Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 25 Sep 2015, 01:53
meadwench's Avatar
meadwench meadwench is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Weird overlapping text in post

Hey all,

I need to tap the hive mind. My forum here: http://www.gotmead.com/forum/showthr...ssues-Temp-fix is getting weird overlapping text for edit/delete, reply with quote and multi-quote.

I have no idea where in heck this is coming from. If anyone can see something I can't (my eyes are crossed from looking through code at this point), I'd love some insight.

Thanks!!

Vicky Rowe
__________________
Vicky Rowe
Owner, Gotmead.com - Your source for Mead (Honey wine) information
Satori Digital Marketing - Affordable Small Business Internet Solutions
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25 Sep 2015, 11:57
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
There is an extra </div> in your postbit template, just above postfoot class try removing that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25 Sep 2015, 15:45
squidsk's Avatar
squidsk squidsk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Two things to try out. One does it work on a default style with no parent. Two turn off all plugins and see if that fixes the issue. My guess is it is either a style or a mod issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25 Sep 2015, 19:01
meadwench's Avatar
meadwench meadwench is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Thanks Seven Skins, I'll try that.

Squidsk, I am using the default theme, so it might be an add on. I'll have to check it out.

Vicky

--------------- Added 25 Sep 2015 at 19:52 ---------------

Well, removed the extra </div> in both postbit and postbit legacy, and it didn't work. Disabled all mods that interact with the postbit, no change.

::sigh:: This is frustrating, I have no idea where this is coming from. On the plus side, I did manage to make a lingering advertising box disappear.
__________________
Vicky Rowe
Owner, Gotmead.com - Your source for Mead (Honey wine) information
Satori Digital Marketing - Affordable Small Business Internet Solutions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25 Sep 2015, 19:56
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Seems like the placeholder image in the button contains an invalid URL:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

As you can see, it's an absolute path. Either delete that line from the postbit or postbit_legacy or fix the image to a correct URL.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25 Sep 2015, 20:17
meadwench's Avatar
meadwench meadwench is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Hmm. A search of postbit and postbit legacy doesn't show that, and I searched all templates, no joy. I'll have to hunt that down somehow.

The file does exist at that location, though.
__________________
Vicky Rowe
Owner, Gotmead.com - Your source for Mead (Honey wine) information
Satori Digital Marketing - Affordable Small Business Internet Solutions
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25 Sep 2015, 21:18
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Yeah, but the path to that location is not right. It's using the absolute path, not the public_html path. It should be something like http://yoursite.com/forum/clear.gif. Absolute path is local filesystem path to the file.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Is what it looks like in the template postbit and postbit_legacy.
Go to AdminCP > Settings > Style & Language Settings > Location of clear.gif to modify the location of the clear.gif image.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26 Sep 2015, 18:22
meadwench's Avatar
meadwench meadwench is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Thanks Dave, that did the trick.

Now I have to figure out why the RSS feed and Subscription buttons are shoved under the thread and post count buttons here http://www.gotmead.com/forum/forum.php

And here I thought staying with the default style would help me avoid this stuff.......

Thanks for your help!
__________________
Vicky Rowe
Owner, Gotmead.com - Your source for Mead (Honey wine) information
Satori Digital Marketing - Affordable Small Business Internet Solutions
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26 Sep 2015, 18:54
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Well for the RSS feed it's because ".notices li" has a padding that has to be removed.
Not sure about the subscription button since I can't see it as a guest.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26 Sep 2015, 19:30
meadwench's Avatar
meadwench meadwench is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Hmm. I found this in the chrome.css file, but that is the only place it appears in my templates and styles.

.notices li {
background: {vb:stylevar notices_background};
font-size: {vb:math {vb:stylevar font.fontSize}-1}{vb:stylevar font.units};
color: {vb:stylevar body_color};
padding:{vb:math {vb:stylevar padding}/2} {vb:stylevar padding};
margin-bottom:{vb:math {vb:stylevar padding}/2};

That padding stylevar is set to 10. If I change the stylevar, it messes with all the padding on everything. Argh....this should not be so hard to find!
__________________
Vicky Rowe
Owner, Gotmead.com - Your source for Mead (Honey wine) information
Satori Digital Marketing - Affordable Small Business Internet Solutions
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26 Sep 2015, 22:51
billstelling's Avatar
billstelling billstelling is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Well, to be honest. you are going about skinning your site in the wrong way. You should avoid any template modifications as much as possible and use the vars and additional.css to style the site as apposed to changing the stylevars descriptors within the templates.

Also, the area you are modding is bound by % in overlapping ways and if you add an element that adds width or height it will break the layout with how the bits combine to the thread, rss, threadbit and post count.

While the shadowing is cool and I get what you are going for there, you need to learn some of the best practices for vB so as to avoid a lot of headaches in the future. One of the biggest rules, and one I can not stress enough, is you NEVER modify the base vB style.

To use the base theme as a template, add anything to addition.css so that it sees it as a changed theme.
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That will work just fine for what we want to do, allow for the default style to be downloaded.

After adding to the add.css you can download the xml and then upload it giving it a new name and setting it to be its own style and not a child of any other style. You can then start modding that one and your stock style will be there to use to troubleshoot any problems you might have with a mod not adding things to the menus and such due to any template modifications you might have had to make to change the layout of vB aside form vars modding and css.

You also want to copy the default images folder, rename it, and then point the images section of the vars to the new folder. As with the base style, you should leave the default graphics alone and use a newly created one for your graphics.

If you want to poke around on my test site feel free. I do heavy modifications and styling to vB and it might give you a few ideas with what you would like to do, you can check it out here.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27 Sep 2015, 00:25
meadwench's Avatar
meadwench meadwench is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Thanks for the info, Bill, it makes sense. This is how I do the main site in WP, running a child theme off the main theme, so I can modify that, and leave the main alone. I would love to do that here as well.

So where does the addition.css file get stored, is that in the db too? I exported the default xml, and re-imported it as a separate theme called GM Theme (no parent). It shows up as a theme in the back end, but not as a choice in the front end for me to go in and see results when I change things. I don't want anything fancy, just to get the colors to more or less match the main site, and have the layout not overlap.

Looking at my stylevar, the only items changed besides colors are the logo image, favicon, sidebar width and logo padding. This is why I'm stumped on the overlapping areas.

Is there a detailed best practices you would recommend for me to read? I've noticed that most of the VB documentation I've found so far is fairly minimal, and doesn't really help much. Hence my post here.

You'll likely notice I have very few posts, mainly because I can usually google up a solution to most things I need and do it on my own. I only post when I'm at wits end.

Thanks for the input. I'm still at a loss why the tiles are overlapping in the forum list for post count and RSS. I didn't touch anything in that area for sizing or padding, so I'm wondering what the heck is going on.
__________________
Vicky Rowe
Owner, Gotmead.com - Your source for Mead (Honey wine) information
Satori Digital Marketing - Affordable Small Business Internet Solutions
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27 Sep 2015, 02:15
billstelling's Avatar
billstelling billstelling is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
The overlapping is caused by the elements for that div being divided by percentages. You have to take that into account when modding some of the core vb stuff. Adding shadow to them adds several pixels around each element breaking the percentage figures.

Additional.css is listed with the templates for the themes and is not a part of the vars. Its under CSS Templates. expand that by double clicking and you will see additional.css in it's cat.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27 Sep 2015, 02:34
meadwench's Avatar
meadwench meadwench is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Darn it, I didn't mod the core vb stuff, that is the frustrating thing. I have no idea where this shadow code originates or where to find it.

I checked the CSS files, and chrome.css was altered, so I reverted it. Other than that, no css changes have been made. I do have code in the additional.css, but all that is in there right now is padding for the header ad-2.
__________________
Vicky Rowe
Owner, Gotmead.com - Your source for Mead (Honey wine) information
Satori Digital Marketing - Affordable Small Business Internet Solutions
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27 Sep 2015, 03:08
billstelling's Avatar
billstelling billstelling is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I would have to get in there and take a look to see what is going on.. The default has shadowing built in but it can be turned off in the vars. Something was added that is causing it.

--------------- Added 27 Sep 2015 at 03:14 ---------------


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That appears to be the cause.. forumhome-rollup.css line 1
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:24.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: