7.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 01:23
lordtopcat lordtopcat is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Real name: Jamie Sutton
Well that error means your forum path is incorrect. Is the folder CHMODDED to 777 ?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 01:25
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Yes, it is.

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 01:29
lordtopcat lordtopcat is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Real name: Jamie Sutton
Can you please just try my other method? I had the same problem as you and once I put the correct path in it worked.

Cheers
LTC
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 01:37
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
What do you want me to do with that file? Upload it where? And how to run it?

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 01:50
lordtopcat lordtopcat is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Real name: Jamie Sutton
Upload it to your backups folder, and point your browser to it.

So once uploaded, go to your browser and run it like this:

http://yourdomain/backups/filepath.php

It will then display the entire root path, and then just copy that and put it in the path option in the config file. It must have a trailing slash. So for example:

/home/users/public_html/backups/
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 02:00
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I ran: /backups/forumpath.php but get Internal Server Error

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 02:01
lordtopcat lordtopcat is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Real name: Jamie Sutton
You ran it from your browser, yes? So you went http://yourdomain/backups/filepath.php?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 02:02
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Yes, I did.

It's not filepath, it's forumpath.php ... that's the file name.

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 02:04
lordtopcat lordtopcat is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Real name: Jamie Sutton
Oh yes, sorry.

Well, I don't know what to suggest. It worked for me, so I have no more answers.

You will have to wait until Paul (or someone else) logs on to help you.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 02:09
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Will do.

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 11:44
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
If you have put /public_html/backups/ then it will be trying to look for that at the root of your server. Its usually best to use a relative path, like ../backups/
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 12:31
bollie's Avatar
bollie bollie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Zele (Belgium)
Real name: ivan
Automatic Database Backup for vB 3.7

An error occured during the Backup : Could not open Destination SQL file for writing.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 13:54
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Thanks paul, that worked.

I clicked run now, and it's created the folder with .sql files for each table

Although it didn't close my board when I opened it in a new tab.

Thank you very much!!!

Regards Jason

Last edited by Jase2; 17 Feb 2008 at 14:10.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 14:01
inteller2k7's Avatar
inteller2k7 inteller2k7 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC
Originally Posted by bollie View Post
Automatic Database Backup for vB 3.7

An error occured during the Backup : Could not open Destination SQL file for writing.
Provided the config file's destination path is correct, did you ch mod the backup folder to 777?
__________________
AiO Forums
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 14:29
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
H Paul, one more question:

What would I set the cron job to, so that it starts the backup, 4am every night (UK time)?

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:00.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: