Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02 Feb 2016, 19:17
thetechgenius's Avatar
thetechgenius thetechgenius is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Upload of file failed. (Avatars, Attachments, etc...)

I don't know why, but ever since I moved from a windows server to a linux server (Centos 6) I have had this problem.

When I try to upload an avatar or attachment, an error pops up and says - "Upload of file failed."

Does anyone know why?
__________________
TheTechGenius.Net Official IRC Network (ONLINE)
Host: irc.thetechgenius.net
Port: 6667
TTG IRC Web Client - http://thetechgenius.net/irc.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02 Feb 2016, 19:21
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
My guess is that you forgot to chmod the directories to 777? (I assume you use filestorage?)
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02 Feb 2016, 19:25
thetechgenius's Avatar
thetechgenius thetechgenius is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
My guess is that you forgot to chmod the directories to 777? (I assume you use filestorage?)
I have already chmod the customavatars directory to 777, and nothing changed, I still get the game error.
__________________
TheTechGenius.Net Official IRC Network (ONLINE)
Host: irc.thetechgenius.net
Port: 6667
TTG IRC Web Client - http://thetechgenius.net/irc.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02 Feb 2016, 19:26
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
AdminCP > Maintenance > Diagnostics > Upload test > what does it say?
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02 Feb 2016, 19:34
thetechgenius's Avatar
thetechgenius thetechgenius is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
AdminCP > Maintenance > Diagnostics > Upload test > what does it say?
I tried that too, when I run a Diagnostic on the Uploads, it says it found no errors when uploading the file. Its weird. I think it may be a setting in vBulletin and not the server configuration.

EDIT:

Because I setup another small site a few months ago on the same server, its an Image Hosting site, I am using the CFImage Hosting script. And when I upload files/images on that site it works fine. Its hosted on the same server under one of my Sub Domains.


Update:
I have even tried creating a new directory to store all custom avatars and chmod it to 777, and updated vbulletin to use that directory, and moved all avatars to the new directory. vB shows all the avatars still, from the new directory, but I am still getting that Upload error. When I try to run an upload Diagnostic, it says "No errors occurred while opening the uploaded file for reading. ".
__________________
TheTechGenius.Net Official IRC Network (ONLINE)
Host: irc.thetechgenius.net
Port: 6667
TTG IRC Web Client - http://thetechgenius.net/irc.html

Last edited by thetechgenius; 02 Feb 2016 at 20:07.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02 Feb 2016, 21:53
squidsk's Avatar
squidsk squidsk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
When you used chmod did you use the -R option to make it recursive and apply to all subdirectories?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04 Feb 2016, 20:04
thetechgenius's Avatar
thetechgenius thetechgenius is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Originally Posted by squidsk View Post
When you used chmod did you use the -R option to make it recursive and apply to all subdirectories?
Yes I did.
__________________
TheTechGenius.Net Official IRC Network (ONLINE)
Host: irc.thetechgenius.net
Port: 6667
TTG IRC Web Client - http://thetechgenius.net/irc.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04 Feb 2016, 21:39
squidsk's Avatar
squidsk squidsk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
What your php setting for the following two settings?

upload_max_filesize
post_max_size

You can look in your php.ini or bring up the php.ini in admincp. Are they bigger or smaller than the files you are trying to upload.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05 Feb 2016, 09:32
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Yeah, my guess is your server/php.ini settings as well. It could also be a file ownership issue depending on how you installed and set up the server and the site.

I ran into this a couple time with clients who uploaded everything through the admin user and then could not upload through vbulletin as it was under the domain user and not the admin. Hope this makes sense.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05 Feb 2016, 22:07
thetechgenius's Avatar
thetechgenius thetechgenius is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
The settings for upload_max_filesize and post_max_size are both set to 2GB.

I setup PHP myself. I can upload files fine in the AdminCP>Maintenance>Diagnostics> Upload, and it doesn't come up with any errors at all. Which is really weird if you ask me.

Now I did move from a Windows 2008R2 Server, to a Linux CentOS Server. I backed up my entire user directory offsite, then I installed and configured CentOS on the server. Then installed the backup of my site. Everything seems to be working fine but these damn vB uploads (attachments, Avatars, etc...).
__________________
TheTechGenius.Net Official IRC Network (ONLINE)
Host: irc.thetechgenius.net
Port: 6667
TTG IRC Web Client - http://thetechgenius.net/irc.html
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05 Feb 2016, 22:12
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Have you checked server logs?
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05 Feb 2016, 22:21
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
The diagnostics upload tool uses the tmp directory to test the upload, it doesn't actually test it for the other folders vBulletin uses. My second guess is that your web-server or PHP doesn't have the right (group) permissions set to touch files in the document root.

You can refer to:
http://serverfault.com/questions/644...u-14-04-1-ngin
https://www.digitalocean.com/communi...s?answer=24893
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05 Feb 2016, 22:54
thetechgenius's Avatar
thetechgenius thetechgenius is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
The diagnostics upload tool uses the tmp directory to test the upload, it doesn't actually test it for the other folders vBulletin uses. My second guess is that your web-server or PHP doesn't have the right (group) permissions set to touch files in the document root.

You can refer to:
http://serverfault.com/questions/644...u-14-04-1-ngin
https://www.digitalocean.com/communi...s?answer=24893
I updated all files and folders with the correct owner, and its still not working. It must be something with PHP. I am looking through the configs now.
__________________
TheTechGenius.Net Official IRC Network (ONLINE)
Host: irc.thetechgenius.net
Port: 6667
TTG IRC Web Client - http://thetechgenius.net/irc.html
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05 Feb 2016, 23:22
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Yeah Dave, that is what I'm talking about, file ownership. The user for the site/domain has to have permissions for vbulletin to upload to the public directory.

Server logs would confirm this.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05 Feb 2016, 23:34
thetechgenius's Avatar
thetechgenius thetechgenius is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
Yeah Dave, that is what I'm talking about, file ownership. The user for the site/domain has to have permissions for vbulletin to upload to the public directory.

Server logs would confirm this.
I am downloading the server log now. Its a very big log file. But I will post the most up-to-date part of the file when its done.

Update: There is no mention of any errors coming from vbulletin in the error log.
__________________
TheTechGenius.Net Official IRC Network (ONLINE)
Host: irc.thetechgenius.net
Port: 6667
TTG IRC Web Client - http://thetechgenius.net/irc.html

Last edited by thetechgenius; 05 Feb 2016 at 23:54.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: