Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
An alternative to banning: Miserable Users Details »
An alternative to banning: Miserable Users
Mod Version: 1.00, by Zzed (Member) Zzed is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.2.x Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 152
Released: 08 Mar 2003 Last Update: Never Downloads: 20
Not Supported  

This hack is an alternative to banning a user. As the name suggests a user who
gets hit with this hack will become truly miserable while trying to access
your board.

So here is what really happens to a miserable user:

- There is a random 60-120 second delay each time they click on a link.
- 90% of times they have no search engine acccess.
- 75% of the times they get the server too busy error.

If they don't get the server too busy error:
- 50% of the times they may get a blank page
- 30% of the times they may get forwarded to the forum main page
- 20% of the time they may be able to see the page they asked for.

after doing all the math in actuality they have only a 5% chance of seeing the
page they clicked on. What kills them is the time they have to wait before
anything happens.

I actually once tracked a miserable user and watched him suffer for 2 whole
hours before he was able to make a simple post.

This hack is considered one of the most sadistic hacks on my board.

The hack allows you to make your user miserable via the admin CP. It also
allows you to search for all miserable users through the admin CP as well.

Also in showthread.php, it appends a red status that is only visibly to admins
and mods stating that a user is miserable.


Tables affected by this hack: user

Files affected by this hack: global.php, showthread.php, admin/user.php

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Annother banning alternative : Starved Users Zzed vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 40 14 Jan 2004 00:59

  #271  
Old 08 Mar 2004, 12:48
subu1 subu1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by Kars10
Lol, cool hack!!
Install it later on...
thanks man!!
Hi Kars, bist Du bitte so lieb und kannst mir den Hack nochmal auf deutsch erklären, weißt doch ich und mein Oxfort eng. *g*
Reply With Quote
  #272  
Old 16 Mar 2004, 01:40
chrisvonc's Avatar
chrisvonc chrisvonc is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
This is sweet! Thank you!
I just installed it on my test forum. vB2.3.2 and worked like a charm. My test account I am trying this on right now, is being brutalized nicely. This is going to be great for trouble makers on my production forum!

*Clicked install*

Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 16 Mar 2004, 01:45
chrisvonc's Avatar
chrisvonc chrisvonc is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by drumsy
How can I dial this down a bit?
I kind of would like to know if this is possible as well. Just so they dont catch on too fast.

Thanks again,

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #274  
Old 17 Mar 2004, 15:55
TechGuy TechGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Mike
This is too great... I changed some of the numbers a little so that it's not so obvious that we're messing with the guy, and I set it up so that it effects his whole IP range, rather than just his username(s)...

To do that, I just copied the global part of the hack (between the if statements) into the checkipban() function in the functions.php file... quote out the eval for the normal error_ipban and we're all set. It's great, man. I laughed for hours.

To keep from making it too obvious, I changed the if glitch numbers down a bit. For example:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Will give the error 50% of the time. As opposed to:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Which would do it 80% of the time.
Reply With Quote
  #275  
Old 29 Mar 2004, 03:30
EMiNENCE EMiNENCE is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Question

Originally Posted by y2krazy
That is the what I meant by "Edit User" page...

Edit User - y2krazy (userid: 1) <- the heading of the main table to edit the user. That is the location I was looking for this "checkbox", and it's still nowhere to be found...

I am guessing that it has something to do with the admin/user.php edits, maybe?

-y2k-
That's my problem too. I checked all hacked files twice, step by step, and everything seems to be ok. But there's still no radiobutton in the user's EDIT profile. No checkbox underneath 'Number of posts', so... I'm not able to set up anyone to be Miserable. Any ideas where's the bug hidden?
Reply With Quote
  #276  
Old 29 Mar 2004, 06:01
EMiNENCE EMiNENCE is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
I have finally found the bug!

Just look for inputcode("Number of Posts","posts",$user[posts]); twice in the source code of admin\user.php. There are two simillar sections that match to the description. The first is determined for the ADD USER section in CP, the 2nd is the right for EDIT User.

Just such a small mistake but every install faq should be better commented for this possibility next time.
;]

Thanx for this hack anyway! It really rocks!!
Reply With Quote
  #277  
Old 29 Mar 2004, 12:04
chrisvonc's Avatar
chrisvonc chrisvonc is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
??
Maybe I dont get what you guys are saying but to me it looks like you guys were using too short of a search value. Its not a bug or mistake on the authors part if one doesnt fully read the directions or search for the full code they were told to be looking for.

When I searched my admin/user.php, I only found 1 section with block of code he tells you to look for that includes the line "makeinputcode("Number of Posts","posts",$user[posts]);" in it, and then I put the code under that, like the directions said to.

Now if you were doing your searches for just "$user[posts]", then you would have run into problems that you are describing as there are multiple entrys in the page of "$user[posts]", but again, thats not what the directions were telling you to look for.

Again, maybe I am on the wrong track here and dont understand what you were referancing and if I am, I apologize, but as to the directions, if an idiot like me can install it and have it going on the first try, the directions are pretty much right on.


Originally Posted by EMiNENCE
I have finally found the bug!

Just look for inputcode("Number of Posts","posts",$user[posts]); twice in the source code of admin\user.php. There are two simillar sections that match to the description. The first is determined for the ADD USER section in CP, the 2nd is the right for EDIT User.

Just such a small mistake but every install faq should be better commented for this possibility next time.
;]

Thanx for this hack anyway! It really rocks!!
Reply With Quote
  #278  
Old 29 Mar 2004, 18:50
EMiNENCE EMiNENCE is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Originally Posted by chrisvonc
??
When I searched my admin/user.php, I only found 1 section with block of code he tells you to look for that includes the line "makeinputcode("Number of Posts","posts",$user[posts]);" in it, and then I put the code under that, like the directions said to.

Now if you were doing your searches for just "$user[posts]", then you would have run into problems that you are describing as there are multiple entrys in the page of "$user[posts]", but again, thats not what the directions were telling you to look for.
It's possible you really have just only one section like that, but some people [inlcuding me] have two...;]

Look at the sample fragment of my admin/user.php [vB 2.2.7]:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


...and 82 lines below:



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


So, as you can see, there are really two sections in admin/user.php.... ;] But you're right. I searched for a shorter string cos my admin/user.php is hacked thoroughly and many strings don't match today at all, so I have to look for parts of them instead of using those exact samples from install faq.

Last edited by EMiNENCE; 29 Mar 2004 at 19:05.
Reply With Quote
  #279  
Old 29 Mar 2004, 19:13
chrisvonc's Avatar
chrisvonc chrisvonc is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Doh! I do apologize. I installed this on my v2.3.2 and it only has the one.
Reply With Quote
  #280  
Old 21 Jun 2004, 01:32
mark@sb.ws mark@sb.ws is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Anyone know if this works on 2.3.5?
Reply With Quote
  #281  
Old 08 Jul 2004, 12:05
Blue91's Avatar
Blue91 Blue91 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Has anyone made this work on 3.0.3 yet?
Reply With Quote
  #282  
Old 08 Jul 2004, 22:27
Sting3r Sting3r is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
yea any plans for 3.0+ version. Sounds like a nice idea.
Reply With Quote
  #283  
Old 10 Jul 2004, 18:24
Blue91's Avatar
Blue91 Blue91 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #284  
Old 12 Jul 2004, 02:36
dr.science dr.science is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
I am very interested in a 3.0 version as well.
Reply With Quote
  #285  
Old 12 Jul 2004, 02:39
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
*cough* search function *cough*

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=59727
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:39.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: