Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[HTL] Addon: Auto-populate NavBar popup menu [for Erwin's Flash Player] Details »
[HTL] Addon: Auto-populate NavBar popup menu [for Erwin's Flash Player]
Mod Version: 1.00, by Natch (Member) Natch is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.3 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 4
Released: 23 Jan 2004 Last Update: 28 Jan 2004 Downloads: 21
Not Supported  

Addon: Auto-populate NavBar popup menu [for Erwin's Flash Player]
Version: 1.2
vB-version: 3.0.0 Release Candidate 3
Developer: Natch
Install difficulty: Easy-as
File edits: 2
Template edits: 2

Description of the Hack:
This takes all your Flash Games you have uploaded into the /forums/games/ folder, and parses them into an array, then creates a vB3 (so cool) drop-down menu, and populates that menu with nicely-labelled links to every one of your games (provided they have the extension .swf.


HACK INSTALLATION DETAILS:
Files modified for this Hack:
global.php
includes/functions.php

Templates modified for this Hack:
navbar


NOTE: In attachment are both HTL and text instructions.

Pop the HTL file and the XML file into your htlfiles folder (remember to ensure the htl file is uploaded as BINARY) and run it thru the HTL, or read the text file and DIY

Enjoy! and props to Erwin for his great work ...


UPDATE: 1.2 Upgraded to HTL format.

UPDATE: 1.1 Added a script to format visible link names more neatly.

RELEASE: 1.0 Initial vB.org release.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.jpg
Views:	757
Size:	55.0 KB
ID:	16178  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Addon: Auto-populate Navbar menu (for John's Arcade V3) Natch vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 49 25 May 2005 21:13
Addon to vB Flash Player - Information Listings and Game Listings... Chris M vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 9 24 Nov 2003 14:09
Flash Player Addon - DCR Flash Files Demonslayer vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 14 17 Dec 2002 20:15

Comments
  #2  
Old 23 Jan 2004, 04:27
CdaKnight CdaKnight is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Chris Atwood
I have a question. Is there any way that you can use the swfs array to populate another array, where you can tell it to use titles, etc via switch?

So like it goes through the swfs array and as it populates, it runs it through a switch to determine a Formal title for the file, like blaster.sfw becomes Blaster

Is that possible? I think it would make the hack more credible (although that's a great job done already!), and it would make the forums using it more professional. I don't have enough knowledge in PHP to even begin thinking about how to do it... so this is just a suggestion/request I guess.

Thanks again! I'm going to install this weekend regardless.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23 Jan 2004, 04:30
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Originally Posted by CdaKnight
I have a question. Is there any way that you can use the swfs array to populate another array, where you can tell it to use titles, etc via switch?

So like it goes through the swfs array and as it populates, it runs it through a switch to determine a Formal title for the file, like blaster.sfw becomes Blaster

Is that possible? I think it would make the hack more credible (although that's a great job done already!), and it would make the forums using it more professional. I don't have enough knowledge in PHP to even begin thinking about how to do it... so this is just a suggestion/request I guess.

Thanks again! I'm going to install this weekend regardless.

Chris
In short - yes

Done @ 5:05PM +10GMT 23-01-2004

__________________
Natcher00
... is the Admin @ MobileForces.org - Official Community for a cult Vehicle based FPS - the only place for support!
... also he's Penfold to Dark_Wizard's Danger Mouse in development of vBWar
http://www.mobileforces.org/sig.jpg
{DaniWeb: Learn HOW-TO mod_rewrite your vB board}

Last edited by Natch; 23 Jan 2004 at 21:40.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23 Jan 2004, 20:14
Bob Bob is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Nice Job Natcher!!!
__________________
ALLRiPPED IRC Network

http://www.allripped.net
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23 Jan 2004, 21:32
Allan's Avatar
Allan Allan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Real name: allan
it's compatible RC3 ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23 Jan 2004, 21:35
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Originally Posted by Socrate
it's compatible RC3 ?
Not tested with RC3, but unless the upgrade does some major modifications to the navbar, it's highly likely it will work just fine.
__________________
Natcher00
... is the Admin @ MobileForces.org - Official Community for a cult Vehicle based FPS - the only place for support!
... also he's Penfold to Dark_Wizard's Danger Mouse in development of vBWar
http://www.mobileforces.org/sig.jpg
{DaniWeb: Learn HOW-TO mod_rewrite your vB board}
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24 Jan 2004, 14:52
Fi_InCogNiTo Fi_InCogNiTo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
When I enter the following into global.php on RC3 my forum comes up as a blank white page. When I remove this line, the forum loads fine. It still doesn't fetch the games though:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25 Jan 2004, 00:40
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Originally Posted by Fi_InCogNiTo
When I enter the following into global.php on RC3 my forum comes up as a blank white page. When I remove this line, the forum loads fine. It still doesn't fetch the games though:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Did you:

a) Edit the path to your forums in the line above this one and
b) make all the other alterations as well ?

The only reason this line will actually do anything is if you also have made the additions to the includes/functions.php file, and added the approriate changes to the navbar template.
__________________
Natcher00
... is the Admin @ MobileForces.org - Official Community for a cult Vehicle based FPS - the only place for support!
... also he's Penfold to Dark_Wizard's Danger Mouse in development of vBWar
http://www.mobileforces.org/sig.jpg
{DaniWeb: Learn HOW-TO mod_rewrite your vB board}
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26 Jan 2004, 01:04
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Originally Posted by Socrate
it's compatible RC3 ?
I just upgraded to RC3, and no probs at all ...

This hack-addon is RC3 compatible.
__________________
Natcher00
... is the Admin @ MobileForces.org - Official Community for a cult Vehicle based FPS - the only place for support!
... also he's Penfold to Dark_Wizard's Danger Mouse in development of vBWar
http://www.mobileforces.org/sig.jpg
{DaniWeb: Learn HOW-TO mod_rewrite your vB board}
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27 Jan 2004, 13:17
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Updated to HTL version: text file instructions still retained for DIY-ers.
__________________
Natcher00
... is the Admin @ MobileForces.org - Official Community for a cult Vehicle based FPS - the only place for support!
... also he's Penfold to Dark_Wizard's Danger Mouse in development of vBWar
http://www.mobileforces.org/sig.jpg
{DaniWeb: Learn HOW-TO mod_rewrite your vB board}
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27 Jan 2004, 20:50
CdaKnight CdaKnight is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Chris Atwood
When I tried to load in the HTL version, I got a database error...

I went to "Install Hack" via the HTL, and chose the "Auto-Populate Navbar popup menu [for Erwin's Flash Player]" from the list. Then I hit the confirm button, and it wasn't happy. Any ideas?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by CdaKnight; 27 Jan 2004 at 22:01.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27 Jan 2004, 21:37
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Well the error is referring to the hacklog table, saying
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

so I'll take this up to KuraFire ...

Q: had you removed all alterations from your manual install ?

[and can you edit your post to use {php} or {code} tags - that would make sure this entry full of hack-modifications is displayed properly ...]
__________________
Natcher00
... is the Admin @ MobileForces.org - Official Community for a cult Vehicle based FPS - the only place for support!
... also he's Penfold to Dark_Wizard's Danger Mouse in development of vBWar
http://www.mobileforces.org/sig.jpg
{DaniWeb: Learn HOW-TO mod_rewrite your vB board}
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27 Jan 2004, 21:45
KuraFire's Avatar
KuraFire KuraFire is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Faruk
[QUOTE=CdaKnight]When I tried to load in the HTL version, I got a database error...

I went to "Install Hack" via the HTL, and chose the "Auto-Populate Navbar popup menu [for Erwin's Flash Player]" from the list. Then I hit the confirm button, and it wasn't happy. Any ideas?

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0 Release Candidate 3:

Invalid SQL: INSERT INTO hacklog (hacklogid, hackid, modname, modtype, linenumber, changetype, userid, oldcode, newcode, dateline, lastmodified, notes) VALUES
[ .... ]
mysql error: Unknown column 'changetype' in 'field list'

mysql error number: 1054
Very strange... does your table `hacklog` on your database have the column 'changetype' ??
__________________
EverythingvB.com is closed; it will merge into the KuraFire Network, version 6. KF*N 6 will have information about XHTML, CSS, PHP and vBulletin, and especially all those combined.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27 Jan 2004, 21:47
KuraFire's Avatar
KuraFire KuraFire is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Faruk
Originally Posted by KuraFire
Very strange... does your table `hacklog` on your database have the column 'changetype' ??
Actually, now that I look at it I'm somewhat concerned...

the query says to insert these file/template modifications to hackid=1, but that one is reserved for the HTL itself...


*so confused*

*so scared that he had a major f*ckup in his script* :'(((
__________________
EverythingvB.com is closed; it will merge into the KuraFire Network, version 6. KF*N 6 will have information about XHTML, CSS, PHP and vBulletin, and especially all those combined.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27 Jan 2004, 22:06
CdaKnight CdaKnight is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Chris Atwood
I don't have that column, although now I'm guessing I should... I used the installer... Is it possible to just drop 'hack' and 'hacklog' and run the installer to add them again (I'm assuming I wouldn't need the phrases, etc. again [including the file changes])

Kura, if you'd like to access my admincp, or need a copy of the files, please let me know what you need and I'll PM it to you.

And I could have sworn I installed the upgrade... and I'll check again and make sure I did it correctly. I'm normally not this incompetent with this stuff...

Oh, and PS: I never had a manual install. I chose to wait due to time constraints, and was very happy when you release the HTL version, saving me time.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:24.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: