Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
MGC Chatbox Evo Details »
MGC Chatbox Evo
Mod Version: 3.4.0, by VBDev (Coder) VBDev is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (306 votes - 4.63 average) Installs: 2473
Released: 28 Jan 2008 Last Update: 02 Sep 2013 Downloads: 46111
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Additional Files Translations  



This mod is automatically compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x


Overview

MGC Chatbox Evo is the most ever installed chatbox for vBulletin !


It offers a new enhanced online experience to your members leading to increased time spent online of more than 25% by providing them with a new, more interactive, way to interact with each other.
  • Important number of features
  • High level of configurability to fit each users needs
  • Channels system
  • Many commands
  • Bot system
  • and more...
... makes MGC Chatbox Evo a must have for your forum !

Detailed features

Following is a non-exhaustive list:
  • Simple install
  • Ajax based with:
    • Fast and Intelligent chats retrieval through javascript calls to server files (refresh delay configurable per usergroup)
    • Edit/update by double-clicking on a chat
    • Interact on chats through menus and javascript
  • Many usergroup permissions to limit features according to usergroups
  • Full configuration of the chatbox display:
    Size, position on forum pages, editor layout (either top/bottom input or left/right textarea) and position, number of chats displayed, ...
  • Full configuration of the chats display:
    Authorized bbcodes selection, date/time options, avatar display, ...
  • Possibility to create channels (unlimited number) with multiple configuration options:
    • Warn user of new message when not active through blinking image and eventually sound notification
    • Possibility to select on which specific page each is displayed
    • Option to display the channel only for selected languages
    • Usergroup/User permissions to access the channel
  • Many commands available with usergroup/user permissions to access them:
    • /me: well known IRC command
    • /del: remove shouts (different possibilities of removal)
    • /ignore: ignore shouts from another user
    • /ban: ban user from chatbox
    • /pm: send a private chat to another user
    • /announcement: modify the announcement on top of the chatbox
    • /slap: allow user to slap another user
    • /team: chats sending between specified usergroups
    • /l33t: I33t-ify a message
    • /banchan: ban user from specific channel [PRO only]
  • Forum activity notifications system in the chatbox:
    • Different display options:
      • In the chatbox melted with chats
      • In the chatbox in a separate column
      • In the vB4 sidebar or a custom sidebar for vB3
    • Multiple notifications:
      • New thread creation
      • New post creation
      • Post thanked (Abe's)
      • New registrations (not included - separate product)
      • IBProarcade highscore (not included - separate product)
  • Bot system with set of predefined trigger chat and corresponding answers and automatic bot chats [PRO only]
  • Archive system with statistics as well as download and search capabilities
  • Possibility to display the list of users online in the chatbox
  • Force anynomous to enter a username before chatting if they can access the chatbox
  • Antiflood system
  • Private chats feature through PM in tabs
  • Optional sound notifications
  • Inactive mode feature for server load optimization
  • User statistics display in posts and profile
  • Chatbox statistics display on forumhome
  • Create thread from a chat [PRO only]
  • CMS Integration (not included - separate product)
    • vBAdvanced CMPS
    • vBulletin 4 CMS
  • Importers from other chatbox systems:
Install

Refer to the readme for the chatbox install.

Demo

Live demo on MGC Products forum

Languages
  1. French
  2. English
  3. German [Not yet updated]
  4. Serbian [Not yet updated]
Support

On my website mostly and in this thread


Intégration

Integration in IBProarcade is described in the readme.
vBAdvanced CMPS and vBulletin 4 CMS integration are available as additional modules.


Compatibility

This hack is compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x
, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x

Changelog

First part:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=221

Second part:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...postcount=5429

Third part:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...postcount=8469

How to set the channel images


Thanks to princeedwards for this little how to : click here

PRO version and additional addons available on my website

This mod is automatically compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Chat Modifications Cyb - ChatBox Valter vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 1244 03 Feb 2016 13:36
Chat Modifications Chatbox Rules in cyb chatbox title Hornstar vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 15 23 Apr 2011 16:57

  #2371  
Old 29 Aug 2008, 20:45
Kaycee123 Kaycee123 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
We're still having problems with the chatbox not working for some members. For some it locks on "loading" and their chats never come up. Others are not able to see any of the chats in the chatbox, only in Archives.

The members who are having problems have cleared their caches several times and it still doesn't work.

Sometimes switching from FF to IE helps, or vice versa. Any ideas?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2372  
Old 29 Aug 2008, 21:34
Gamempire Gamempire is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
i can't see the chat after i had installed..why? i tried witdh the mod to the template but it still doesn't work..
Reply With Quote
  #2373  
Old 30 Aug 2008, 20:51
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by gpc10347 View Post
<can of worms>

I have talkerbot working on my site and of course, mgc chat is working well too.. Anyone else have both and - figured out some code to make the talkerbot a part of the chat?

</end worms>
Who knows if that will be added.

Originally Posted by Gamempire View Post
i can't see the chat after i had installed..why? i tried witdh the mod to the template but it still doesn't work..
Because you like every other n00b doesn't READ the instructions. USERGROUPS > Edit

Originally Posted by Kaycee123 View Post
We're still having problems with the chatbox not working for some members. For some it locks on "loading" and their chats never come up. Others are not able to see any of the chats in the chatbox, only in Archives.

The members who are having problems have cleared their caches several times and it still doesn't work.

Sometimes switching from FF to IE helps, or vice versa. Any ideas?
Loading or not showing at all = server. I think I asked, and you never replied. Is this running apache?

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...postcount=2100
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2374  
Old 30 Aug 2008, 23:39
reitube reitube is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Reqeust: Resizeable editor box

in order to fit the chatbox on a side column of a portal like vba, it would be nice to resize the chatbox to a minimum. Therefore, it should be possible to arrange the icons (via configuration) beow the input field and have smaller icons. Furthermore, a configurable width would be great.
Thanks for the Mod, great job..

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #2375  
Old 30 Aug 2008, 23:43
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Sounds more like a plugin to this mod, then a function. Not a bad idea. But, it's already a module VBa as a shotbox on the main page
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2376  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 07:02
zelnik zelnik is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Originally Posted by Kaycee123 View Post
We're still having problems with the chatbox not working for some members. For some it locks on "loading" and their chats never come up. Others are not able to see any of the chats in the chatbox, only in Archives.

The members who are having problems have cleared their caches several times and it still doesn't work.

Sometimes switching from FF to IE helps, or vice versa. Any ideas?
I had this problem when upgrading from to 1.0 and solved it by re-ftping all the files over again (no need to reimport) just ftp upload all the associated files and it seem to fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #2377  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 13:58
VBDev's Avatar
VBDev VBDev is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Clément
Hi all,

Just back from holidays today.

Will start going through all your messages but I am currently a bit sick and thus am not sure If I can handle eveything.
Reply With Quote
  #2378  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 15:06
VBDev's Avatar
VBDev VBDev is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Clément
Ready boys ? Take a long breath and read all my answers

I hope i didn't forget anyone.

Originally Posted by pedroenf View Post
The issue is that when chatbox is enabled you do not receive vBulletin PM pop-up.
When you are in that condition, which javascript error do you see ?

Originally Posted by NeutralizeR View Post
I've just upgraded from the old version of this hack to evo version. I used to run my chatbox with only 1 query, now it executes 3 queries. 1 for the core hack, 1 for the smilies and 1 for something else. Is it possile to run the new version with only 1 query? (i disabled all settings need extra queries)
If you deactivate the chatbox smilies it will remove one query (used to build up the smilies toolbar).

To go down to one query you can try to remove one other query that should not be run in case of autocompletion mode inactive.
Here is what you can do to give it a try:
  1. Disable the autocompletion option
  2. Edit the functions_mgc_cb_evo.php
and replace :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

by


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This should move things down to one query. I will update the chatbox code accordingly in the next version.

Originally Posted by shot2bits View Post
PS - does the shoutbox auto update after somebody posts a message?
No, it does refresh on the other users window each specified number of seconds (you set it as called "autorefresh" time).

Originally Posted by BozzaJos View Post
Thanks Andrew. I never noticed Dev answered my question. Anyway, here is a bigger screenshot!

Yes this is what I thought, I miss that one out

I have added it to the bug list and will correct it in the next version !

Originally Posted by NeutralizeR View Post
I also have the same issue with BozzaJos. Plus...

By default, vbulletin asks for confirmation after clicking log out and the page turn into gray in IE. When MGC Chatbox Evo is enabled, it doesn't asks for confirmation and directly logs me out. I can see the yellow javascript error icon in the bottom left corner of IE. Maybe a conflict with the JS files.
The problem is that I am a mac user and thus can't test that . Could you try to tell me which kind of error is displayed in ie ?

I add it in the list of known bugs.

Originally Posted by gpc10347 View Post
<can of worms>

I have talkerbot working on my site and of course, mgc chat is working well too.. Anyone else have both and - figured out some code to make the talkerbot a part of the chat?

</end worms>
Honestly this is not something I would, I don't know talkerbot at all and prefer to concentrate on bringing the chatbox to even further completness.

Originally Posted by reitube View Post
in order to fit the chatbox on a side column of a portal like vba, it would be nice to resize the chatbox to a minimum. Therefore, it should be possible to arrange the icons (via configuration) beow the input field and have smaller icons. Furthermore, a configurable width would be great.
Thanks for the Mod, great job..

Regards.
Originally Posted by Ranger187 View Post
Sounds more like a plugin to this mod, then a function. Not a bad idea. But, it's already a module VBa as a shotbox on the main page
I agree with Ranger187, the VBa chatbox module for my chatbox released by stangger5 already does it.
Reply With Quote
  #2379  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 18:41
Fireproof Fireproof is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Originally Posted by redtailboas View Post
Installed. Great product and working great!

Is there a way to disable Chatbox in one style? I have a mobile style (and chat does not work on mobile devices that I have tested) so I would just like to disable it only for the mobile style.

Any suggestions?
I have this same need.

Any hope on getting some help with this?



Also - separately, is your next release likely to solve the "non-scrolling" issue when using "oldest first"?
Reply With Quote
  #2380  
Old 31 Aug 2008, 21:41
SnapOff Racing SnapOff Racing is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Concerning the issue about the private messages, that is happening for me as well. No popup window for new private messages. Just an FYI
Reply With Quote
  #2381  
Old 01 Sep 2008, 00:19
NeutralizeR NeutralizeR is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Thanks for the file edit for disabling that query. The old version didn't require any queries for the smilies but it's no big deal.

About the javascript error. Here's a screenshot of forumhome after clicking the logout link:
http://img527.imageshack.us/img527/8899/jserrorsu0.jpg


Besides these already known three bugs...:
[Major but non blocking] vBulletin confirm popup (logout or PM) have been reported by somes users as not displayed in IE when the chatbox is active (IE javascript triangle appears)
[Medium] Chats doesn't get removed from the chatbox when the inactivity mode message is displayed
[Minor] When chats display option is "Oldest first", the chatbox doesn't scroll to new chats on load.

i need the updated code for this to have a perfectly running chatbox:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=105

Welcome back and thanks for your support
__________________
MsXLabs Forum
Reply With Quote
  #2382  
Old 01 Sep 2008, 05:29
VBDev's Avatar
VBDev VBDev is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Clément
Originally Posted by Fireproof View Post
I have this same need.

Any hope on getting some help with this?
Without the javascript error it will be hard to find

Originally Posted by Fireproof View Post
Also - separately, is your next release likely to solve the "non-scrolling" issue when using "oldest first"?
Yes yes I hope to ! I think I'll perhaps need the help of some javascripts guru on that one coz I have tried different ways and nothing did it...

Originally Posted by NeutralizeR View Post
Thanks for the file edit for disabling that query. The old version didn't require any queries for the smilies but it's no big deal.
Hum really ?? Then it's not that sql query we are speaking of. Perhaps it's the one for the announcement in the chatbox if you have activated it and the imagecache is not already called by a vBulletin file on that page. Have you activated announcement and bbcode in announcement ?

I think the number of queries in the next version will be a little higher on page load as I am thinking on modifying the chatbox in order to have the chats loaded on startup such avoiding the little delay of first loading the page and then retrieving them through ajax. This would certainly be appreciated by some people around there
So don't worry if you see that the number of queries in the next version is a bit higher (1 or 2 I think), this will mean that I have implemented that feature.

Overall it will do the same number of queries than in the other way as the retrieving of chats through ajax does a number of queries equivalent to a load of a minimal vBulletin page. But you don't see them

Originally Posted by NeutralizeR View Post
About the javascript error. Here's a screenshot of forumhome after clicking the logout link:
http://img527.imageshack.us/img527/8899/jserrorsu0.jpg
Is it possible to have the english translation please

Originally Posted by NeutralizeR View Post
Besides these already known three bugs...:
[Major but non blocking] vBulletin confirm popup (logout or PM) have been reported by somes users as not displayed in IE when the chatbox is active (IE javascript triangle appears)
[Medium] Chats doesn't get removed from the chatbox when the inactivity mode message is displayed
[Minor] When chats display option is "Oldest first", the chatbox doesn't scroll to new chats on load.

i need the updated code for this to have a perfectly running chatbox:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=105
I'll tell you where do to the similar changes later today or tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #2383  
Old 01 Sep 2008, 12:22
reitube reitube is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Originally Posted by VBDev View Post
I agree with Ranger187, the VBa chatbox module for my chatbox released by stangger5 already does it.
Thanks for answering, but:
I might be misunderstood.
I know stangger's vba mod for MGC Chat and I use it. The prob is, the vba mod is designed for the center column of vba, because it's impossible to right-size the Chatbox that far it fits the left or right column. Stangger's mod only wraps your Chatbox, therefore the only place it fits on vba is center column (or you risk a layout mess )
What I suggested was: A bit more configuration of chatbox itself.(e.g. separation of input line and Icon line, using smaller icons, setting a width etc.) to get the whole thing fit in a side column. And that can't be done by stangger's mod.

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #2384  
Old 01 Sep 2008, 12:28
NeutralizeR NeutralizeR is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Originally Posted by VBDev View Post
Without the javascript error it will be hard to find



Yes yes I hope to ! I think I'll perhaps need the help of some javascripts guru on that one coz I have tried different ways and nothing did it...



Hum really ?? Then it's not that sql query we are speaking of. Perhaps it's the one for the announcement in the chatbox if you have activated it and the imagecache is not already called by a vBulletin file on that page. Have you activated announcement and bbcode in announcement ?

I think the number of queries in the next version will be a little higher on page load as I am thinking on modifying the chatbox in order to have the chats loaded on startup such avoiding the little delay of first loading the page and then retrieving them through ajax. This would certainly be appreciated by some people around there
So don't worry if you see that the number of queries in the next version is a bit higher (1 or 2 I think), this will mean that I have implemented that feature.

Overall it will do the same number of queries than in the other way as the retrieving of chats through ajax does a number of queries equivalent to a load of a minimal vBulletin page. But you don't see them



Is it possible to have the english translation please



I'll tell you where do to the similar changes later today or tomorrow.
All extra features added in this version are disabled. Announcement and bbcode in announcements features are disabled, too. When i disable the smilies, i see the chatbox is running with only 1 query. In the old version (3.6 version), i had smilies enabled and it was still running with only 1 query. Maybe it's because you added "by random order or by admincp order" selection ?

Javascript error says: "Object doesn't support this property or method" i don't think it's helpful

Alright, waiting for your answer for the similar changes...
__________________
MsXLabs Forum
Reply With Quote
  #2385  
Old 01 Sep 2008, 13:05
VBDev's Avatar
VBDev VBDev is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Clément
Originally Posted by reitube View Post
Thanks for answering, but:
I might be misunderstood.
I know stangger's vba mod for MGC Chat and I use it. The prob is, the vba mod is designed for the center column of vba, because it's impossible to right-size the Chatbox that far it fits the left or right column. Stangger's mod only wraps your Chatbox, therefore the only place it fits on vba is center column (or you risk a layout mess )
What I suggested was: A bit more configuration of chatbox itself.(e.g. separation of input line and Icon line, using smaller icons, setting a width etc.) to get the whole thing fit in a side column. And that can't be done by stangger's mod.

Regards.
Ah yes in that case you're right !

I could add the following options :
  • Small icons/Big icons
  • Separate input lines and buttons
But perhaps it won't be enough ?

Originally Posted by NeutralizeR View Post
All extra features added in this version are disabled. Announcement and bbcode in announcements features are disabled, too. When i disable the smilies, i see the chatbox is running with only 1 query. In the old version (3.6 version), i had smilies enabled and it was still running with only 1 query. Maybe it's because you added "by random order or by admincp order" selection ?

Javascript error says: "Object doesn't support this property or method" i don't think it's helpful

Alright, waiting for your answer for the similar changes...
No this new option has nothing to do with this query, humm.

Na this ain't very useful ... as long as I don't now which object it is ...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:45.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: