Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Editor BBcode Tags to embed EditArea code editor in posts Details »
Editor BBcode Tags to embed EditArea code editor in posts
Mod Version: 1.1, by nerbert (Coder) nerbert is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.0 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 5
Released: 01 Jun 2013 Last Update: 05 Jun 2013 Downloads: 38
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files External Content  

Editor Tags allow you to embed EditArea code editor in posts as an editable alternative to [code], [html] and [php] tags

This product is no longer supported. See http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...60#post2457960

New Version 1.1 (see below for installation)

Use [editor] tags to display, edit and store code in posts. You can edit code and save it in the database without editing the post, just click the Save button at the bottom of the editor.

The EditArea code editor displays formatted highlighted code and has the usual features of code editors. It's the editor used in cPanel. Features include search and replace, go to line, undo/redo, syntax and font size selection, highlight toggling, word-wrap toggling and full screen toggling.



Features
  • Control panel in Settings > Options > BB Code Settings

  • Enable/Disable allows you to turn Editor Tags off without deleting the BB Code. When Editor Tags are disabled, code posted in Editor Tags will show in a pre element much like a Code Tag display.

  • By default, editing permission is the same as editing for the post. You can disable editing globally in the control panel.

  • Edited code can be saved without editing the post. A Save button saves the EditArea contents to the database with AJAX.

  • Default height of the editor can be set in the control panel.

  • [New] Resizable in all browsers.

  • [New] Works with or without Quick Edit enabled

Installation
  1. Go to sourceforge to download the EditArea product. Upload the unzipped editarea_0_8_2 folder to the clientscript folder.

    Note: The easy way to upload large packages is to first create an "upload_zips" folder in your forum root, then upload the zipped file there. Then unzip the file and by default the new folder will be in the upload_zips folder. You can then move or copy it to clientscript.
  2. Import the product file in Admin CP.

  3. Upload the button image to the images/editor folder

  4. Create the BB Code in the Custom BB Codes feature
    Title: Editor Tags

    BB Code Tag Name: editor

    Replacement:
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    Example: [editor] ..... CODE ..... [/editor]

    Description: Puts the EditArea code editor in posts

    Use {option} No

    Button Image: images/editor/editor.png

    Remove Tag If Empty No

    Disable BB Code Within This BB Code Yes

    Disable Smilies Within This BB Code Yes

    Disable Word Wrapping Within This BB Code Yes

    Disable Automatic Link Parsing Within This BB Code Yes

  5. To install the new version 1.1, uninstall the old version, upload the new product file and change the Replacement code in the bbcode setting. Everything else stays the same.

Notes

  • Browser compatibility: This has been tested in Chrome, Firefox, Opera and some versions of IE. EditArea will not work well with Opera; the code displays properly but the tab key will not indent the code. There are some problems with IE8 throwing errors, this can be avoided by not placing more than one editor in a single post.

  • The product creates two new templates, bbcode_editor_script, which goes in the <head>, and editortags.css.

  • If you already have EditArea on your server from this product, EditArea Code Editor for Templates & Plugins in Admin CP, you can use it by changing the path in the <script> tag in bbcode_editor_script template.

Changes
  • June 2 2013 Eliminated the progess image to theleft of the Save button. It was causing problems in vB4.2.1. Fixed minor problem with display in IE.
    Upload the new product file and overwrite the old one. Change the Replacement code above in the BBcode manager

  • June 5 2013 Released new version 1.1. I eliminated the alternative height setting in the admin CP as the editor is now resizable in all browsers.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ETedit-logged.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	146.7 KB
ID:	145238   Click image for larger version

Name:	ETedit-notlog.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	139.8 KB
ID:	145239   Click image for larger version

Name:	ETadmin.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	165.3 KB
ID:	145275   Click image for larger version

Name:	editarea.jpg
Views:	378
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	145278  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools EditArea Code Editor for Templates & Plugins in Admin CP (vB3, vB4) nerbert vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 18 01 Nov 2017 21:29
New Posting Features Put tags box above the text editor RC. vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 15 22 Oct 2010 21:47
Integration with vBulletin VEA (EditArea for vb :: Code Editor for Template) Uno vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 16 13 Sep 2009 10:19

Comments
  #2  
Old 01 Jun 2013, 08:45
nerbert nerbert is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reserved
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Jun 2013, 23:49
Muhammad Rahman Muhammad Rahman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I've tried ...
but, when the save code is missing ..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02 Jun 2013, 01:48
nerbert nerbert is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
What browser are you using?

What version of vBulletin do you have?

When you clicked the button did you see a little progress image to the left? (dots go round and round)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02 Jun 2013, 04:28
Muhammad Rahman Muhammad Rahman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Firefox 21.,
vBulletin 4.2.1.,
No.,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02 Jun 2013, 05:13
nerbert nerbert is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
This correction applies to the original file. If you have uploaded the latest file and followed the instructions in the OP ignore this post.


I thought that might be the problem. They changed the location of the little progress image.

Open up the bbcode_editortags_script template and in the lower part modify as shown:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

When you click the button the code should disappear and then the code read from the daabase will show. I takes just a second or so.

EDITED: I found a better fix

Last edited by nerbert; 02 Jun 2013 at 06:02.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Jun 2013, 08:29
Muhammad Rahman Muhammad Rahman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I did not find the template bbcode_editortags_script
the existing bbcode_editor_script
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02 Jun 2013, 12:10
nerbert nerbert is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
I meant bbcode_editor_script.

Upload the new product file and over write the old one and change the code in the bbcode manager and it should work

Last edited by nerbert; 02 Jun 2013 at 14:00.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03 Jun 2013, 03:38
Muhammad Rahman Muhammad Rahman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I have uploaded and reinstall ..
still does not work ...

This my forum
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03 Jun 2013, 05:09
nerbert nerbert is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
If you made that template change you will have to go back to bbcode_editor_script and revert it. If it shows red it needs to be reverted, so it gets the new version from MASTER STYLE
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05 Jun 2013, 15:18
nerbert nerbert is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
@ Muhammad Rahman: I'm wondering if you have Quick Edit disabled?

Settings > Options > Message Posting and Editing Options > Quick Edit

________________________________________________________________________________ ___________

I finished a new Version 1.1, which allows resizing in all browsers, so the special height setting in the admin CP is no longer needed. Also editing is possible regardless of whether Quick Edit is enabled. Fixed miscellaneous minor bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Jun 2013, 17:10
Muhammad Rahman Muhammad Rahman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Originally Posted by nerbert View Post
@ Muhammad Rahman: I'm wondering if you have Quick Edit disabled?

Settings > Options > Message Posting and Editing Options > Quick Edit

________________________________________________________________________________ ___________

I finished a new Version 1.1, which allows resizing in all browsers, so the special height setting in the admin CP is no longer needed. Also editing is possible regardless of whether Quick Edit is enabled. Fixed miscellaneous minor bugs.
still not working for my forum ..
__________________
none_
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02 Nov 2013, 15:10
john7911 john7911 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thank you
Is it possible to put AutoLISP (Autodesk AutoCAD)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02 Nov 2013, 15:35
john7911 john7911 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I have the same problem as Muhammad Rahman
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02 Nov 2013, 20:28
nerbert nerbert is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Originally Posted by john7911 View Post
I have the same problem as Muhammad Rahman
I don't use this any more because I have something better. It has a minor imperfection or two I've been trying to fix but since I have so many other things going on I think I'll just post it as is.

The new product uses the CodeMirror editor and is completely different from this so I'll start a new product thread. I have to test it some more and tidy it up so give me a few hours.

I'll post a link here when I post the new product.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:49.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: