Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy Details »
DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy
Mod Version: 1.50, by Digital Jedi (Coder/Designer) Digital Jedi is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (20 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 151
Released: 02 Jul 2008 Last Update: 20 Aug 2008 Downloads: 1360
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

**As with most template edits, this modification is not version specific and will work on any vBulletin for vB3. You can find the vB4 version here.**

Ever felt your postbit_legacy template was just too long? Or maybe you'd like to add more content to your postbit_legacy, but you don't like the cluttered look or extended length of the post, especially when most posts are only a handful of sentences? Almost every decent modification here on vB.org has the option to add a link or a display to your postbit templates, and you've likely struggled, as I have, to come up with just the info you want to display, likely excluding things you thought would look real nice, but just couldn't justify the room for.

Now I've seen several good modifications that address this problem, and all of them are pretty nice. I've seen everything from a drop-down menu that displays the content, to a box that can be opened and closed just underneath the avatar. All of them are practical in their own way, and here's one more way that I worked out using a script from Dynamic Drive's website called Tab Content Script. This cleaned up my postbit_legacy just the way I wanted, and let me add even more content then I would have originally intended. It also allowed me to organize content in whatever manner I wished. I love it and I think you will too.


Screenshots


Live Demo
Click any of the grey dots beneath the user's avatars.


Difficulty: Intermediate
A few things you should know before moving forward. The instructions for this mod are not your standard template modification instructions. It's going to presume that you've edited your postbit_legacy template before and that you're somewhat familiar with its content, with HTML and how to wrap <if condition=""> conditionals. So it's not going to be a "look for this line of code, add this under it" kind of traditional tutorial. What I'm going to do is show you the basic code, how to implement it and then let you do with it what you want. That is, after all, the reason I came up with mod in first place, and I know everyone wont have the same postbit content and/or will want to set theirs up differently.

With that said, knowledge of how to modify your templates and basic HTML coding is something every vBulletin administrator should have. I'm not a coder. I'm a complete hack. But I know enough to take some of the wealth of code snippets available on the web and attempt to use them in new and inventive ways. Administrating a vB forum is that much more satisfying as a result.


Installation
To add this to your forum requires you to upload some files, make one edit to your headinclude template and one to your postbit_legacy template. If you don't know what postbit_legacy does, it's the template that controls the look of your posts when you've chosen to have avatars and user information appear to the left hand side of your posts. If you don't use that look for your forum, but instead use the one where avatars appear above your posts, then that means you use the postbit template, and this modification wasn't designed to look right on that template. (Though we have had a few users give it a try.)

Step 1.
First things first. After downloading the Attachment 83351 file, extract the contents and upload the postbit_tabs folder in your forum's root directory (Your forum root is the folder you have physically installed vBulletin in, which means that for some folks, this isn't the same thing as your site root.)

Step 2.
Right click and download this JavaScript file from the Dynamic Drive website: tabcontent.js (You can also download it from this page.) Upload it to the postbit_tabs folder you just added to your website.

Step 3.
Now to edit your headinclude template. Go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> <<>> >>> headinclude.

Add the following block of code to the very bottom. Remember to keep the copyright intact for legal use.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Step 4.
Now to access your postbit_legacy template, go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> <<>> >>> Postbit Templates >>> postbit_legacy.

From here, your going to add a basic set of code from which you can then customize it. You can pretty much add it anywhere in the template, but most likely your going to want to add it just below the avatar. If that's the case, your avatar code is most likely going to look something like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add this basic set of code. This block of code will be your physical tab content.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now go to your forum and see if your tabs are displaying properly and your not getting any errors. You should have five dot tabs that display five different sets of information when clicked.

Final Steps
Now comes the hard part. Now you have to decide what you want to put in those places called Tab 1 Content:Block A, etc. This is where knowledge of your postbit_legacy template comes into play. Your now going to move whatever content you want in the respective tabs from their current location into the tabs. This is entirely up to you, but you can use my forum as a starting point. The following posts also have some tips to help you along the way.

Post 2 has a Basic Breakdown of what the tabs do, a tutorial on how to add more tabs, default snippets of code that you can move into the tabs containers as well some snippets from common hacks.

Post 3 has some links to other sites that have implemented this hack to give you an idea of what can be done with it. And it has some additional images to use in place of the default dots.

Post 5 has Frequently Asked Questions for most problems you would encounter.




Known Bugs
There is one minor issue with the tabs that only occurs when using the AJAX quick reply and inline editing. Actually it's two issues, but I've only seen one or the other on my live site vs. my demo board. In one instance, the entire content of all your tabs displays all at once when posting/editing using AJAX. This is not a huge deal, as the only person who sees it do that is the person doing the posting/editing. And it will return to normal anytime he reloads or refreshes the page. The other instance is when after posting/editing through AJAX, no tab content appears, except the dot tabs. This is also not a huge deal as the same thing will happen here too; only the poster sees it and it will look normal anytime he returns or reloads the page. I think it's a minor trade off for the sleek look it gives your forum the rest of the time.

Upgrade Instructions
For those using the 1.00 version of this modification, please see this post for upgrade instructions.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit Tabs Screenie.png
Views:	13938
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	83352   Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit-Tabs-Screenie.gif
Views:	14227
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	83353  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements DJ's Translate a Thread in a Google Pop-Up Window Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 42 11 Jun 2009 12:48
DJ's Styles - Rubescence Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.7 Styles 23 02 Mar 2009 10:50

  #16  
Old 03 Jul 2008, 01:59
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
very nice mod

/me bookmarked
__________________

Love and support one another #vote2020
I offer Managed IT Services in Kansas
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03 Jul 2008, 08:41
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
11 installs in 24 hours. I don't know the average rate, but I'm glad you all are liking it so far.

After I address one of my older threads updates, I hope to add some alternate background images for you to download. Also, I'd like to see your sites if you wouldn't mind posting them so I can add them to the alternate examples post towards the start of the thread.

Oh, feel free to post your testimonials on how difficult you found the install.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03 Jul 2008, 11:00
giraffesyo's Avatar
giraffesyo giraffesyo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Real name: Michael
=D Thanks will install later =]

MOTM
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03 Jul 2008, 18:19
ssslippy's Avatar
ssslippy ssslippy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Your add a header tag in the middle of a users page. This is a no no.

Also users should be inserting the information in the CSS file directly into the vbulletin extra css fields to maximize load times.

Also please follow the standards of vb, the javascript should be under /clientscript.
__________________
Immortal Guild - My Guilds Website

Last edited by ssslippy; 03 Jul 2008 at 18:28.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04 Jul 2008, 07:43
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
What I've done is make the instructions as simple as possible for users with less experience to be able to use this as a starting point for other things and can easily edit/remove later. Admins with more coding experience can put the contents where it is more suited, as I have with a number of modifications here on vB.org.

There is no such thing as a "no no" here. It works, and they can fix it as they become more knowledgeable. That is, if they come to even care about such things. Knowledge of validation and the like come later, as you learn more. You don't slam people with it all at once for a perceived sense of etiquette that doesn't exist. People who know better, can adjust it themselves, with little to no effort.

The javascript of a great many mods here on this site are not in the clientscript folder for one very good reason. In case they want to remove it or replace it, they can easily find it. There's no reason I should have to put the javascript anywhere specific, for functionality or validation reasons.

If you wanted to make a suggestion, that's one thing. But the way you've phrased it is more reproving then instructive, with the spirit more inclined to engender confrontation then edification.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04 Jul 2008, 12:02
choccyclaire's Avatar
choccyclaire choccyclaire is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
This looks like just what I need! Will give a try later tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04 Jul 2008, 15:22
PoetJA-1975's Avatar
PoetJA-1975 PoetJA-1975 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Real name: Jacquii Cooke
Marked as INSTALLED - thanx again for the sharing!

Jacquii.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05 Jul 2008, 23:47
thunder_sti thunder_sti is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Real name: Ace
Marked Installed.

But when I click on a dot to view the info, it refreshes the pages and takes me to the begining of a thread.

Any ideas, on how can I change this just like on your site. click on dot, info is there.

Thanks
__________________
***Warning***10sec***Warning***

www.boricua-racing.com
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06 Jul 2008, 01:20
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Would it be possible to see a link to your site where your having the problem?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07 Jul 2008, 00:05
stickskills stickskills is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Ah, nevermind this, I found the actual issue with the code. :P

Greaaaaaaat mod!

One question I do have though, how would I go about making the Arcade only show the individual blocks of each game the user is champion of, rather than showing the block & text combo?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07 Jul 2008, 01:00
TheInsaneManiac TheInsaneManiac is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I like this. Is it possible to get a guide for the regular postbit?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07 Jul 2008, 01:34
stickskills stickskills is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
The issue on hand that I'm experiencing is as follows.

If the link is just something regular like...

http://stickskills.com/v2/showthread.php?t=1

Only one dot shows up, but you can still click the rest if you know where they're at.

If the link is something like...

http://stickskills.com/v2/showthread.php?t=1?

Then all of the dots actually show up.

Is there a fix for this?

Last edited by stickskills; 07 Jul 2008 at 14:57.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08 Jul 2008, 11:43
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by stickskills View Post
Ah, nevermind this, I found the actual issue with the code. :P

Greaaaaaaat mod!

One question I do have though, how would I go about making the Arcade only show the individual blocks of each game the user is champion of, rather than showing the block & text combo?
Well, if your running ibProArcade, then that's controlled in the Admin CP for your Arcade.


Originally Posted by TheInsaneManiac View Post
I like this. Is it possible to get a guide for the regular postbit?
If you want it for posbit, there's no real change in the code. The only difference would be the style choices you decide to make for it, as it will probably look a tad odd on postbit without a little tweaking. But as far as coding goes, there wouldn't be any changes.


Originally Posted by stickskills View Post
The issue on hand that I'm experiencing is as follows.

If the link is just something regular like...

http://stickskills.com/v2/showthread.php?t=1

Only one dot shows up, but you can still click the rest if you know where they're at.

If the link is something like...

http://stickskills.com/v2/showthread.php?t=1?

Then all of the dots actually show up.

Is there a fix for this?
They both seem to show up fine for me, in both IE and FireFox. What browser are you using?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08 Jul 2008, 21:24
stickskills stickskills is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
I'm using Firefox 3.0. It shows up fine with the question mark attached, but only shows the first dot on the original.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09 Jul 2008, 16:04
JAuthement JAuthement is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Digital Jedi;

Instead of using dots, I would like to use tabs( eg System Info Personal Info Awards Misc.).
Can this be accomplished? I would greatly appreciate the help!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: