Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

View Poll Results: How fast is your processor speed?
Less than 500 MHz 1 0.59%
500 - 750 MHz 0 0%
750 - 1000 MHz 3 1.78%
1.0 Ghz - 1.4 Ghz 5 2.96%
1.5 Ghz - 1.9 Ghz 9 5.33%
2.0 GHz - 2.3 GHz 25 14.79%
2.4 GHz - 2.6 GHz 29 17.16%
2.7 GHz - 2.9 GHz 14 8.28%
3.0 GHz - 3.5 GHz 44 26.04%
Way too fast to count (above 3.5 GHz) 39 23.08%
Voters: 169. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 24 May 2006, 07:06
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by joeboo
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ @ 2.01 Ghz with 2GB of RAM

It makes a P4 at 3.5ghz look like super crap.
Yes, but how much software did you have to give up to use it? A lot of software won't run on that yet, or run right anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 24 May 2006, 09:05
creedmaniac creedmaniac is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South Carolina
Real name: Daniel
just came in the mail two days ago (wife told me......i'm in the desert so don't get to use it for another four months../cry)

3.73GHz Dual Core Intel Pentium D Extreme Edition 965 (with 2x2mb cache), 4gigs of corsair high performance ram, and 5 500gb disk drives (4 in raid 5...1 backup)

i think that should be a good upgrade from my pentium 3...
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 25 May 2006, 07:11
joeboo's Avatar
joeboo joeboo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Originally Posted by Boofo
Yes, but how much software did you have to give up to use it? A lot of software won't run on that yet, or run right anyway.
Im actually not running on 64bit. Not until Vista. So far, everything has run flawlessly, I do a lot of graphic design and usually have Photoshop, InDesign, and Illustrator open at the same time, so its a charm for multi-task. As for gaming, well, I think Oblivion is the only game out there that will take control of dual processors, but practically all the future games will handle dual core. Games like Ghost Recon and Battlefield need to be run on one Core, however.

Dual Core and 64bit isnt there yet, but I give it a few more months, maybe by the end of this year. But for now, everything runs super fast and super good, so I cant complain. I think this is the time when everyone is upgrading, lots of specials and deals out there.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 25 May 2006, 07:28
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by joeboo
Im actually not running on 64bit. Not until Vista. So far, everything has run flawlessly, I do a lot of graphic design and usually have Photoshop, InDesign, and Illustrator open at the same time, so its a charm for multi-task. As for gaming, well, I think Oblivion is the only game out there that will take control of dual processors, but practically all the future games will handle dual core. Games like Ghost Recon and Battlefield need to be run on one Core, however.

Dual Core and 64bit isnt there yet, but I give it a few more months, maybe by the end of this year. But for now, everything runs super fast and super good, so I cant complain. I think this is the time when everyone is upgrading, lots of specials and deals out there.
I'm still running a P4 2.8, but have thought about upgrading numerous times. I may do it here in a few months. I kind of want to wait and see what happens with the dual core technology. I think it'll move further and faster than anyone thought it would. It'll be interesting to follow it.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 25 May 2006, 07:51
dan35's Avatar
dan35 dan35 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
AMD Opteron Dual Core 165 @2.8GHz here
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 25 May 2006, 08:00
gothicuser's Avatar
gothicuser gothicuser is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Tony
Originally Posted by Boofo
Yes, but how much software did you have to give up to use it? A lot of software won't run on that yet, or run right anyway.
On my AMD X2 x64 I just run CentOS x64 bit server
__________________
Grumpy and bad tempered. I'm a pensioner, so don't care any more
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 25 May 2006, 08:16
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Its not that dual core processors are not there yet, its that most OS's and programs are not taking full advantage of multiple processors.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 25 May 2006, 09:31
deathemperor's Avatar
deathemperor deathemperor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Lucius Hunk
mine 2.4Ghz 1280MB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 25 May 2006, 17:17
joeboo's Avatar
joeboo joeboo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Originally Posted by Zachery
Its not that dual core processors are not there yet, its that most OS's and programs are not taking full advantage of multiple processors.
..Dude its the same concept. Dual processors are not at the point where they can be fully utilized.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 26 May 2006, 00:24
who is chris c who is chris c is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
well i run several machines 2.8 duel core intel is the newest also 1.5ghz risc (powerbook) and 1.2ghz athlon oc'ed a bit for my 3 main toys
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 28 May 2006, 10:00
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Originally Posted by joeboo
..Dude its the same concept. Dual processors are not at the point where they can be fully utilized.
Then why did you seperate them ? Actually they are, just not by everything, programs like photoshop, and other large photo, 3d maniplutation, or video encoding/decoding software will make use of it. 2 or more processors in windows make use for real multitasking, where one CPU can encode your video and the other can play music and write a word doc. Vista and SMP linux kernels take advantage of the multiple processors even if the programs themself dont. The onyl way programs will start taking advantage is if we start moving over to more multiple processor machines.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 00:05
Leftfield_2k6 Leftfield_2k6 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
3.51Ghz Core2Duo baby :-)
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 01:29
Shazz's Avatar
Shazz Shazz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
Real name: Shawn
Way too fast to count (above 3.5 GHz)
4GIG RAM duals
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06 Aug 2007, 13:31
Martz's Avatar
Martz Martz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
My new system is well run in now

Intel Core 2 Quad (Q6600) @ 2.4Ghz
8MB L2 cache, 1066MHz FSB

ASUS P5K3 Deluxe motherboard
Geforce 8800 GTS 320mb DDR3
4 x 500GB Western Digital hard disks - RAID 10 (0+1) = 931GB usable space
2GB Kingston RAM
22" Widescreen Acer TFT

It's great for stuff like Adobe Premiere/Photoshop and I play Battlefield 2142 at the highest settings which is nice.

I was going to search the forums, I'm sure we've been posting amazing computer specs for years in Chit Chat now. They just look antiquated in retrospect!
__________________
utassault.net forums
Free hosting for
28 co-branded Unreal Tournament clans/projects
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06 Aug 2007, 16:06
no mods's Avatar
no mods no mods is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Is there a slow as molasses option, cause mine would go in that catagory.
__________________
Currently Forum less.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:36.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: