Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[YUI] Tabbed Forum Home Details »
[YUI] Tabbed Forum Home
Mod Version: 4.0.8, by ZeroHour (Coder) ZeroHour is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.11 Rating: (103 votes - 4.56 average) Installs: 444
Released: 14 Jan 2010 Last Update: 02 Aug 2012 Downloads: 4500
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations Is in Beta Stage  

[YUI] Tabbed Forum Home (TFH) version 4.0.8
vBulletin version: 4.1.11 - 4.2.0
Older versions need original mod for now

Description:
This MOD is for creating a "Tabbed" Forum Home Page to have Categories and other Data types (via Modules) displayed within Tab containers. Please do not confuse this with the Tab Menu System here at vbulletin.org. They are totally different systems. These Tabs actually switch the content via AJAX without leaving the main forums page.

This is an entirely new version of TFH and only works with vB4. Management is all done via the Admin CP.

Installation is done in 3 simple steps. Upload files, Import product, 3 easy Template Edits.

Setup is now a breeze via the Tabs option in the Admin CP.

The attached Zip File contains the Files and Instructions necessary to install.

Incompatible mods
Two columns of categories - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=275114

Upgrading to 4.0.7+ from previous versions
We have had to change the mod's id which means when you install this time you will have 2 mods, the new version with its new id and the old version.
Both can run side by side but shouldnt to save processing time.

To migrate:
Install the latest version and upload all the files (no conflicts to worry about)
Install the latest product xml
Follow the template changes in the upgrade txt
Create your tabs in the new admincp menu option "EG: Tabbed Forum Home" to mirror the existing "Tabbed Forum Home" menu.
Once done uninstall the product "Tabbed Forum Home" with productid bobster_tfh (old mod id)


Change Log:

VERSION 4.0.8 2nd August 2012
Changes:
> Fixed several database bugs
> Fixed several legacy redirect bugs
> Fixed static path problem for scripts (this should resolve some 4.0.7 blank forum issues)
> Thanks to Bluefin221 & LgsOfChampions

VERSION 4.0.7 1st August 2012
Changes:
> New Mod ID - YOU MUST MIGRATE SETTINGS MANUALLY
> vBulletin 4.1.11+ required
> JS loaded after drawing
> Remote YUI JS (partial) support
> Fixed instructions typo
> All previous fixes in 4.0.5 that caused no bugs

VERSION 4.0.5 27th April 2012
Changes:
> This version should be used with vbulletin 4.1.11+
> Compatibility with JS changes in vbulletin 4.1.11+
> Upgraded to run with YUI 2.9.0
> Local versions of files to minimise loading issues
> Upgraded to Dispatcher 2.2
> Reduced size of forumindextab generator and reduced size to boost performance
> Added a template cache call to reduce load
> Added loader animation and box when tab is clicked and loading.

Original Change Logs for bobster65 & King Kavor releases
VERSION Beta 2b 23 March 2010
Changes:
> CSS Conflict resolved

VERSION Beta 2 19 March 2010
> CSS Conflict resolved
> Upgrade to YUI 2.7.0 & Dispatcher 2.1
> Minor Bug fixes

Originally created by bobster65 & King Kovifor

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	frontend.gif
Views:	19223
Size:	188.6 KB
ID:	110041   Click image for larger version

Name:	acp1.jpg
Views:	6553
Size:	68.3 KB
ID:	110042   Click image for larger version

Name:	acp2.jpg
Views:	3755
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	110043   Click image for larger version

Name:	acp3.jpg
Views:	3156
Size:	48.6 KB
ID:	110044  

Click image for larger version

Name:	acp4.jpg
Views:	3533
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	110045  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements [AJAX] Tabbed Forum Home bobster65 vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 1762 20 Nov 2013 06:34
Forum Home Enhancements [YUI] Tabbed Forum Home bobster65 Modification Graveyard 164 06 Dec 2008 22:40

  #586  
Old 06 May 2011, 00:55
ZeroHour's Avatar
ZeroHour ZeroHour is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Originally Posted by preemz10314 View Post
Yes please. I tried installing this one time on my forum a while ago, got caught up in a serious mess. An auto install would be delightful. honestly. there is a huge cry for that. I think auto-install could possibly boost this mod to one of the more used/popular mods around....

Thank you, and good luck.
Well good news on that front, I am making good progress with auto install and the test code works, now I am building an admin interface for it to select the styles to enable.
For those running this mod, you will probably have to revert the templates and remove the edits before applying the style using the automated method.

Originally Posted by Santori View Post
Hello, Do you have reason, my forumhome is large. And itīs another mod. But I need to say it is dynamic , if you see my forum, it actuallize all posts and is compatible with translations.

This is a reason I do not use the mod in my forum, I have the vbet enterprise translation mod and it not works with TFH.

Regards.
Hi Santori,
I didnt mean it quite as it sounded. This addon loads the tab's content from the server when you click a tab and if you were to re-click the tab the content would reload with any updates. Your site uses a similar approach to the vb3.8 mod like this where each tabs content is in the html of your forumhome but its hidden. When you click a tab the content is shown and the unselected tab content div is then hidden. If you reclick the same tab though the tabs content is not updated *dynamically* as such (aka fresh) it just shows the existing content. The mod your using is similar to how the collapse button works.
Because of this your page is larger then it would be if the hidden tab content was not loaded.

Regarding vbet, thats a dangerous mod for SEO to run and if you need translation primarily and not some hidden SEO benefit you can use various scripts which load if the users language is different using google translator.
__________________
Visit EduGeek.net
Reply With Quote
  #587  
Old 06 May 2011, 05:10
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Just a heads up.. KK and I have handed over the vB4 version of TFH to ZeroHour for support, maintenance & further development for the vB4 track.

KK and I maintain ownership of the vB3 version.

Please PM ZeroHour for any vB4 TFH questions and support from this point forward. Thank you!
__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #588  
Old 06 May 2011, 05:18
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
I would love to see the jquery version.
me too, however, I won't be doing any vB4 work. I've got a jquery version of the vB3 TFH and you probably already know what version of TFH I am working on right now :P
__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #589  
Old 06 May 2011, 10:25
RedDevil's Avatar
RedDevil RedDevil is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Steve
Cheers bobster65 its still a great mod to your credit
Reply With Quote
  #590  
Old 06 May 2011, 10:29
RedDevil's Avatar
RedDevil RedDevil is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Steve
Originally Posted by ZeroHour View Post
A question, how important would an auto template install be?
Do you guys find manual edits a problem?
The install should be very efficient when I get it going fully unlike a lot of mods auto install's which actually get ran on each page.
I have found a possible way but I am just trying to work out if there is any point.

It all depends on your skill lever Zerohour, myself its not now a problem following instructions, but i recall when i first started was a nightmare being unknowledgable about the coding, im still only a novice myself but i manage.


Auto template is preferred but you have to go with whats better for yourself, we will be happy with that.


Also a feature request if possibe:

Place tabs in different areas, ie like requested in pm
Reply With Quote
  #591  
Old 06 May 2011, 11:33
preemz10314 preemz10314 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
also if you add the auto-install please include what files we should back up before installing incase we need to revert. I'll wait for this. As a forum grows this is a good mod to clean it up. I have plans for this when completed.. and also, if possible, let us know how to customize the tab colors.. thanks. -waiting.
Reply With Quote
  #592  
Old 06 May 2011, 12:37
RedDevil's Avatar
RedDevil RedDevil is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Steve
Originally Posted by preemz10314 View Post
also if you add the auto-install please include what files we should back up before installing incase we need to revert. I'll wait for this. As a forum grows this is a good mod to clean it up. I have plans for this when completed.. and also, if possible, let us know how to customize the tab colors.. thanks. -waiting.
Tab colors are simple to change in CSS if i recall, im sure its been mentioned in an earlier post
Reply With Quote
  #593  
Old 06 May 2011, 13:29
ZeroHour's Avatar
ZeroHour ZeroHour is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Originally Posted by preemz10314 View Post
also if you add the auto-install please include what files we should back up before installing incase we need to revert. I'll wait for this. As a forum grows this is a good mod to clean it up. I have plans for this when completed.. and also, if possible, let us know how to customize the tab colors.. thanks. -waiting.
Hi
The install will work like this, you install the mod, go to the Mods Styles section and enable the styleid's you want to use the tabbed forum home, the system will then compile the changes. If you choose to disable the styleid's tabbed mode it will automatically remove the changes
Without choosing which to enable NOTHING is changed.
As for tab colours etc I will be adding options for that soon too, the initial release though probably wont have those changes integrated yet as I want to get the auto installer out there first.
__________________
Visit EduGeek.net
Reply With Quote
  #594  
Old 06 May 2011, 18:50
Santori Santori is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010

Hi Santori,
I didnt mean it quite as it sounded. This addon loads the tab's content from the server when you click a tab and if you were to re-click the tab the content would reload with any updates. Your site uses a similar approach to the vb3.8 mod like this where each tabs content is in the html of your forumhome but its hidden. When you click a tab the content is shown and the unselected tab content div is then hidden. If you reclick the same tab though the tabs content is not updated *dynamically* as such (aka fresh) it just shows the existing content. The mod your using is similar to how the collapse button works.
Because of this your page is larger then it would be if the hidden tab content was not loaded.

Regarding vbet, thats a dangerous mod for SEO to run and if you need translation primarily and not some hidden SEO benefit you can use various scripts which load if the users language is different using google translator.


Mpfff, Sorry, but every tab have a own variable forumbits, Itīs the same working for vbulletin 4. The same. But I donīt know why is the problem with the larger of the page if is faster of TFH.
Sorry, I dontīt see results or purpose to all. This is mod( tfh) is good , but some users have the same problems: The time to charging and the famous button.
Now I find a solution and you say somethings about the programation etc... but works my friend. As i say, you are efforting in the wrong way.
I donīt have anything to say about this .

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #595  
Old 06 May 2011, 23:22
preemz10314 preemz10314 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
nice..........cant wait to see how this turns out.
Reply With Quote
  #596  
Old 07 May 2011, 11:08
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
me too, however, I won't be doing any vB4 work. I've got a jquery version of the vB3 TFH and you probably already know what version of TFH I am working on right now :P
Thats good to read. My main site is on vb3 anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #597  
Old 15 May 2011, 22:16
Avrojet Avrojet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Good to hear this is still being developed.

Any chance of making it so that it remembers which tab you were on? So when you click the back button on your browser it will go back to that tab instead of the default tab.
Reply With Quote
  #598  
Old 16 May 2011, 10:21
ZeroHour's Avatar
ZeroHour ZeroHour is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Originally Posted by Avrojet View Post
Good to hear this is still being developed.

Any chance of making it so that it remembers which tab you were on? So when you click the back button on your browser it will go back to that tab instead of the default tab.
Yes I am very keen to get that integrated, I have read some code that should allow it to work but I do plan to have the feature.
__________________
Visit EduGeek.net
Reply With Quote
  #599  
Old 16 May 2011, 21:59
karlm's Avatar
karlm karlm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Karl
Originally Posted by karlm View Post
Originally Posted by karlm View Post
Originally Posted by karlm View Post
Due to some d/b issues I was encountering, I uninstalled all my plugins - including this one. However, now that my d/b issues are resolved, I went to reinstall this. Upon trying to install, it claims the tables already exist as if it hadn't been uninstalled.

What can i do to get this installed again, please?
Bobster, any chance you could look into helping with this when you get a moment, please? I've been using this hack for a long time - but am currently unable to use it due to the above errors (tables already exist).
Just bumping my own support request...
Re-bumping as is now under 'new management'...
Reply With Quote
  #600  
Old 18 May 2011, 21:40
synseal's Avatar
synseal synseal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Real name: Ben Dover.
I went ahead and used this after your post earlier regarding SEO and sitemaps Zerohour, thanks for that, now I have this set up and working fine I have one issue.

Is there a way of making this area (white) transparent, it looks fine on my light style's but terrible on my dark styles.

Do I need to edit the skin-tfh.css? and in what way.

Thanks for any help.
Attached Images
File Type: png BG COLOUR.png (52.7 KB, 37 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:51.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: