Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 29 Nov 2012, 14:08
benzwm02 benzwm02 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Have vBulletin not open a new window when links are clicked

Does anyone know how to edit vbulletin 5 so when links are clicked they do not open a new browser page?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29 Nov 2012, 14:33
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
Are you wanting the links to open in the same window or are you wanting the links not to open?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29 Nov 2012, 14:33
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Change the link property in the css (i think) and add target="_parent" or "_self"
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29 Nov 2012, 17:02
benzwm02 benzwm02 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Originally Posted by ProSportsForums View Post
Are you wanting the links to open in the same window or are you wanting the links not to open?
The links to open in the same window, not to open a new browser page.

--------------- Added 29 Nov 2012 at 17:03 ---------------

Originally Posted by Simon Lloyd View Post
Change the link property in the css (i think) and add target="_parent" or "_self"
Could you or someone show me specifically where? I am not a coder
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29 Nov 2012, 17:22
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
You cannot do it via CSS (unless this is something I have never heard of). You could use javascript to make all external links open in the same window (google it - "javascript external link same window"), I believe.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29 Nov 2012, 17:30
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
lol didnt even realise i'd typed css - forget i spoke

--------------- Added 29 Nov 2012 at 17:35 ---------------

It might sound daft but try this http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=239918 the code in it is simple, it's a plugin to replace target="_blank" so links open in the same window, if you cant import the product just copy the plugin code and create your own with the same hook.
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29 Nov 2012, 18:05
nhawk nhawk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by Simon Lloyd View Post
lol didnt even realise i'd typed css - forget i spoke

--------------- Added 29 Nov 2012 at 17:35 ---------------

It might sound daft but try this http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=239918 the code in it is simple, it's a plugin to replace target="_blank" so links open in the same window, if you cant import the product just copy the plugin code and create your own with the same hook.
You do realize that most, if not all of the hooks are gone in vB5? And that those that do exist don't work the same as vB4 hooks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29 Nov 2012, 18:52
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Originally Posted by nhawk View Post
You do realize that most, if not all of the hooks are gone in vB5? And that those that do exist don't work the same as vB4 hooks.
No i didnt, i dont have vb5, all the same the plugin code will work it's just a matter of finding the right trigger for parsed bbcode/links
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30 Nov 2012, 02:15
benzwm02 benzwm02 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Originally Posted by Simon Lloyd View Post
No i didnt, i dont have vb5, all the same the plugin code will work it's just a matter of finding the right trigger for parsed bbcode/links
I went to that link and imported it as a product. However, it did not work.

How do I make it make it into a product that will?

--------------- Added 30 Nov 2012 at 02:18 ---------------

Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
You cannot do it via CSS (unless this is something I have never heard of). You could use javascript to make all external links open in the same window (google it - "javascript external link same window"), I believe.
Do you mean something like this:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=286030

--------------- Added 30 Nov 2012 at 02:22 ---------------

Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
You cannot do it via CSS (unless this is something I have never heard of). You could use javascript to make all external links open in the same window (google it - "javascript external link same window"), I believe.
Do you mean something like this:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=286030
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30 Nov 2012, 02:30
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Yes, I mean something like what is in that mod thread. However, it is for vB4, so you'll have to just add it to your template in vb5 if you don't know how to upgrade a vb4 mod to vb5.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30 Nov 2012, 15:46
benzwm02 benzwm02 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Yes, I mean something like what is in that mod thread. However, it is for vB4, so you'll have to just add it to your template in vb5 if you don't know how to upgrade a vb4 mod to vb5.
Which template should I add it to? There is no headinclude in bulletin 5.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Nov 2012, 16:21
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
You can still use the same method to figure out the template. To find the template to modify, do this - vboptions > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments > set to Yes . Then go back to your page and view the source code and you will see the name of the template called around your part of the code. (Sometimes the template is the one mentioned at the very top of the page source.)
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30 Nov 2012, 17:24
benzwm02 benzwm02 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
You can still use the same method to figure out the template. To find the template to modify, do this - vboptions > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments > set to Yes . Then go back to your page and view the source code and you will see the name of the template called around your part of the code. (Sometimes the template is the one mentioned at the very top of the page source.)
I clicked yes to add template name in html. I am not sure if I did the rest of the steps correctly. What page am I going back to view the source code for? I searched for headinclude again but could not find anything. Can I just add that javascript somewhere in the head template?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30 Nov 2012, 19:04
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Well, the <head> section is in the header template. Isn't that where you want to add the javascript?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini Mods Open Local links in same window, External in new window SweCastel vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 19 08 Nov 2013 14:01
BB Code Enhancements Open local links in same window; external links in new window djbaxter vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications 9 05 Aug 2012 14:39
Mini Mods Open all links in the same window Retal vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 17 24 Mar 2011 23:11



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:05.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: