Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Product Review Forums Research, Review & Compare Items Details »
Product Review Forums Research, Review & Compare Items
Mod Version: 1.4.0, by Ted S (Coder) Ted S is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (34 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 213
Released: 07 Sep 2011 Last Update: 06 Apr 2014 Downloads: 1715
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files  

Version 1.4.0 has been released to remove the giftery / list it integration of the addon now that service has been discontinued. No upgrade is needed though there have been a few other bug changes since 1.3.5.

Finding Feedback Can be Like a Needle in a Haystack


The more your forum grows, the more of a challenge it becomes to sort through the history and get the full story.


Product Review Forums Brings Structure to the Chaos


As a full-featured product management addon, PRF sits on top of your forum allowing you to create defined products which, unlike individual posts, stay relevant over time. Each comment, review and even product updates filter back into this one spot allowing for a quick and comprehensive overview while the individual discussions rage on as always.


Here's just a few of the many features you'll find in PRF:
  • Bring structure to products with established pages & reviews
  • Reduce the number of repetitive posts from members looking up the same info
  • Increase your traffic with content-rich, seo friendly, product listings
  • Drive revenue by adding your own affiliate links to product listings
  • Increase the activity stream's value with review integration
  • Engage visitors with integrated wishlists from Giftery.me
===========================

Installation is not upload & go... individualized settings are required. Read the install file.


===========================
QUICK TIPS:
===========================

Enabling Product Forums: To show product details and ratings, each product-forum must be enabled in the forum manager.

Adding Products: You may upload products one at a time through the admin [includes an image uploader using GD] or you can bulk import through XML. You can also enable users to add moderated products through a global and usergroup option.

Product Review Index: To access your forum's product overview go to www.yoursite.com/productforums.php - You may want to add a link to this to your navbar or as a tab.

Customization: This addon is made to be customized. To change the color schema see clientscript/vbulletin_css or dive right on in to the templates and phrases.

Powered by Giftery.me: This mod is maintained includes two integrations you should know about. Both can be controlled through the mod options.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-1.jpg
Views:	2531
Size:	45.4 KB
ID:	139758   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-2.jpg
Views:	3660
Size:	79.4 KB
ID:	139759   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-3.jpg
Views:	2549
Size:	70.0 KB
ID:	139760   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-4.jpg
Views:	2129
Size:	76.3 KB
ID:	139761  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-5.jpg
Views:	1583
Size:	62.0 KB
ID:	139762  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #421  
Old 21 Jan 2012, 20:13
zeus_r6 zeus_r6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Originally Posted by zeus_r6 View Post
Any idea what's causing the post content after the actual review to spill over onto the next line? It's only happening in the threads with reviews...
Wanting to keep this mod as it's an asset to our forums, but this problem just won't go away...only happens in IE...There has to be an explanation...anybody have some insight to what template might be doing this? It's not happening in other threads...only the ones with reviews in a user review
Reply With Quote
  #422  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:16
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by Killhunter View Post
Hi Ted, like I expected, my editor is away... the complete field to write a review is gone?! Could you PLEASE add support for the old editor which is in vbulletin 4.0.3 and so on...
The mod will read data from slightly older versions but it's just not feasible to write code that runs back to every older flavor. Why haven't you upgraded?
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #423  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:18
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by zeus_r6 View Post
Wanting to keep this mod as it's an asset to our forums, but this problem just won't go away...only happens in IE...There has to be an explanation...anybody have some insight to what template might be doing this? It's not happening in other threads...only the ones with reviews in a user review
I'm sure it has to do with the contents of the post but it's also likely going to be unique to your particular install... one width another mod sets, one css attribute, etc....

Load firebug on firefox and you can identify which element is causing the spacing break that I can look into for you. Otherwise it's debugging in the dark against an infinite number of options.

We'll figure it out
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #424  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:19
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by zeus_r6 View Post
As admin, I'm still not seeing this link
Did you enable the option to let users add products? If not even admins have to do it through the ACP.
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #425  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:24
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by astdirect View Post
Can we have the manufacturer displayed in the product listing ?

Update looks like some great new additions Ted, i will try it out when i get time on my live (eek) board I assume the reviews alread ywritten etc wont be lost during upgrade obviously.
Correct. None of the data is changed but please run your regular backup routine first for this or any other mod you upgrade. Things happen

As for the manufacturer, give this version a try. The css attribute to add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Attached Files
File Type: xml product_forums.xml (71.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #426  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:26
zeus_r6 zeus_r6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Originally Posted by Ted S View Post
I'm sure it has to do with the contents of the post but it's also likely going to be unique to your particular install... one width another mod sets, one css attribute, etc....

Load firebug on firefox and you can identify which element is causing the spacing break that I can look into for you. Otherwise it's debugging in the dark against an infinite number of options.

We'll figure it out
Because the issue is only showing up in IE, would firebug show the problem area? If so, am I just selecting in the post content area with firebug to see what it spits in the console?

Thanks in advance Ted
Reply With Quote
  #427  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:26
zeus_r6 zeus_r6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Originally Posted by Ted S View Post
Did you enable the option to let users add products? If not even admins have to do it through the ACP.
yes, it is enabled
Reply With Quote
  #428  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:27
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by The Ottoman View Post
The Beta version seems to be working well, and my feature request (Sort by MFG) seems flawless... so I'm happy
Turned out to be an easy add.

The style is in the css file [upload -> clientscript -> vbulletin_css -> productforums.php]. Change .pf_search .pf_st and .pf_search .pf_sh as you see fit.

Originally Posted by The Ottoman View Post
on edit: I think I found a slight bug. The MFG search defaults to the first entry. It should default to "blank" otherwise it affects the other fields.
Good catch. Here you go.
Attached Files
File Type: xml product_forums.xml (71.8 KB, 2 views)
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #429  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:29
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by zeus_r6 View Post
Because the issue is only showing up in IE, would firebug show the problem area? If so, am I just selecting in the post content area with firebug to see what it spits in the console?

Thanks in advance Ted
The issue is likely happening everywhere but IE is adding extra padding or margins somewhere which is causing the post to become too big and thus get wrapped.

Firebug will help track down your particular collision as again, it's likely going to be specific to something another mod or style change has added... unfortunately that's the nature of mods, we all write our own code and sometimes it doesn't play nice with others.
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #430  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:30
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by zeus_r6 View Post
yes, it is enabled
The trigger for the link [which shows in the upper right corner above the review results] is group permissions and the option being enabled. Did you turn it on for the admin group?
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #431  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:31
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by bigtree View Post
right on. testing it now.
How's it look? I really dig the editor myself... should have done that earlier
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #432  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:32
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by Killhunter View Post
Nice update, but addthis is the biggest shit Should be selectable please...
It is selectable. Just turn off sharing links and it goes away...

Or pop open the template prodforums_product_details [reviewing a review] and phrase prodforums_reviewposted [writing a review] and put in whatever you prefer.
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #433  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:34
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by Ted S View Post
The trigger for the link [which shows in the upper right corner above the review results] is group permissions and the option being enabled. Did you turn it on for the admin group?
Whoops, just saw your post.

Can you double check that the permission "stuck" and that the member isn't a part of a group with a "no"?

Also the link isn't the most visible given where it is. That can be changed of course...
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
  #434  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 02:51
zeus_r6 zeus_r6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Originally Posted by Ted S View Post
The issue is likely happening everywhere but IE is adding extra padding or margins somewhere which is causing the post to become too big and thus get wrapped.

Firebug will help track down your particular collision as again, it's likely going to be specific to something another mod or style change has added... unfortunately that's the nature of mods, we all write our own code and sometimes it doesn't play nice with others.
I'll dig into it with firebug and see what happens...

Originally Posted by Ted S View Post
Whoops, just saw your post.

Can you double check that the permission "stuck" and that the member isn't a part of a group with a "no"?

Also the link isn't the most visible given where it is. That can be changed of course...
Just triple checked...where exactly would the link reside?
Reply With Quote
  #435  
Old 22 Jan 2012, 03:02
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by zeus_r6 View Post
Just triple checked...where exactly would the link reside?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attac...2&d=1327136316

Very upper right of the screen is what you should see on the review overview page [productforums.php]
__________________
New features released for Product Review Forums 1.3 (4.0)
Helpful Answers (3.8) (4.0) | Limited Guest Viewing (3.8) (4.0)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:28.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: