Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Multiple Forums using a single user table Details »
Multiple Forums using a single user table
Mod Version: 1.00, by e2s (Member) e2s is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.4 Rating: (3 votes - 3.67 average) Installs: 48
Released: 13 Jun 2006 Last Update: Never Downloads: 5
Not Supported  

This was originaly done in 3.0.9 by westpointer you can view that thread here

This Modification is for VB3.5.4 This is not supported but I will give as much help as I possible can.

I have this working now on 2 sites

The main site is http://forums.everything2stroke.com

Slave sites are
http://forums.everythingmx.com
and
http://forums.everythingduners.com

After a successfull install of this modification your sites will share User, PM, and sesson data.

This thread will detail how to have a single login for multiple forums. It makes the following assumptions:
  • A valid vbulletin license exists for each install
  • All forums will be on the same server
  • One database will contain all the tables
A valid vbulletin license exists for each install


Follow these steps

1.) Download your new copy of VB that contains a seperate license key
2.) Go to /includes/config.php.new rename the file to config.php and make necessary changes to the file. See VB Directions. Make sure this code has a different setting than the master site for table prefix.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

3.) Run the vb install from the new directory (/www/new_forums/install/install.php)

4.) During the install, be sure NOT to empty the tables. If you have any doubt about what this means, stop NOW! If you empty the tables, you will lose all of your existing data from a prior install!

5.) Download all files and directories to your PC from the new install location.

6.) You will need a tool to do a mass Search and replace on all files. I use WildEdit. Here is what you will do using a tool like Wild Edit.
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "user] Replace with [" . "vb3_user] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site. 110 Files modified 599 Total changes made
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "strikes] Replace with [" . "vb3_strikes] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site 4 Files modified 8 Total changes made
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "pm] Replace with [" . "vb3_pm] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site 16 Files modified 77 Total changes made
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "session] Replace with [" . "vb3_session] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site 20 Files modified 31 Total changes made

Now to modify some of the code.

In /include/class_dm.php

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add below change vb3_ to your master site prefix:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Go to /include/class_dm_pm.php

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with making vb3_ the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Go to /include/class_dm_user.php

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


That is all the code modification.


The only other item I did is remove a couple cron jobs.

Go into Scheduled tasks then to Scheduled Task Manager

Delete the following CRON jobs from the Slave Site

User Promotions*
Birthdays
Activation Reminder Email

This will eliminate members getting emails from the primary and secondary sites
*not sure if this will duplicate efforts between primary and secondary sites I have it running on both sites still waiting to see if it causes any issues.


Please post here if you have any problems and questions I will try my best to keep up with everyone to help you through this. Once you get the code done the first time you can just do a mass search and replace on your license code and you can be up and running in minutes with a new site.

This is my first major modification so I hope I posted this all correct, again Thanks to Westpointer for his original work without his post this would not have been possible.

Thanks

UPDATE:

Please make this changes it will allow you to make changes to usergroups in the subscription section and when editing a user.

admincp/adminfunctions.php
Search for

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #136  
Old 29 May 2008, 04:29
sandri sandri is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Hi all,

tested it with 3.7x it looks ok.

but i have one question.

When i login into forum1 and then i go to forum2, i must login again. :-(

Is auto login possible?

Only once login for all forums?

THX for help. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 16 Sep 2008, 20:03
Quarterbore Quarterbore is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I may need to check my sanity on why I am asking this but I assume this should work even if one board is a 3.6.x site and the second is a 3.7.x. site?

I think I need to set up a test envionment and try it as I have a significant need for this now so time to give it a go.
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 02 Oct 2008, 07:47
Kaelon's Avatar
Kaelon Kaelon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Does this hack share session data, and if so, does that mean that when one site reports a user logged in, the other site will also show them logged in and online?
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 23:38
b3hr0uz b3hr0uz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
i get this error while registering in my slave forum


Fatal error: Existing data passed is not an array
Called set_existing in [path]/register.php on line 421
in [path]/includes/class_dm.php on line 235
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 12 Dec 2008, 09:54
chikkoo chikkoo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Hi..

This is a very good Mod, I like it and installing now in vb3.74. My observations are as below:

1) Avatars are not appearing, similar case in Profile Friends.
2) Slave site is showing the Master site Online Users, this should be avoided.
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 18 Dec 2008, 21:07
Chunky Monkey Chunky Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Has anyone got this working properly with 3.7.4?

Is there a way to share some of the forums, as well?
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 09 Apr 2009, 03:12
shri shri is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Hi - I've tried to contact the author to see if they'll upgrade to the latest version of VB as a paid service, but no avail. Any ideas if this is compatible, or if there is an alternative to this for 3.8.x users?
__________________
GeoExpat.Com: Forums, Classifieds, Personals and Photo Galleries for expats
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 12 Apr 2009, 23:26
wmlvb's Avatar
wmlvb wmlvb is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
I would love tis in 3.8 too!!
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 24 Jul 2009, 16:38
xlguy's Avatar
xlguy xlguy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Anyone fancy doing this for 3.8x?
__________________
xlguy
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 12 Aug 2009, 18:00
sR->Shaun sR->Shaun is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I am currently working on a 3.8 version. I have the tables shared and it's working in terms of logging in. Acutally a lot of it works. But I'm getting insert errors when trying to create a new thread.


*edit this might be because I made new forums before importing the usertable.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 13 Aug 2009, 04:06
sR->Shaun sR->Shaun is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Finished. So far so good.

Mod installation seems to be exactly the same in terms of edits for 3.8.1
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 25 Oct 2009, 10:16
sv1cec sv1cec is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Real name: John
OK, I've asked these questions in the thread for vB 3.0.x and got no answers, so I would post it here as well, since there are a few things that you guys may have seen and could save me the trouble. Here are my questions:

I would like to know how the "sessions" are handled. I have some questions here and I would appreciate if someone can answer them for me.

Let's assume two sites, A and B. With this hack, all user information is kept in the "user" table in database A.

A member of site A logs in Site B. Obviously, since the last login time is stored in the shared user table, the last login time entered in the table, will be common for both sites, correct? So if the member comes back after two days and logs-in in site A, the last login time will be the last login time from his visit in site B. That means that if the user asks to see the new posts since his last visit (for example), the posts shown to him will not be correct, he will miss the posts between the last time he visited site A and the time he visited site B. Am I correct on this? It is of course possible to alter the user table to have separate columns for these time parameters for site A and site B.

Another question: again, let's suppose that a member logs in site B, does some work there and then follows a link to site A. Will he still be logged in in site A or will he need to re-log in in the other site? In other words, how are cookies handled? And what difference will it make if someone uses the "Remember me" checkbox in one site?
__________________

John
SV1CEC
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 25 Oct 2009, 13:20
MagicThemeParks's Avatar
MagicThemeParks MagicThemeParks is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Great questions John!

I'm keeping my eyes open for the answers as I'm researching this as well
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 08 Nov 2009, 09:17
betts02's Avatar
betts02 betts02 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
any update on a new vesion of this mod or if it works on 3.8 and above ?
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 14 Aug 2010, 09:59
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Would it be possible to get this to work for VB 4? I'll gladly pay.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:25.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: