Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 15 Oct 2014, 08:37
friendlymela's Avatar
friendlymela friendlymela is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Real name: Zeeshan Shams
CPU Usage and My SQL Process load issue

Hey experts i am developing my website url: www.friendlymela.com with Vbulletin 4.2.2 patch 1, recently i have read article that Vbulletin required minimum php version 5.3.29 so i was requested with my host to change it then he had changed it to 5.4.27 but after then i face loading issue on forum. my forum loaded very much slow after then they have provided me the following issues occurring on my forum



The limits of excessive usage for each resource are:

CPU %: 1.0-2.0 is Moderate, 3.0 is High, higher than 4.0 is Unacceptable. This is the average percentage of the entire server's CPU used by your account. This is of all processors combined.
Memory %: 0.0-1.0 is Moderate, 2.0 is High, higher than 5.0 is Unacceptable. This is the average percentage of the entire server's Memory used by your account in that day.
MySQL Usage: 0.0-1.0 is Moderate, 2.0 is High, higher than 2.5s is Unacceptable. This is the average number of Mysql instances you were running at all specific seconds of that day.


More often than not, single spikes in usage are attributed to abuse by your visitors, resource-exhaustive web platforms, or plugins of those platforms.

To assist you to isolate the source of usage, we have identified your top processes with highest usage in the past 7 days. They are:
Date % CPU Process
Oct 11th 9.5 httpd [friendlymela.com] [/newreply.php?dopostreply&t37677]
Oct 11th 8.5 httpd [friendlymela.com] [/showthread.php/37175-Crispy-Sweet-Noodles?sf93dd1f37ad76a]
Oct 11th 8.4 httpd [friendlymela.com] [/showthread.php/347-Sabzii-Mandiiii-p?p3039&viewfull1]
Oct 10th 67.0 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/showthread.php
Oct 10th 64.0 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/forumdisplay.php
Oct 10th 53.0 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/forumdisplay.php
Oct 09th 73.0 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/showthread.php
Oct 09th 66.0 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/showthread.php
Oct 09th 59.0 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/forumdisplay.php
Oct 08th 90.0 [php-cgi] <defunct>
Oct 08th 88.0 [php-cgi] <defunct>
Oct 08th 87.0 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/index.php
Oct 07th 128 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/index.php
Oct 07th 126 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/showthread.php
Oct 07th 110 [php-cgi] <defunct>
Oct 06th 104 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/showthread.php
Oct 06th 103 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/index.php
Oct 06th 102 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/index.php
Oct 05th 135 [php-cgi] <defunct>
Oct 05th 128 [php-cgi]
Oct 05th 118 /opt/ntphp/php54/bin/php-cgi /home/friendmela/public_html/showthread.php


After then i told them to return my php version to 5.3.28 as it was before but still my site loading very slow, i have done alots of things and disable many mods from my website as well as i have block bad bots and compress images sizes etc in .htaccess and banned Baidu Spider by mod.

One thing more i want to point out that the following options are not changing thier values since 7 or 8 days. kindly have look screen shot of my cpanel also Resources Usage are showing that There has been no activity on your site within the past 24 hours.

[IMG]There has been no activity on your site within the past 24 hours[/IMG]

I am bit confused about all this matter. please anyone help me to sort out the issue and help me to resolve it please.

Regards,

Zee Leo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15 Oct 2014, 08:53
Dave Dave is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
What happens when you disable all of the mods/plugins?
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15 Oct 2014, 09:19
friendlymela's Avatar
friendlymela friendlymela is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Real name: Zeeshan Shams
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
What happens when you disable all of the mods/plugins?
Not any difference after disable all plugins. loading slow
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15 Oct 2014, 19:50
tpearl5's Avatar
tpearl5 tpearl5 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: John
I recommend you read the responses by George L in the Server Optimization forum over at vbulletin.com. For example: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum...ssive-cpu-load

You can submit a request there yourself as well.

Read these too:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=241782
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=241783
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15 Oct 2014, 21:11
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
In addition to what tpearl5 suggested, I'll add this little bit.

Each and every time in my experience when a host is telling someone vBulletin 3 or 4 is using too much resources, it has turned out to be incorrect. vBulletin is NOT a server intensive platform, out of the box. However it can be modified to be so, but we have already covered that here with your disabling of the hooks.

I have never seen native vBulletin be a cause of high server load.

Please let us know what hosting company you have, and the specifications of the hosting plan you are on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15 Oct 2014, 21:15
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
You reported this exact same issue HERE back in May. And the answer is the same. Looks like you didn't take the advice back then, to switch hosts.

And you're still using CloudFlare with no checking at all to see if it is conflicting with the machine your host has you on.

All CF does is cache static content, then try to deliver that content from a point in their network that is physically closer to the user than your host machine is. It does not optimize your site or speed it up in any real way. If your site is slow without CF, it will be slow with CF. It's not a magic bullet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19 Oct 2014, 06:15
friendlymela's Avatar
friendlymela friendlymela is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Real name: Zeeshan Shams
Originally Posted by tpearl5 View Post
I recommend you read the responses by George L in the Server Optimization forum over at vbulletin.com. For example: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum...ssive-cpu-load

You can submit a request there yourself as well.

Read these too:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=241782
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=241783
Thanks alot for the help i have done many things. and now site working better than before but one issue still occurring that the showthread.php is still taking bit high load. what i do to reduce it please?

--------------- Added 19 Oct 2014 at 06:17 ---------------

Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
In addition to what tpearl5 suggested, I'll add this little bit.

Each and every time in my experience when a host is telling someone vBulletin 3 or 4 is using too much resources, it has turned out to be incorrect. vBulletin is NOT a server intensive platform, out of the box. However it can be modified to be so, but we have already covered that here with your disabling of the hooks.

I have never seen native vBulletin be a cause of high server load.

Please let us know what hosting company you have, and the specifications of the hosting plan you are on.
Yes u r right dude.. hosting company just sucking me.. i am using arvixe shared hosting personal plan.. my site is not very much big to switch on VPS or dedicated server and still i dont have any earning.. and i am using cloudflare as per advice of host. i am confuse what should i do now i have done many settings but still showthread.php consuming high cpu load
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19 Oct 2014, 07:22
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by friendlymela View Post
Yes u r right dude.. hosting company just sucking me.. i am using arvixe shared hosting personal plan.. my site is not very much big to switch on VPS or dedicated server and still i dont have any earning..
You don't need VPS or dedicated server to get good results with vBulletin.
and i am using cloudflare as per advice of host. i am confuse what should i do now i have done many settings but still showthread.php consuming high cpu load
CF does nothing for server load either.

You have NO idea what your actual load is, you have only the host claiming you are creating high demand. You are not. vBulletin is NOT server intensive. However some add-ons such as chat boxes for example, can create high CPU loading.

Additionally, allowing these MASSIVE animated GIFs in signatures is a poor performance practice. Just looking at this thread here on your board, my browser tried to freeze up with all the GIF load. That page loads 8.8 MEGAbytes on browsers. Here is the breakdown:

http://www.webpagetest.org/result/141019_F0_BFV/

You can't be allowing these massive GIF images in signatures. The FOUR of them contained in your Moderator "Bunny" signature alone represents 4 megabytes. "sweet-princess" signature image is 1.7 megabytes all by itself.

Native vBulletin pageload is well under 1 megabyte, runs 350kb or so.

Making matters worse, these are third party calls to tumblr, tinypic and photobucket, which means your Cloud Flare is ignoring these.

You simply have to do away with the massive animated GIF images in signatures if you want to see improvement in the showthread.php pages. It doesn't matter what host you have, with this amount of megabytes.

Last edited by Max Taxable; 19 Oct 2014 at 07:28.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Oct 2014, 06:26
friendlymela's Avatar
friendlymela friendlymela is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Real name: Zeeshan Shams
Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
You don't need VPS or dedicated server to get good results with vBulletin.CF does nothing for server load either.

You have NO idea what your actual load is, you have only the host claiming you are creating high demand. You are not. vBulletin is NOT server intensive. However some add-ons such as chat boxes for example, can create high CPU loading.

Additionally, allowing these MASSIVE animated GIFs in signatures is a poor performance practice. Just looking at this thread here on your board, my browser tried to freeze up with all the GIF load. That page loads 8.8 MEGAbytes on browsers. Here is the breakdown:

http://www.webpagetest.org/result/141019_F0_BFV/

You can't be allowing these massive GIF images in signatures. The FOUR of them contained in your Moderator "Bunny" signature alone represents 4 megabytes. "sweet-princess" signature image is 1.7 megabytes all by itself.

Native vBulletin pageload is well under 1 megabyte, runs 350kb or so.

Making matters worse, these are third party calls to tumblr, tinypic and photobucket, which means your Cloud Flare is ignoring these.

You simply have to do away with the massive animated GIF images in signatures if you want to see improvement in the showthread.php pages. It doesn't matter what host you have, with this amount of megabytes.
Thanks alot for your expensive time and help me to sort out the issue i have made announcement there to remove all gif images from their signature. i have one question CF is blocking ddos attacks so what i use in alternate to stop attacks?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20 Oct 2014, 17:20
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by friendlymela View Post
i have one question CF is blocking ddos attacks so what i use in alternate to stop attacks?
DDoS attacks are very rare. Many spiders and bots hitting your site isn't a attack. Thousands of them at the same time, all downloading images and larger files, is.

You can block "bad" spiders and bots quite easily, using this mod.
i have made announcement there to remove all gif images from their signature.
In addition you should change the usergroup permissions, setting limits on signature images. For future.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21 Oct 2014, 06:11
friendlymela's Avatar
friendlymela friendlymela is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Real name: Zeeshan Shams
Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
DDoS attacks are very rare. Many spiders and bots hitting your site isn't a attack. Thousands of them at the same time, all downloading images and larger files, is.

You can block "bad" spiders and bots quite easily, using this mod.In addition you should change the usergroup permissions, setting limits on signature images. For future.
Thanks MAX I am thankful to you i am already using this mood and soon i'll disable the CF also i have remove gif images from signatures and have made settings also

Today i have see the result its much better for me have look it

http://gtmetrix.com/reports/friendlymela.com/iN7NaKjs

but one thing is confusing me the page load time is just 2.89s but the GTmetrix showing page speed down grade is 67 .. whats wrong with it?

would u like to tell me how i can specify image dimensions ?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21 Oct 2014, 11:23
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
The gif images may add some load time but if you are serving them from your file system they should not increase mysql load.

Are you serving them from your file system or the database?
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21 Oct 2014, 12:34
friendlymela's Avatar
friendlymela friendlymela is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Real name: Zeeshan Shams
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
The gif images may add some load time but if you are serving them from your file system they should not increase mysql load.

Are you serving them from your file system or the database?
i am serving it now from file system.. would u like to tell me how to do specify image dimensions?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21 Oct 2014, 18:40
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by friendlymela View Post
Thanks MAX I am thankful to you i am already using this mood and soon i'll disable the CF also i have remove gif images from signatures and have made settings also

Today i have see the result its much better for me have look it

http://gtmetrix.com/reports/friendlymela.com/iN7NaKjs

but one thing is confusing me the page load time is just 2.89s but the GTmetrix showing page speed down grade is 67 .. whats wrong with it?
Don't use gtmetrix for objective testing - they are trying to sell you optimization services. Use WebPageTest only. It is real world, objective and not trying to sell you anything.

I re-test you, same thread and same test parameters, and you're down to just under 5 megabytes now. There still exist several massive animated GIF images in signatures. There is only a tiny bit of improvement here.

would u like to tell me how i can specify image dimensions ?
Usergroup permissions.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21 Oct 2014, 18:42
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
The gif images may add some load time but if you are serving them from your file system they should not increase mysql load.
These are signature images that are being served third party, there is no way for him to control them or move them. He just has to LIMIT them. Nobody needs a 4 megabyte signature image.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: