Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 20 May 2013, 14:55
bada_bing's Avatar
bada_bing bada_bing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Mark Forums Read Error

We are getting this message when a user click the "Mark Forums Read" option. We are running VB 3.87


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Anyone know how to correct this ?
__________________
A Leader and initiator.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20 May 2013, 16:42
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Create a new style with no parent:
  • Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Add New Style
  • Parent Style: No Parent Style
  • Title: Default vBulletin
  • Allow User Selection: Yes
  • Save
Then browse the site using that totally default vbulletin style - do you still have the same problem?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20 May 2013, 19:12
bada_bing's Avatar
bada_bing bada_bing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Create a new style with no parent:
  • Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Add New Style
  • Parent Style: No Parent Style
  • Title: Default vBulletin
  • Allow User Selection: Yes
  • Save
Then browse the site using that totally default vbulletin style - do you still have the same problem?
No errror when I create a new style which I aleady asumbed its an issue with the stlye, where and what is missing to cause this though?
__________________
A Leader and initiator.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20 May 2013, 19:38
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
Which "mark forum read" link are you using?

You will need to chk the template the link is on via the page, its missing the security token info in the newer template.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21 May 2013, 14:06
bada_bing's Avatar
bada_bing bada_bing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
Which "mark forum read" link are you using?

You will need to chk the template the link is on via the page, its missing the security token info in the newer template.
I am using this link
http://www.mysite.com/forums/forumdi...hp?do=markread
which templetes do I need to look at ?
__________________
A Leader and initiator.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21 May 2013, 15:19
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
To find the template to modify, do this - vboptions > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments > set to Yes . Then go back to your page and view the source code and you will see the name of the template called around your part of the code. (Sometimes the template is the one mentioned at the very top of the page source.)
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21 May 2013, 19:18
bada_bing's Avatar
bada_bing bada_bing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
To find the template to modify, do this - vboptions > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments > set to Yes . Then go back to your page and view the source code and you will see the name of the template called around your part of the code. (Sometimes the template is the one mentioned at the very top of the page source.)
Lynne

I enabled that and I cant seem to find where it calls any templates? I looked throughout and no luck . VB Settings says it should show up at the top or bottom but all I see its this at the top

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
A Leader and initiator.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21 May 2013, 19:33
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
When you enable template names in html via vb, it shows them in multiple locations in the page source, you have to view the page source

When your on the forumdisplay page, your using the mark forums read from the quick links i would assume, is your forumdisplay template default or modified?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21 May 2013, 20:00
bada_bing's Avatar
bada_bing bada_bing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
When you enable template names in html via vb, it shows them in multiple locations in the page source, you have to view the page source
Yes I did look at the page source and did not see it? Can you tell me what I I should be looking for ? Maybe an oversight on my part

When your on the forumdisplay page, your using the mark forums read from the quick links i would assume, is your forumdisplay template default or modified?
Yes I am using the mark forums read from the quick linksm forumhome is modified.
__________________
A Leader and initiator.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21 May 2013, 20:07
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
I was asking about the forumdisplay template, not forumhome.

I assume also that your navbar template is also modified & missing the security token info:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Verify the code above in your navbar template.

Last edited by snakes1100; 21 May 2013 at 20:14.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21 May 2013, 20:17
bada_bing's Avatar
bada_bing bada_bing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
I was asking about the forumdisplay template, not forumhome.

I assume also that your navbar template is also modified & missing the security token info
OK I think the issue is that when we replaced our default nav menu we have the incorrect url to the Mark Forum Read" feature currently the link points to http://www.oursite.com/forums/forumd...hp?do=markread

I think that is incorrect.. Do you know what the URL link should really point to ? I have looked at one of our default templates that contains the original nav memu and the link points to
http://www.oursite.com/forums/forumd...8c9dc38c7e225f

I know the hash is randomly generated so I cant add that
__________________
A Leader and initiator.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21 May 2013, 20:20
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
The proper code is in my previous post or simply view the default template in the style.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21 May 2013, 21:18
bada_bing's Avatar
bada_bing bada_bing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
The proper code is in my previous post or simply view the default template in the style.
Thank you I will try that and see if it fixes
The issue.

Thank you

--------------- Added 22 May 2013 at 13:49 ---------------

Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
The proper code is in my previous post or simply view the default template in the style.
That fixed it.. Thank You!!
__________________
A Leader and initiator.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:43.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: