Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rotating Banner System Details »
Rotating Banner System
Mod Version: 2.4.2, by y2ksw (Coder) y2ksw is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (141 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 1238
Released: 16 Aug 2008 Last Update: 09 Sep 2013 Downloads: 11071
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

With the Rotating Banner System software, you may publish literally anywhere standard banners and advertising, with no restriction but your imagination. Unlike many other products, it allows to show an unlimited amount of banners and advertising, which are randomly shown at the places you choose, and you may refer generically to an Ad by using specific placeholders.

Also the management is straight-forward and simple to use. Forum administrators with maintenance rights may add, edit and delete records from the Administration Control Panel (ACP), one of each representing a banner. After saving the new banner settings, they are immediately visible at your board.

Compatibility: from vBulletin 3.6.5 onwards

By the way, I do also install the hack on your boards, but since I am very, very busy, it may take some time (weeks) until it gets done.


Tutorials:Updates:
  • 2.0.1: Simple click tracker added, HTML help included.
  • 2.0.3: Small bug fixes; additional banner list, navigation bar, E-Mail field for banner event notifications and automatic save on scroll setting; absolute URL to rbs_banner.php in order to allow click tracking on non-standard pages; supported languages: English, Italian; Help file clean-up.
  • 2.0.5: Small bug fixes; additional details in banner list; email notification for epired banners.
  • 2.0.6: vbCMS compatibility bug fix; additional banner lists.
  • 2.0.7: Usergroups filter: now it is possible to define a list of usergroups which may show a banner; additional vbCMS compatibility bug fix.
  • 2.0.8: Various fixes and most of all, inclusion of the right files: admin_rbs.php, cpnav_rbs.xml
  • 2.0.9: Extra comma fix in new record creation.
  • 2.1.0: Fix for an occasional banner type selection bug, when the sample banners have been deleted or disabled.
  • 2.2.0 (Major upgrade): Up to 10 different banner locations. Requires changes to your existing placeholders in your templates, since a more generic format has been chosen. If you don't need more than 2 different locations, you don't need to upgrade. Changed files: rbs_banner.php, admin_rbs.php
  • 2.2.1: Minor bug fix in files: admin_rbs_h_banner_list.php, admin_rbs_v_banner_list.php
  • 2.2.1: Hotfix for Max Clicks saving bug.
  • 2.2.2: More listings and less files. PDF Help. Separate Italian add-ons and help. Duplicate button.
  • 2.2.3: Minor bug fixes. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.2.4: Flash Banner support (beta). Changed files: product-rbs.xml, rbs_wrapper.swf, admin_rbs.php, English Help.
  • 2.2.5: Hotfix for vBulletin 4.0.2 compatibility bug.
  • 2.2.6: Checking for installed Flash Wrapper rbs_wrapper.swf; A few English FAQ; Help files. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.3.0 (Major upgrade): New modules: Delete Expired Banners, Disable Expired Banners; Detail Banner Statistics with unique access key for your customers; Updated help; Changed files: all.
  • 2.3.1: Hotfix for missing field in rbs_hist table. Changed files: none, just update product.
  • 2.3.2: Added: Unsupported option for setting any number of available positions between 1 and big bang. Fixed: Small bug and speed issues. Removed: Italian translation. Italians may now request support at www.vbulletin.it. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.3: Fix: Copy selected forum ID's during banner duplication. Changed: start and end hours for new banners are set to 0:00 and 23:59 respectively. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.4: Option: Send Mail Before. This option allows to schedule expiring banners differently. New variables for emails: $rbs_enddate: This variable holds the formatted banner ending date and time based on the standard formats for date and time in vBulletin settings; $rbs_name: This variable holds the banner name. EMail Notifications option description: Added direct links to the email phrases for quick changes. Changed files: rbs_mail_cron.php.
  • 2.4.0 (Major upgrade): Removed: Option to enable or disable mailing. Banners with email addresses to notify are handled. Setting to reset mailing in single banners. Now, if mailing should be repeated, you will have to edit the banner from phpMyAdmin. Added: Order links in lists. The initial state is ordered by ID, as before. By clicking the titles, the other voices can be ordered. Clicking twice inverts the order. This works in all lists. Options to prevent counting and reducing thus a tiny bit of load. A new bunch of demo banners for new installations. Demo banners are locked into database in order to avoid 30% of the questions because of the 'experts' deleting them before trying the product. They can be disabled and modified though. The true experts can delete them after all testing from the database by using phpMyAdmin without side effects. Changes: Phrase for emailing about expiring banners, now also with direct links to the phrases. Demo banners. Our old publisher ID is replaced with the new ones, and old demo banners are updated with the new ones, if found. The functions have been exported to includes/functions_rbs.php. This makes the product code smaller and easier to maintain, and runs faster on sites where caching/acceleration is enabled. Changed Files: all *.php
  • 2.4.1: Option Likelihood. This new option adds a weight to banners and allows thus to show one banner more often than another. The default weight is 100%. We also make sure that the final date of the default banners falls into a valid range. Changed files: includes/functions_rbs.php and rbs_stats.php.
  • 2.4.2: Workaround for update sequence problems.
Hacks and unsupported add-ons:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	banner.png
Views:	13178
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	123711   Click image for larger version

Name:	style.jpg
Views:	7563
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	123714   Click image for larger version

Name:	navigation.png
Views:	8173
Size:	4.9 KB
ID:	123715   Click image for larger version

Name:	estatistics.png
Views:	10768
Size:	14.7 KB
ID:	123716  

Click image for larger version

Name:	options.jpg
Views:	3667
Size:	123.7 KB
ID:	137954  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #2281  
Old 23 Apr 2013, 13:52
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by blackie58 View Post
Hello all

It has taken me ages to get this working & i have placed 2 ads under the navber header

They are both next to each other & i would like a space inbetween them

I have searched as best i can & tried alsorts to get it to work

PLEASE PLEASE can someone put me on the correct path

Thanks
a   would insert a fixed space between two HTML text elements, thus:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

become:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2282  
Old 23 Apr 2013, 14:55
bada_bing's Avatar
bada_bing bada_bing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
a   would insert a fixed space between two HTML text elements, thus:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

become:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Giovanni

I have done something simular on my site except I have an issue where if the banners are side by side and you shrink your browser it throws the banners off allighment. Any way to wrap the banners so they can adjust depending on your browser window? The issue now is that they are fixed and assume the browser window is at least a minimum size but when you shring the window or view the site from a smart know the banners are all off
__________________
A Leader and initiator.
Reply With Quote
  #2283  
Old 23 Apr 2013, 15:11
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by bada_bing View Post
Giovanni

I have done something simular on my site except I have an issue where if the banners are side by side and you shrink your browser it throws the banners off allighment. Any way to wrap the banners so they can adjust depending on your browser window? The issue now is that they are fixed and assume the browser window is at least a minimum size but when you shring the window or view the site from a smart know the banners are all off
These are all HTML issues, where I am, honestly spoken, unable to help.

With vBulletin 3 you will have to handle problems with tables and most of them can't be fixed, because tables have a rather static design. On the other hand, with vbulletin 4 and div's, the situation isn't much better, because then all elements tend to flee from the developer

HTML hates me
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2284  
Old 25 Apr 2013, 12:48
blackie58 blackie58 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Thanks for the replies

Its working as i want thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2285  
Old 25 Apr 2013, 19:22
GarethBurrows GarethBurrows is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
...found the answer...

Last edited by GarethBurrows; 25 Apr 2013 at 20:11.
Reply With Quote
  #2286  
Old 26 Apr 2013, 13:11
pengrus pengrus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
My developer helped us install this mod to work with a custom theme they developed, and we found many of the adlocations do not show the ads. They said this is bug issue with vbulletin or your mod. Is he correct?

ad_thread_last_post_content = not working
ad_thread_first_post_content = not working
ad_showthread_firstpost_start = working
ad_showthread_firstpost_sig = working
ad_showthread_beforeqr = not working
ad_navbar_below = working
ad_header_logo = not working
ad_header_end = not working
ad_global_header2 = working
ad_global_header1 = working
ad_global_below_navbar = working
ad_global_above_footer = working
ad_forum_below_threadlist = working
ad_forumhome_afterforums = not working
ad_forumdisplay_afterthreads = not working
ad_footer_start = working
ad_footer_end = working
ad_board_below_whats_going_on = working
ad_board_after_forums = working
ad_blogsidebar_start = not working
ad_blogsidebar_middle = not working
ad_blogsidebar_end = not working
ad_blogshowentry_before = working
ad_blogshowentry_after = working
ad_bloglist_first_entry = working
ad_archive_below_content = working
ad_archive_above_content2 = working
ad_archive_above_content1 = working

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2287  
Old 26 Apr 2013, 15:16
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by pengrus View Post
My developer helped us install this mod to work with a custom theme they developed, and we found many of the adlocations do not show the ads. They said this is bug issue with vbulletin or your mod. Is he correct?

(...)

Thank you!
Oh, how I love developers, really!

Do some of the ad locations work? What are the setting differences?

Did you actually insert a banner placeholder inside the inbuilt ad locations? Else there will appear nothing.

Are there enough banners in the database to show multiple banners on the same page? If you have 5 locations on page, you also must have at least 5 banners to show.

Until now, we always managed to run the banners on any system and any circumstances, and most of the times it was just a misunderstanding or spelling error, or a wrong time setting. Besides not reading the manual about vbSEO, of course ... even on Photopost (which is an addon), some people have managed to show their banners with the unofficial addon (at post 989 of this thread).

So, please prove me wrong
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2288  
Old 26 Apr 2013, 15:25
pengrus pengrus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
We created one simple text ad, and tried it one by one on all the ad locations. And the list above shows which ones working, which ones not working.

The developer even said this:

"Regarding those ad location template that is not working, we tested it on default vb and it doesn't work and it is not related to our theme. You can test it in default vBulletin style to check."

Does this mod require modification to the custom theme to add something to the theme template?

Thanks,
Sean
Reply With Quote
  #2289  
Old 26 Apr 2013, 22:01
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by pengrus View Post
We created one simple text ad, and tried it one by one on all the ad locations. And the list above shows which ones working, which ones not working.

The developer even said this:

"Regarding those ad location template that is not working, we tested it on default vb and it doesn't work and it is not related to our theme. You can test it in default vBulletin style to check."

Does this mod require modification to the custom theme to add something to the theme template?

Thanks,
Sean
Not if you use the inbuilt ad_* locations. But if you want to fill banners in more specific places, you will have to edit the respective templates.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2290  
Old 27 Apr 2013, 01:41
SPVB SPVB is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I got the first ad (<!--@vbbanners:0@--> ) to show up - how do I add the rest of the banners to the code? I am lost!
Reply With Quote
  #2291  
Old 28 Apr 2013, 10:18
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by SPVB View Post
I got the first ad (<!--@vbbanners:0@--> ) to show up - how do I add the rest of the banners to the code? I am lost!
You would add more <!--@vbbanners:0@--> into your page until you show all the banners you wish to see in a single page. And, you would add N banners into the database, each of the different banners you would show in rotation.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2292  
Old 06 May 2013, 00:24
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Working well on 4.2 PL3.
Have one issue with ads not displaying in another mod created in CakePHP (just shows the position reference), but I'm pretty sure it isn't an issue with this mod.

Request:
The ability to select multiple positions for the same banner. This would make it easier for webmasters to track if the same banner performs better in one position versus another.

I know you could just create another banner with the same code and select a separate position, but that would completely defeat the purpose of setting max impressions and max clicks for a given banner.
Reply With Quote
  #2293  
Old 06 May 2013, 11:01
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by bzcomputers View Post
Working well on 4.2 PL3.
Have one issue with ads not displaying in another mod created in CakePHP (just shows the position reference), but I'm pretty sure it isn't an issue with this mod.

Request:
The ability to select multiple positions for the same banner. This would make it easier for webmasters to track if the same banner performs better in one position versus another.

I know you could just create another banner with the same code and select a separate position, but that would completely defeat the purpose of setting max impressions and max clicks for a given banner.
I believe that with the upcoming version 5 of vBulletin it will be unavoidabile to move the whole thing to a new level ... mainly because there will be no hook at all to intercept the final page output. At that point, all possibile and immaginable associations could be realized, because printing a banner would not request any efford to your servers, but to ours ().

In other words, we will have to create a new, fully driven advertising system which then will serve the banners you wish to see on your site, as external input. Once the system is up and running for a while, we may release the whole thing to the public domain. The problem however is the relatively high demand of development hours to achieve this, and most of all, how to convince everybody to use it, when there are other systems. I really don't want to make concurrence to anybody else out there ... i have already enough fighting just as is
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #2294  
Old 07 May 2013, 19:26
brihan brihan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Question

Originally Posted by tibobdenazareth View Post
Rathar than editing postbit_legacy AND showthread_firstpost_sig templates, we cand edit postbit_legacy te,plate by adding a third section for after the first post. In that sense, the ad will fall truly AFTER the first post rather than above the signature. Here's the code.

NB- for the mobile version, that's the only way we can get something after the first post since the showthread_firstpost templates do not exist.

<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread' AND (($post['postcount'] % 15 == 10) OR $post['postcount'] == 10)">
<div class="thread_controls">
<div style="width: 100%; text-align: center">
<!--@vbbanners:3@--><!--@vbbanners:3@-->
</div>
</div>
<vb:elseif condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread' AND (($post['postcount'] % 15 == 5) OR $post['postcount'] == 5)" />
<div class="thread_controls">
<div style="width: 100%; text-align: center">
<!--@vbbanners:2@--><!--@vbbanners:2@-->
</div>
</div>
<vb:elseif condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread' AND $post['postcount'] == 1" />
<div class="thread_controls">
<div style="width: 100%; text-align: center">
<!--@vbbanners:1@--><!--@vbbanners:1@-->
</div>
</div>

</vb:if>
Thank you for this information.

Could you explain it a little more. I see that this edit is for the postbit_legacy template but I'm not exactly sure where in that template you are adding this and should "THIS_SCRIPT" be changed to something else?

Thanks for any help anyone can offer.
Reply With Quote
  #2295  
Old 09 May 2013, 11:15
vithorius's Avatar
vithorius vithorius is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Is it possible to use this as a vBadvanced module?

(thank you!)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: