Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
CERBERUS: 1 vB4: runs multiple domains with custom styles, forums, universal login Details »
CERBERUS: 1 vB4: runs multiple domains with custom styles, forums, universal login
Mod Version: 1.00, by ibautocommunity (Coder) ibautocommunity is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (22 votes - 4.91 average) Installs: 136
Released: 24 Nov 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1432
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations Is in Beta Stage  

***Attention: This product is currently UNSUPPORTED***

We would like to release an Alpha version of the vBulletin4 Cerberus product. This product allows you to create one vBulletin4 installation which can power unlimited number of domains and sub-domains; while allowing to customize each domain differently to make it look like different sites or sections. Domains will have one universal admincp and user login information.

***Example***
www.supercoolautoforum.com - main site, all forums
ferarri.supercoolautoforum.com - custom style and forums, same login
bmw.supercoolautoforum.com- custom style and forums, same login
honda.supercoolautoforum.com - custom style and forums, same login
supercoolmotorcycleforum.com - custom style and forums, same login

*** Why are you releasing this, I want more features?! ***

This is a very simple product; we believe that the basic functionality provided in this product will satisfy a lot of communities - and since the product is simple - it will be easy to extend it and modify it to work for your custom community requirements.

Overview of Current Features:
  • One shared installation of vBulletin 4
  • One shared user account on all domains
  • Custom Style for each domain
  • Custom Forum listing for each domain
Known Issues:
  • CMS and Blogs are currently not configured to have special domain-specific categories and sections. CMS is shared across all sites although the appearance will be different for each domain.


Project Contributors: s.lauderdale;m.biddle;a.ahn; anders

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #406  
Old 25 Apr 2011, 11:48
Arthran Arthran is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Also a couple of other points.

1) Remember to set your css as file format, this is the only way I could get the theme to load on my subdomains.

2) be carefull with your forum layout, if you nest forums too deep Cerberus wont load those forums. so far I have found anything inside a catagory will not load, although a catagory will, this may be something I am doing wrong, but it is slightly frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #407  
Old 01 May 2011, 03:13
Shogo Shogo is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Hi

I have a little problem with this mod

I use this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But...
When I post a message anywhere in the board (f20 or others), the message goes to f44 (restricted area for the admin)

Do you know why?

Am I doing something wrong?
__________________
http://www.foudeconcours.com
Reply With Quote
  #408  
Old 03 May 2011, 06:35
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Arrow

Lets assume you have this config:
domain 1, forum 1, forum c
domain 2, forum 2, forum c
domain x, all forums

You make a new thread in forum 1, it will be marked as read in domain 1 but:
- it will be marked as unread in domain x
- it will show up in "what's new" of domain 1

You make a new thread in forum c (from domain 1), it will be marked as read in domain 1 but:
- it will me amrked as unread in domain 2 and domain x
- it will show up in "what's new" of domain 1

Anyone got around this problem?

PS: This happens using "inactivity/cookie based" Thread/Forum Read Marking Type. I will check and post back how it goes with database marking.
Edit: Database marking (automatic) solves this issue.

Last edited by CvP; 03 May 2011 at 07:00.
Reply With Quote
  #409  
Old 03 May 2011, 06:37
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Originally Posted by Shogo View Post
Hi

I have a little problem with this mod

I use this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But...
When I post a message anywhere in the board (f20 or others), the message goes to f44 (restricted area for the admin)

Do you know why?

Am I doing something wrong?
The mod posted here is really buggy. you need to apply all the fixes described through out the thread or use the XML provided by KW802 (look for it a few pages back)
Reply With Quote
  #410  
Old 04 May 2011, 02:11
Shogo Shogo is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Hi thanks
Now it's better but I still have a problem!


I explain

That's my configuration

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Website 1 : foudeconcours (primary) (blue style)
Website 2 : lesgratuits (red style)

When I'm on the 2nd website (everything is ok : style, ...) but when I click in a "forum", the style come back to the website 1 (blue style) and all the links are website 1 again!

Hard to explain

2nd weird thing : http://www.lesgratuits.be/forum is not working (redirected to website 1) but lesgratuis.be/forum/forum.php is working!!!

Can you look here ? :

Website 1 : http://www.foudeconcours.com/forum
Website 2 : http://www.lesgratuits.be/forum/forum.php

Example of not working links : http://www.lesgratuits.be/forum/support-et-questions/


PS : I have VBSEO but I don't know if it's not working because of that?!

Thank you
__________________
http://www.foudeconcours.com
Reply With Quote
  #411  
Old 04 May 2011, 07:30
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
The first thing to do is disable ALL other mods/plugins except vbcms, vbblogs and vbcerb. Then see if this problem exists or not.
Reply With Quote
  #412  
Old 07 May 2011, 01:31
Shogo Shogo is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
looks like i had to desactivate vbseo and reactivate it ! strange!!!
__________________
http://www.foudeconcours.com
Reply With Quote
  #413  
Old 07 May 2011, 06:39
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Does anyone know why moving the plugin codes to php files cause so many errors?
Reply With Quote
  #414  
Old 08 May 2011, 19:54
Derekclarke's Avatar
Derekclarke Derekclarke is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: N.Devon
Ok, I have Just installed a New Vb forum from scratch, and used this as the first Modification on the Forum.

I have example.com as my main forum and test.example.com (test.example.com is a parked domain)

i can visit either site, and all looks spot on, it uses a different style sheet for each domain as expected.

however, i get this on the main domain you do not have permission to access this page.

on the second i can post, but if i go into a catagory in the second domain and post, the post always shows in the last catagory and not the one i am trying to post in.

anyone got any ideas how to resolve this?
Reply With Quote
  #415  
Old 08 May 2011, 21:06
Shogo Shogo is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Do you have installed this version of the mod?

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=221
__________________
http://www.foudeconcours.com
Reply With Quote
  #416  
Old 10 May 2011, 13:44
Derekclarke's Avatar
Derekclarke Derekclarke is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: N.Devon
Originally Posted by Shogo View Post
Do you have installed this version of the mod?

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=221
TY, i had the one at the top of the thread installed.

I have changed to the one you have linked too and it works
Reply With Quote
  #417  
Old 11 May 2011, 09:34
angeljs's Avatar
angeljs angeljs is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Angela
Originally Posted by iBaker View Post
I don't believe it....IT WORKS

I setup one domain and installed a default vb
Imported the plugin
Added a new forum category and a new forum in that category - this gave me the default Category (id1) and Forum plus 1 more Category (id4) and Forum
Went to the admin CP - Settings and at the bottom was the settings for this mod
Entered the following for 2 domains (1 master and 1 slave) - using domainx as a substitute for my domain with 2 different extensions:
[domainx.com]
bbtitle=Domain X Home
bburl=domainx.com
homeurl=domainx.com
catids=1
styleid=1
cookiedomain=.domainx.com
facebookappid=Your_appid_here
facebooksecret=Your_fb_secret_here

I then followed the cpanel steps in http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...8&postcount=30
How would I get this to work with a subdomain, please?
Reply With Quote
  #418  
Old 13 May 2011, 23:13
Dzi13 Dzi13 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Hi,

do I need to have vBulletin code files on all subdomains or i need only one files location?
Reply With Quote
  #419  
Old 14 May 2011, 00:45
karlm's Avatar
karlm karlm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Karl
Wouldn't it help if the author of the hack updated the xml?
Reply With Quote
  #420  
Old 15 May 2011, 20:47
StonePilot StonePilot is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Steve
Ok, I have read about 1/2 of the posts in this thread. I like the concept, but I'm VERY apprehensive to load an unsupported mod onto one site that will essentially handle the delivery of some or all of the forum content to subdomains and other domains.

For me, this would be very nice to have, but as someone asked early in this thread how duplicate content will be treated by Google ... well, unless there is a canonical tag pointing to just one forum you run some risks of having duplicate content.

I really just want the ability to have another domain-based forum and share the same user database across the two sites. But again, I'm very hesitant to jump into a mod that is not supported or documented very well.

How's everyone like it thus far? Who's got a successful install and how long did it take?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:55.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: