Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Mod Options
  #1  
Old 05 Oct 2006, 14:32
RaceJunkie RaceJunkie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Secondary Group Permissions Issue

I don't allow regular members play the arcade. I only allow supporters or VIP members. If I set a regular members secondary group to VIP they still can't play the arcade, but if I set the primary group to VIP they can.

Note: When the users secondary permission is set to VIP the permissions work fine everywhere on the site, it's only the arcade that has the problem.

I am currently running the most recent version
ibProArcade v2.5.6+

Comments
  #2  
Old 10 Oct 2006, 16:37
RaceJunkie RaceJunkie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Am i the only one?
  #3  
Old 15 Oct 2006, 03:49
RaceJunkie RaceJunkie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Am i the only one?
  #4  
Old 30 Oct 2006, 17:43
butty butty is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
the arcade doesnt currently check the secondary usergroup mate, i was hoping that it would be sorted for 2.5.7+ but it doesnt seem to have

imo its a massive requirement of the plugin for those people having paid subscribers to the forum. as then it would allow us to offer more games in the arcade to those who are supporting the forums upkeep

mr zeropage tried a while ago briefly to sort this for me to no avail. maybe if we club together guys and sort out a decent sized donation then he may put some more time into sorting a fix out for this for us? id be willing to throw $25 in to the pot anyone else?
  #5  
Old 30 Oct 2006, 17:50
RaceJunkie RaceJunkie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Originally Posted by butty
the arcade doesnt currently check the secondary usergroup mate, i was hoping that it would be sorted for 2.5.7+ but it doesnt seem to have

imo its a massive requirement of the plugin for those people having paid subscribers to the forum. as then it would allow us to offer more games in the arcade to those who are supporting the forums upkeep

mr zeropage tried a while ago briefly to sort this for me to no avail. maybe if we club together guys and sort out a decent sized donation then he may put some more time into sorting a fix out for this for us? id be willing to throw $25 in to the pot anyone else?
I got $25 to offer as well. I can't believe no one else would not want this.:surprised:
  #6  
Old 30 Oct 2006, 19:05
wes_517 wes_517 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I was looking for this too... I don't have extra money to chip in these days, but that was one of the first things I looked for (allowing admins to test it out before opening it up to the general userbase)

I normally have admins and mods as their secondary usergroups.
  #7  
Old 30 Oct 2006, 20:08
EasyTarget EasyTarget is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Dave
I have the same issue, my board relies heavily upon secondary usergroups.

maybe another nice feature to have would be per game settings where you could allow some games to be played exclusively by a certain usergroup while keeping the other games open to everyone.
__________________
Looking for a photo gallery, files or multimedia center or a links database? Links and Downloads is the hack for you. Its feature-rich, well-coded, well-supported and free.
  #8  
Old 30 Oct 2006, 21:32
sinisterpain's Avatar
sinisterpain sinisterpain is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Real name: Glenn
Originally Posted by RaceJunkie
I don't allow regular members play the arcade. I only allow supporters or VIP members. If I set a regular members secondary group to VIP they still can't play the arcade, but if I set the primary group to VIP they can.

Note: When the users secondary permission is set to VIP the permissions work fine everywhere on the site, it's only the arcade that has the problem.

I am currently running the most recent version
ibProArcade v2.5.6+

This question has been answered in this thread http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...01554&page=151

Last edited by sinisterpain; 30 Oct 2006 at 21:35.
  #9  
Old 31 Oct 2006, 08:02
MrZeropage's Avatar
MrZeropage MrZeropage is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Marcel
Yes, you can easily switch from primary to secondary usergroup by opening /arcade/modules/mod_Arcade.php

it is explained there what to do


...feel free to drop the 25$ nevertheless *lol*
__________________
Get the most installed modification for your vBulletin (more than 8400 installations and 148.000 downloads!):
ibProArcade 2.7.6+ download here | Click here to enter the ibProArcade-Support-Section
Don't miss the new Google Analytics Integration (GDPR/DSGVO) for vB4.x
  #10  
Old 31 Oct 2006, 17:52
butty butty is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by MrZeropage
Yes, you can easily switch from primary to secondary usergroup by opening /arcade/modules/mod_Arcade.php

it is explained there what to do


...feel free to drop the 25$ nevertheless *lol*
i would gladly do. if it worked mate lol

that fix only uses either secondary or primary usergroup permissions. it doesnt use the permissions in the way the forum system does, which is a problem if your setting the usergourp permissions how you should. doh! :alien:
  #11  
Old 31 Oct 2006, 22:20
jiffy jiffy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
I'd be willing to kick in $20 for this. I have one forum that could use this. Switching to using only secondary user groups isn't really an option. It would be nice if it could function like other hacks where it looks to either the primary or secondary usergroup for the permissions. Not one or the other.
__________________
Are you an InterWeberNetter?
  #12  
Old 02 Nov 2006, 18:54
butty butty is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
cool nice one mr jiffy. we got $70 up to now then in the pot is anyone else up for chipping in and givin mr zp a offer he cant refuse to sort this for us
  #13  
Old 02 Nov 2006, 19:37
RaceJunkie RaceJunkie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
With all the installs it has I can't believe there would not be more..
  #14  
Old 06 Nov 2006, 23:53
jiffy jiffy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
I got a PM from "Sarcoth" saying he got it sorted out and if I sent him my donation he would send me the details on fixing it. Anyone else get that PM?

I got a PM from "Sarcoth" saying he got it sorted out and if I sent him my donation he would send me the details on fixing it. Anyone else get that PM?
__________________
Are you an InterWeberNetter?

Last edited by jiffy; 07 Nov 2006 at 02:25. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
  #15  
Old 07 Nov 2006, 17:07
RaceJunkie RaceJunkie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Originally Posted by jiffy
I got a PM from "Sarcoth" saying he got it sorted out and if I sent him my donation he would send me the details on fixing it. Anyone else get that PM?

I got a PM from "Sarcoth" saying he got it sorted out and if I sent him my donation he would send me the details on fixing it. Anyone else get that PM?
I received the pm as well. There was no cost mentioned in the PM, only a link that I have not looked at yet. I don't want to do anything to dis-respect MrZero since he has put all the time into this mod. I will wait and see if he comes up with anything first.
 



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:08.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: