Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBulletin to Twitter, live tweets of new threads Details »
vBulletin to Twitter, live tweets of new threads
Mod Version: 1.00, by buro9 (Member) buro9 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (33 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 272
Released: 27 Jan 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1482
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations External Content  

This should work on all 4 and 3 versions of vBulletin as it's trivial.

Description:

You start a new thread, this hack makes a tweet about it on your twitter account.

This are live updates... not delayed, not based on RSS... the instant the thread is started, a tweet is made. This is how this hack differs from other hacks.

Why:

Mostly for SEO, but also as an alert system.

For SEO the idea is simply that search engines are drinking from the Twitter firehose and are indexing the links that are tweeted. Faster and increased indexing of your site benefits you by helping it be found.

For alerts it means that users are able to use whatever twitter client they wish to obtain updates. A lot of these provide filtering capabilities, so they're able to get a live filtered stream of updates that interest them. This works very well when you also use thread prefixes.

Pre-requisites:

You should have an account on bit.ly for URL shortening, and you should have an account on Twitter.

Go and register if you haven't yet:
http://bit.ly/
http://twitter.com/

Installation:

NOTE: Most problems are related to not putting your bit.ly or twitter user details in the plugin. Follow the instructions carefully!

Upload the two attached files to your forum root. These are twitter and bitly classes that enable the hack to work, you can also download these from the author:
http://classes.verkoyen.eu/bitly
http://classes.verkoyen.eu/twitter/

Go to the plugin manager and create a new plugin with the following details:
Product: vBulletin
Hook: newthread_post_complete
Title: Tweet to Twitter

PHP Code: [See below]

To configure the PHP code you need to know your bit.ly API key (go get it from bit.ly/account) and your username and password for twitter.

You also should make a list of the forumIds that are non-public as you will want to put these in the array provided.

i.e. if your admin forum is forumId = 7 and you also have a private forum for regular members which is forumid = 12, then you will want this:
$excludedForums = array(7, 12);

The PHP code should be this, with all of the relevant values for your forum inserted (replace everything bolded, including the < and > bits):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So the bit.ly line might look like this after you've put your values in:
$bitly = new Bitly('testUser', 'R_hj3456hgf3hig56hi2gf6');
NOT
$bitly = new Bitly('<testUser>', '<R_hj3456hgf3hig56hi2gf6>');
See? Remove those <> bits, they just show what to replace.

The shortUrl line might look like this:
$shortUrl = 'http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t='.$newpost[threadid];

The Twitter line might look like this:
$twitter = new Twitter('stephenfry','op1umisn1ce');

All make sense?

And that's it. Save and activate the plugin and create a test thread.

Now whenever a new thread is started, a tweet will be made to twitter instantly.

You can see this in effect here:
http://twitter.com/lfgss

That is being pushed new threads for http://www.lfgss.com/ and it's working perfectly.

Any questions?

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Q: It doesn't work!

A: That's not a question, however if it doesn't work then it's extremely likely you got your username and passwords wrong or left the < > signs in there. Double-check and do it again.

Q: I see an "INVALID_JSON" error

A: Disable bitly by setting $useBitly to false.
Q: I see an "You must be authenticated to access shorten" error

A: The credentials that you entered are either wrong, or you made a mess of the syntax. You did remove the < > when you put your values in right? Did you check the example given above?

Q: I see an error that says "Warning: curl_setopt_array() [function.curl-setopt-array]: CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION cannot be activated when in safe_mode or an open_basedir is set in [path]/bitly.php"

A: Wow, that's a good one... but easily fixable. Insert this at line 136 (just after the CURL options) in bitly.php:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases vBulletin 2 Twitter - Take Your News Straight To Twitter! AHealthForum vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 115 22 Feb 2013 22:02

  #421  
Old 15 Jun 2010, 05:34
merk_aus merk_aus is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Brendon
Any assistance in getting this for the CMS only with Articles?
Reply With Quote
  #422  
Old 15 Jun 2010, 09:33
Crazyfruitbat Crazyfruitbat is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
yeah I'm after the cms one too - that is way more important that twittering forum posts on my site
__________________
My site: www.sanctuary4gamers.com My Twitter and if you like video games, my podcast
Reply With Quote
  #423  
Old 15 Jun 2010, 09:51
pant pant is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
The main concern should be to get this working with openauth or whatever you call it otherwise you can forget the CMS tweets altogether.
Reply With Quote
  #424  
Old 15 Jun 2010, 14:52
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by Crazyfruitbat View Post
yeah I'm after the cms one too - that is way more important that twittering forum posts on my site
In our case most of our articles are promoted from the forums so have already been tweeted. New articles are usually bumped in the forums so get tweeted. No real need just to tweet a new article by itself.
Reply With Quote
  #425  
Old 15 Jun 2010, 14:58
merk_aus merk_aus is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Brendon
Originally Posted by Videx View Post
In our case most of our articles are promoted from the forums so have already been tweeted. New articles are usually bumped in the forums so get tweeted. No real need just to tweet a new article by itself.
Maybe not for you but for those of us who run a news service with the message board there for fun there is a point.

Our articles are written into the CMS. Users who want to hang around after reading can then go to the forums and posts etc.
Reply With Quote
  #426  
Old 15 Jun 2010, 15:47
puppetmaster222 puppetmaster222 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Is there any fix for when Twitter is over capacity? I get gnarly looking failed database messages when it's over-cap and I try to post a thread. Turning it off for now even though it is a nice mod. I rather just not risk the site looking like it totally died on new members making Intro threads or something.
Reply With Quote
  #427  
Old 15 Jun 2010, 17:14
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by merk_aus View Post
Our articles are written into the CMS.
Didn't this just come up somewhere? The CMS is just another forum, isn't it? All articles there start a thread in the CMS forum vBCms Comments. So why can't you tweet this forum? Maybe if it was unhidden?
Reply With Quote
  #428  
Old 16 Jun 2010, 02:45
AURFSCAN AURFSCAN is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Heres an error and Im assuming the attached image is the culprit. Apart from this happening once ...everthing works as it should thx



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg twit.jpg (139.3 KB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #429  
Old 16 Jun 2010, 14:58
cronjob78 cronjob78 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
A cool option would be if seperate forums could be assigned to seperate tweets rather than just being able to exclude certain forums. The forum I admin has very diverse sub-forums so anyone interested in music doesn't want sports tweets and vice versa.

I tried to be clever and rename the .xml file and rename the productID and <title> in the file itself. It imports fine but doesn't show up in admincp->settings alongside the first copy which is a bit perplexing.

If anyone has a suggestion I'd love to hear it.

Might be something worth considering to include in the hack for the future.
Reply With Quote
  #430  
Old 16 Jun 2010, 16:00
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by AURFSCAN View Post
Heres an error and Im assuming the attached image is the culprit.
Ha. That's Twitter's "Fail whale". Their servers have been overwhelmed by the World Cup. Word is that they're going to have to take the whole thing down for a while soon to implement changes.

Originally Posted by cronjob78 View Post
A cool option would be if seperate forums could be assigned to seperate tweets rather than just being able to exclude certain forums
No doubt the mod can use a lot of improvement. But you might have better luck posting over at http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=236278 where it's an actual mod, not just a code hack. Be advised he charges for support, but if he can do this I bet others may help you pay for it.
Reply With Quote
  #431  
Old 17 Jun 2010, 03:42
sassou2009 sassou2009 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Hi,

It's Working Fine and thank's but it does not support Arabic !
Reply With Quote
  #432  
Old 17 Jun 2010, 20:41
Micronichos Micronichos is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Working perfect, some problem with tildes in spanish, for example:

Remi Gaillard, posiblemente el tipo mágenuino de Internet

instead of

Remi Gaillard, posiblemente el tipo más genuino de Internet

If you need my help contact me thank you for such useful mod.
Reply With Quote
  #433  
Old 19 Jun 2010, 01:38
vilhiem vilhiem is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
OK ... I'm totally confused.

I did everything as instructed ... but just so you know, in your PHP code displayed here ... NOTHING in the code is BOLDED !!!

So, I put in the variables for everything between the '< and >'
Set up all the Twitter and Bit accounts ... put in the info ...

And ... NOTHING happens (no errors either).

So now it makes me wonder if the instructions are not being exactly clear.
For instance, do I need to enter something where it says ... 'prefixid' ...?

Or said another way ... am I supposed to modify everything between the ... ' and ' ...?
Because the instructions say replace either the BOLD (which doesn't show) or everything between the '< and >' (which still doesn't account for the URL, because it's not between the < and> )
Reply With Quote
  #434  
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:47
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
The bolding may be long gone, but did you read the first few pages of this mod? They make it very clear what needs to be done. Never ever install a mod without reading the entire thread.
Reply With Quote
  #435  
Old 19 Jun 2010, 02:53
Juggernaut's Avatar
Juggernaut Juggernaut is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I'm not very good at installing mods, but I installed this mod a while back, following the instructions here, and didn't have any problems at any time, with the installation, the instructions are very clear
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:01.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: