Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 30 Jan 2016, 01:32
shimei shimei is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
PHP7 and VB 5.1.9 patch 3

I haven't ran into errors yet after enabling php7 and making the following changes. I backed up each file I worked with (downloaded them for safe keeping). Mind you I am using 5.1.9 patch 3.

I began by enabling php 7. Then checking my site. My dragonbyte product was not loading, and neither was my admincp. To access admincp I had to revert back to 5.6 php version. Once in and after disabling my product I then enabled php 7 again and performed the below mods. Afterwards I was able to once again access admincp to enable my dragonbyte product which works.

You may visit my page here to see what I did. It only involved 3 files to be modded.... Vbulletin 5 and php 7

In vBulletin 5.1.9 patch 3 two files are with the same issue:

/includes/vb5/template/bbcode.php
/core/includes/class_bbcode.php

Search for the line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


/public_html/core/vb/database.php

Search for the line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Don’t forget that APC no longer exists in PHP7, so make sure your config.php doesn’t use this as the datastore.
And visit this site as to the first steps which I incorporated in the above page: http://linuxbox.co.uk/blog/vbulletin-5-and-php-7/

I am only minutes after doing the above on php 7. Thus far I am bug free after browsing the forum and making posts. If you run into any issues and resolve them please post below.

Last edited by shimei; 30 Jan 2016 at 05:47.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30 Jan 2016, 03:03
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Great to see another post about PHP 7 and vBulletin. It really makes a difference.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30 Jan 2016, 03:17
shimei shimei is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Great to see another post about PHP 7 and vBulletin. It really makes a difference.
Thanks Dave. Do you know whether Fast CGI is beneficial to run with PHP7? As is now I have it enabled or are they unrelated altogether? I haven't began to research it yet. But I take it they unrelated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30 Jan 2016, 03:32
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
According to http://www.bitaccel.com/blog/php-cgi...-fpm-on-nginx/ PHP-FPM is the better one to pick. I personally haven't done any tests between the 2.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30 Jan 2016, 19:24
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Pretty sure 5.2.0 has better support for PHP7.

If you're on nginx (though I'm not happy about the direction they're taking the product) PHP-FPM has a lot of benefits so go with it.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30 Jan 2016, 19:52
shimei shimei is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Originally Posted by Zachery View Post
Pretty sure 5.2.0 has better support for PHP7.

If you're on nginx (though I'm not happy about the direction they're taking the product) PHP-FPM has a lot of benefits so go with it.

I have been running on php 7 now for a day.... not a single error. I am using opcache too. My host doesn't have FPM installed, but only fastcgi, so that is my only option at the moment.

My speed increases don't seem to be day and night, because I was using HHVM with php 5.6. Someone posted my response times now at ~330ms, which is much better than the avg Vb 5 site with 800ms responses.

Last edited by shimei; 30 Jan 2016 at 20:15.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30 Jan 2016, 20:15
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by Zachery View Post
Pretty sure 5.2.0 has better support for PHP7.
Most of the php7 work is in 5.2.1
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30 Jan 2016, 20:20
shimei shimei is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Most of the php7 work is in 5.2.1
Paul M, is there anyway to figure out what other changes may of been necessary? I have visited the Jira but it isn't like open source software where one can see the changes made.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30 Jan 2016, 20:39
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Most of the php7 work is in 5.2.1
Ah, well I'm not as in the loop as I once was.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31 Jan 2016, 06:33
shimei shimei is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Just ran into my first error. Could not log back in because it said unknown constructor. It gave no other information.

Last edited by shimei; 31 Jan 2016 at 07:25.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 31 Jan 2016, 14:54
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
What was the exact error? Something like "Methods with the same name as their class may not be constructors"?
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 31 Jan 2016, 16:25
shimei shimei is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
What was the exact error? Something like "Methods with the same name as their class may not be constructors"?
On the login page, after trying to log in the only thing is said was "unknown constructor."
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:00.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: