Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10 Mar 2016, 10:17
sr20de_99 sr20de_99 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Creating a development/testing vBulletin Instance

Assuming that my site is running at mySite.com, would I be able to create a subdomain dev.mySite.com, and install vBulletin in it for development/testing purposes?

Is it simply a matter of:
- Creating a new subdomain
- Add a new database to the subdomain
- upload vBulletin into the subdomain's home directory, and install from there?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10 Mar 2016, 10:24
setishock setishock is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
As per the TOS you can have one work copy but it must not be seen by the public. It has to be totally invisible to any one besides you.
__________________
Working on new projects and expanding our horizons. Come by and see what we're up to now.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Mar 2016, 10:26
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Yes, that's all you have to do.

vBulletin's license agreement:
1.7 Test Copy. You may make one (1) additional temporary test copy for the purpose of testing code, template and database modifications. Such a test copy must not be made available to the general public at any time.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Mar 2016, 10:42
sr20de_99 sr20de_99 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
The dev site would only be used for testing the creation of custom templates, and database files, and would not be available to the general public, but I was hoping that a couple of my site's admins would be able to access it to test the changes before rolling them out on our live site. I wasn't planning on copying over any of our forum data, or users.

Is there a better way to go about this?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Mar 2016, 10:45
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
You can just restrict the dev forum to a couple of IP addresses using a .htaccess file. That way it will not be public.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Mar 2016, 10:52
sr20de_99 sr20de_99 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Sounds good, thanks for the information!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Mar 2016, 16:18
alcazarx's Avatar
alcazarx alcazarx is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Alternately you can use it on your local computer - if you have a webserver with php.
<- uses this for years for different webscripts (ITS, CMS, Forum etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14 Mar 2016, 03:49
webmastersun's Avatar
webmastersun webmastersun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
You can just restrict the dev forum to a couple of IP addresses using a .htaccess file. That way it will not be public.
I agree with this idea. Using a private forum to check or test somethings for your real forum.
__________________
The best webmaster forum & internet marketing forum for webmasters and internet marketers.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:00.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: