Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Post Background Color Details »
Post Background Color
Mod Version: 1.03, by Marco van Herwaarden (Member) Marco van Herwaarden is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.2 Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 40
Released: 06 Dec 2005 Last Update: 17 Jul 2006 Downloads: 201
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

Post Background Color - Version 1.03b

Hack: Post Background Color
Version: v1.03b
Author: MarcoH64

Description
Create Color Schemes, set specific colors for different styles to match the styles colors the best. Give usergroups permissions to attach
a color scheme as background to a post. Great to allow Admins/Moderators to highlight important posts in a thread for example.

Features
- Create Color Schemes
- Override the default color for a Color Scheme for each Style if needed.
- User Usergroup permissions to allow/deny the use of background colors
- On posting/editing, optionally choose a background color
- Choose (vB Options) if you want the background color to be applied to the messagetext, the postbit info, or both.
- Create background images or gradients (thanks to applehat for the idea )

Changelog:
17-7-2006 v1.03b
- Fixed uninstall code. Space was missing in the DELETE FROMdatastore.
(if you have currently installed 1.03, then please do an overwrite install with version 1.03b prior to uninstallation. If you are already uninstalling with 1.03 and run into a SQL-error, see post http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=1032141&postcount=33 to fix an aborted uninstall)
7-12-2005 v1.03
- Increased size of colorcode in tables to support larger values so we can also use images and gradients
- Changed the postbit from background-color to background style attribute to support the above.
7-12-2005 v1.02
- Removed &nbsp from dropdown menu
- Fixed bug where colorscheme could not be reset to 'None' once a color was set.
5-12-2005 v1.01
- Fixed missing new column for post table in install routines.
5-12-2005 v1.00
- Initial Release

Notes
Copyright 2005 MarcoH64
This Modification may not be redistributed in whole or significant part or changed without prior agreement of author.
Please don't forget to click Install.
If you like this work and would like to support the author, donations are always welcome at Paypal: Marcoh64 AT gmail.com

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	mh_pbc_color_schemes.jpg
Views:	496
Size:	69.0 KB
ID:	38931   Click image for larger version

Name:	mh_pbc_style_override.JPG
Views:	555
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	38932   Click image for larger version

Name:	mh_pbc_new_post.JPG
Views:	724
Size:	24.4 KB
ID:	38933   Click image for larger version

Name:	mh_pbc_important_post.JPG
Views:	1139
Size:	44.9 KB
ID:	38934  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Default Post Icons For ANY Background Color tommyturnage vBulletin Smilie Sets 27 13 Aug 2014 08:43

  #31  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 18:13
Nathan2006's Avatar
Nathan2006 Nathan2006 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by chkdgate
Did you try reverting your templates?
Hi,

before I make any changes to code I always take a full copy of the
code then if I get any problems I just delete all the code from
the template and replace it all with the original code

This is something to do with the uninstall of the product not he templates

And because I am not a coder I don't know how to uninstall it
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 19:45
chkdgate's Avatar
chkdgate chkdgate is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
PM the author of this hack. I don't want to tell you to do something and then mess up your board. Let me know what happens.
__________________
my blog|my forum

Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 17 Jul 2006, 14:18
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Originally Posted by Nathan2006
I have tried installing this but not working for me

So after trying to un-install the product I am getting this error:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thank you for any help
I have looked into this and there is a space missing from one of the uninstall steps causing a SQL-error. The error you quoted however can only happen if you try to uninstall twice. You would have gotten a different error the first time.

To fix your current situation (this only applies if you tried to uninstall twice, will upload a fixed version in a few minutes for those that still have to start uninstallation), do the following:

Go to AdminCP->Plugin System->Manage Products, then:
- Select 'Edit' from the dropdown menu behind the Post Background Color product.
- On the edit page you will find 3 rows with each 2 columns with install/uninstall code.
- The right column contains the uninstall codes
- Change the uninstall for version 1.00 (the first row) to contain only (overwrite the current code):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

- Remove all the code from the version 1.01 uninstall code box (right column, second row)
- Save the product (use the bottom Save button!)

Uninstall again.

Last edited by Marco van Herwaarden; 17 Jul 2006 at 14:22.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 17 Jul 2006, 14:31
Nathan2006's Avatar
Nathan2006 Nathan2006 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Which code do I need to replace?

Uninstall code version 1.00


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

With this: ?

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If I'm doing it right I get a page cannot be found?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 18 Jul 2006, 18:38
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Originally Posted by Marco van Herwaarden
- Change the uninstall for version 1.00 (the first row) to contain only (overwrite the current code):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


- Remove all the code from the version 1.01 uninstall code box (right column, second row)
I don't understand how you can get confused.

When finished, the first row of uninstall code should only contain that delete from datastore, and the second and third unstill rows should be empty.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 18 Jul 2006, 18:54
Nathan2006's Avatar
Nathan2006 Nathan2006 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by Marco van Herwaarden
I don't understand how you can get confused.

When finished, the first row of uninstall code should only contain that delete from datastore, and the second and third unstill rows should be empty.
Hi,

I have tried this (Screenshot 1)

Then after clicking save I get this error (Screenshot 2)

Im doing every correct.

What would happen if I installed your updated product
and tried uninstalling?

Thanks for your help
Attached Images
File Type: jpg uninstall.JPG (51.9 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg notfound.JPG (33.5 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 19 Jul 2006, 16:22
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
That looks more like a server config problem. What happens if you try to save it without making a change?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 19 Jul 2006, 18:07
Nathan2006's Avatar
Nathan2006 Nathan2006 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by Marco van Herwaarden
That looks more like a server config problem. What happens if you try to save it without making a change?
Hi,

I just tried and I receive the same page not found

Is there anyway I can fix this?

Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 19 Jul 2006, 18:18
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Then it is very likely that it is a server issue.

Please try first by turning off GZip compression in your vBulletin Options.

Other things that might cause something like this:
- A .htaccess rewrite rule playing games
- mod_security settings if this is installed
- memory settings (doubt it in this case)

I very much doubt that this got anything to do with this modification. Can you (fake) edit other products? Are you having more problems with sometimes getting this kind of errors.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 20 Jul 2006, 22:03
Nathan2006's Avatar
Nathan2006 Nathan2006 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by Marco van Herwaarden
Then it is very likely that it is a server issue.

Please try first by turning off GZip compression in your vBulletin Options.

Other things that might cause something like this:
- A .htaccess rewrite rule playing games
- mod_security settings if this is installed
- memory settings (doubt it in this case)

I very much doubt that this got anything to do with this modification. Can you (fake) edit other products? Are you having more problems with sometimes getting this kind of errors.
I got it sorted

Its was something to do with the mod_security setup on the server
and they have sorted it all and everything is good

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 19 Dec 2007, 11:43
xcesiv xcesiv is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
is it possible to have this setup to change the backgrond automatically every second post.

Not making it user changable tho
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 21 Dec 2007, 11:38
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
No, this modification is not intended for that.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12 Jan 2008, 18:38
Derek Chai Derek Chai is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Possible for vB 3.7? It's
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Instead of <td class="alt2" width="175">
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 23 Feb 2008, 18:29
TCE Killa TCE Killa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Can this be updated to 3.6.X please? I got everything working on my 3.6.8 version, just can't change the Usergroup Permissions. But everything is there.... Maybe there is away to add the Usergroup Permissions in the Plug-Ins? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 17 Mar 2008, 13:09
Scamorz Scamorz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
How i can make it compatible with 3.6.8 version???!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: