Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Split ForumHome Page into Multiple Pages Details »
Split ForumHome Page into Multiple Pages
Mod Version: 1.5, by amykhar (Member) amykhar is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.3 Rating: (12 votes - 4.92 average) Installs: 115
Released: 14 Jul 2005 Last Update: 27 Jan 2006 Downloads: 498
Not Supported  

What it does is to allow you to take some forums off your Forum Home page and display them on a second instance of the forumhome page.

This is useful if you have a long list of forums and have some forums like archives that your users don't need to access very often.

This mod differs from Kirby's (Andreas's) in that his allows you to limit the NUMBER of forums shown per page. Mine allows you to select the specific forums to show.

I have not tested it, but I believe this will allow you to use any number of forumhome pages. You could do one per category if you show chose.

This is now a product. No code changes are required on your part. Please note that if you have microstats installed, it will yell about an uncached template. The template is not uncached. It doesn't exist. It is not creating extra queries. I am not sure how to suppress that error at this point.

My thanks to Kirby for pointing the way on how to make the functions_forumlist part of this mod a plugin instead of a code change.

Demo:

Page One
Page Two

Instructions:
1. Install the product.
2. Go to each forum and set which page to display it on. 1,2,3 etc. I have only tested 1 and 2.
3. Create links to the other instances of forumhome. Put these links where you would like them to be - in your navbar, side panel, header, tabs, whereever. Example links are the demo links posted above.
4. Contribute something to this site. Help somebody with a question or release some code of your own. Keep the giving circle going.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Split Forumhome into several Pages Andreas vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 43 30 May 2006 01:10

  #46  
Old 01 Mar 2006, 09:54
texasasl's Avatar
texasasl texasasl is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: Antwnis
I will be appreciated if somebody can tell me how I can "install" in 3.5.3 this nice job. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03 Mar 2006, 12:46
djjeffa's Avatar
djjeffa djjeffa is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: jeff
A few questions
1. did anyone do more than 2 pages sucsesfully?
2. could anybody else post a link to there site that has this hack?
3. Is there a way to show all the forums on the main page and then have sepret pages to break them down as well?
__________________
www.djjeffa.com
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03 Mar 2006, 13:48
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
1. yes
2. mine, but I haven't got a link to page 2 on the navbar right this sec cause I'm working on a style. I'm probably going to split into more than 2 pages when I get more time to organize things.
3. Probably, but not the way the hack is now written and I don't have time to investigate that at the moment.
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 03 Mar 2006, 23:26
djjeffa's Avatar
djjeffa djjeffa is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: jeff
Originally Posted by amykhar
1. yes
2. mine, but I haven't got a link to page 2 on the navbar right this sec cause I'm working on a style. I'm probably going to split into more than 2 pages when I get more time to organize things.
3. Probably, but not the way the hack is now written and I don't have time to investigate that at the moment.
thanks for the info and keep me posted lol
I did you hack mannaul from the old one you had but lost it when i upgreaded.
__________________
www.djjeffa.com
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 04 Mar 2006, 15:32
Lost_Prophet Lost_Prophet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Fantastic! Wonderful!
This mod is 100% what I wanted for the site I've just started developing!!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 14 Mar 2006, 22:37
texasasl's Avatar
texasasl texasasl is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: Antwnis
ok installed great job amykhar thanks
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 15 Mar 2006, 22:07
wiredinoc wiredinoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Hi Amy! When I saw this hack I was very excited. I have a forum where I want to split out differing subjects into two pages (using the terminology from this hack). I also have general social forums that I would like to appear on both pages.

I installed this, and it GREAT! I quickly noticed however that this might not address my problem. On the forum config screen, I tried to put "1,2" for the page on the particular social forum that I need on both pages, and "1" and "2" respectivly on the seperate discussion categories. No worky, looks like you can only put one page number in there, the instructions above got my hopes up.

I've been searching desperately for a hack/code that can do what I'm looking for. I'm still a newbie to VB, but I was hoping to be able to use forumdisplay.php to do the trick through .../forumdisplay.php?f=1&f=2, etc. Unfortunately it seems like VB dosen't want people doing this. ergo the "multiple forums, one user database" thing.

Any ideas if this hack can be modded to accept multiple pages for forums to appear on? Else, any advice or pointers you can provide would be incredibly helpful.

Thank you soo much for doing this for our community.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 15 Mar 2006, 22:09
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
I never said you could put it on two pages But, if you really want to do it that way, you could change the php to check to see if the page is 9999 and if it is, include it on all pages.
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 15 Mar 2006, 22:45
wiredinoc wiredinoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
HOLY SMOKES! You're fast! THANKS! My apologies also, didn't mean to make it sound like your instructions were wrong, they make perfect sense. I was a little excited and anxious when I found this.

I've been searching for a way to do this for the past 3 months to no avail. Adding the capability to be able to display multiple pages in the ACP for a particular forum would create the first and only fix for this dilema. In my research I have found alot of folks have been trying to find a solution to this.

In the interim, would you be able to provide the php code that would search for "9999" to display on both pages? I'm a bonehead when it comes to this stuff. This would be greatly appreciated - I promise to send you some good juju over the wire

Thanks again!!!

MD
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 16 Mar 2006, 03:06
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
In the plugin code, try this:

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace it with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Not promising - haven't tested it. Don't forget to set the forums you want on all pages to 9999
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 16 Mar 2006, 03:29
Talisman's Avatar
Talisman Talisman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
I've just found this hack and I'm so happy you created and released this. Thank you so much, Amy!
__________________
Don't wear perfume in the garden, unless you want to be pollinated by bees.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 16 Mar 2006, 08:42
wiredinoc wiredinoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Amy, you are absolutely an angel sent from heaven. Your generousity is simply amazing, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart. You can have my first born, or whatever it is that folks say around here

It worked witht the exception of the 9999. When you put that in the forum config, hit save, go back and it turned to 127. No big, just re-worked it to 99 instead.

Hack of the decade in my book. Consider adding the 9999 functionality, or multiple entries per forum to the next update. This will be HUGE! Many lost soles are drifting between .org and .com looking for this.

Thank you ma'am.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 16 Mar 2006, 09:10
Lost_Prophet Lost_Prophet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I've successfully used this for an 11 page forum as you can see here: http://forums.hybrid-gamers.com

However something I've now only just realised doesn't work and I'm hoping that there's a way around it ...

Can you apply a forum theme to a page?
As you can see from the site I have 'game' pages. Each forum (and its associated CMS frontpage) has a customised theme (well, they will do - they're just copies of the original at the moment) but they won't display on the main page that shows the game's forums.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 16 Mar 2006, 16:04
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
Lost_Prophet, that would take some doing because the page you are looking at isn't a forumdisplay page, it's the forumhome page. I think the easiest solution would be to pass the them you want to use in the link to the page.

http://www.hybrid-gamers.com/forums/...e=6&styleid=22 for example.

Don't know if it'll work like you want, but it's worth a shot.
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 16 Mar 2006, 16:05
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
Originally Posted by wiredinoc
Amy, you are absolutely an angel sent from heaven. Your generousity is simply amazing, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart. You can have my first born, or whatever it is that folks say around here

It worked witht the exception of the 9999. When you put that in the forum config, hit save, go back and it turned to 127. No big, just re-worked it to 99 instead.

Hack of the decade in my book. Consider adding the 9999 functionality, or multiple entries per forum to the next update. This will be HUGE! Many lost soles are drifting between .org and .com looking for this.

Thank you ma'am.
if you know how to use phpmyadmin, change the page field in the forum table to an int 10 instead of a tinyint 4. That should give you room to grow
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: