Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[YUI] Tabbed Forum Home Details »
[YUI] Tabbed Forum Home
Mod Version: 4.0.8, by ZeroHour (Coder) ZeroHour is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.11 Rating: (103 votes - 4.56 average) Installs: 444
Released: 14 Jan 2010 Last Update: 02 Aug 2012 Downloads: 4500
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations Is in Beta Stage  

[YUI] Tabbed Forum Home (TFH) version 4.0.8
vBulletin version: 4.1.11 - 4.2.0
Older versions need original mod for now

Description:
This MOD is for creating a "Tabbed" Forum Home Page to have Categories and other Data types (via Modules) displayed within Tab containers. Please do not confuse this with the Tab Menu System here at vbulletin.org. They are totally different systems. These Tabs actually switch the content via AJAX without leaving the main forums page.

This is an entirely new version of TFH and only works with vB4. Management is all done via the Admin CP.

Installation is done in 3 simple steps. Upload files, Import product, 3 easy Template Edits.

Setup is now a breeze via the Tabs option in the Admin CP.

The attached Zip File contains the Files and Instructions necessary to install.

Incompatible mods
Two columns of categories - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=275114

Upgrading to 4.0.7+ from previous versions
We have had to change the mod's id which means when you install this time you will have 2 mods, the new version with its new id and the old version.
Both can run side by side but shouldnt to save processing time.

To migrate:
Install the latest version and upload all the files (no conflicts to worry about)
Install the latest product xml
Follow the template changes in the upgrade txt
Create your tabs in the new admincp menu option "EG: Tabbed Forum Home" to mirror the existing "Tabbed Forum Home" menu.
Once done uninstall the product "Tabbed Forum Home" with productid bobster_tfh (old mod id)


Change Log:

VERSION 4.0.8 2nd August 2012
Changes:
> Fixed several database bugs
> Fixed several legacy redirect bugs
> Fixed static path problem for scripts (this should resolve some 4.0.7 blank forum issues)
> Thanks to Bluefin221 & LgsOfChampions

VERSION 4.0.7 1st August 2012
Changes:
> New Mod ID - YOU MUST MIGRATE SETTINGS MANUALLY
> vBulletin 4.1.11+ required
> JS loaded after drawing
> Remote YUI JS (partial) support
> Fixed instructions typo
> All previous fixes in 4.0.5 that caused no bugs

VERSION 4.0.5 27th April 2012
Changes:
> This version should be used with vbulletin 4.1.11+
> Compatibility with JS changes in vbulletin 4.1.11+
> Upgraded to run with YUI 2.9.0
> Local versions of files to minimise loading issues
> Upgraded to Dispatcher 2.2
> Reduced size of forumindextab generator and reduced size to boost performance
> Added a template cache call to reduce load
> Added loader animation and box when tab is clicked and loading.

Original Change Logs for bobster65 & King Kavor releases
VERSION Beta 2b 23 March 2010
Changes:
> CSS Conflict resolved

VERSION Beta 2 19 March 2010
> CSS Conflict resolved
> Upgrade to YUI 2.7.0 & Dispatcher 2.1
> Minor Bug fixes

Originally created by bobster65 & King Kovifor

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	frontend.gif
Views:	19222
Size:	188.6 KB
ID:	110041   Click image for larger version

Name:	acp1.jpg
Views:	6552
Size:	68.3 KB
ID:	110042   Click image for larger version

Name:	acp2.jpg
Views:	3755
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	110043   Click image for larger version

Name:	acp3.jpg
Views:	3156
Size:	48.6 KB
ID:	110044  

Click image for larger version

Name:	acp4.jpg
Views:	3533
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	110045  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements [AJAX] Tabbed Forum Home bobster65 vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 1762 20 Nov 2013 06:34
Forum Home Enhancements [YUI] Tabbed Forum Home bobster65 Modification Graveyard 164 06 Dec 2008 22:40

  #661  
Old 23 Aug 2011, 03:14
infun infun is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Help please
It does not show the forums
Reply With Quote
  #662  
Old 30 Aug 2011, 04:48
garyopa's Avatar
garyopa garyopa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I read thru all 45 pages, and I honestly can't see to find any working fix, for the fact that "All Forums" module, shows all the forums to everyone no matter if they have premission to view it or not. -- Of course they can't view the contents, but it still shows the "last post by" and time and the name of the semi-private forum. -- this bug really needs to be fixed!
Reply With Quote
  #663  
Old 01 Sep 2011, 19:26
garyopa's Avatar
garyopa garyopa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Found another bug with this.

Users with IE9, never get "reloads" in their browser windows, as IE9 caches all ajax stuff, so everything works, except "LAST POST" info never changes, as IE9 is caching it, even if the plugin is set NOT to cache.

Works fine in all other browsers, and older IE9's.

There a thread on how to change "cache headers" to make IE9 compatible with other AJAX scripting problems, but for the life of me I can't figure out how to port over those changes to this plugin.

This is one mod I really wish would be updated.
Reply With Quote
  #664  
Old 02 Sep 2011, 21:02
Michael.A's Avatar
Michael.A Michael.A is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Mike
is this using AJAX?

NVM i dsont think so..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #665  
Old 03 Sep 2011, 00:06
garyopa's Avatar
garyopa garyopa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Originally Posted by MAD--DOG View Post
is this using AJAX?

NVM i dsont think so..
Well the first post from the author itself states the following:

These Tabs actually switch the content via AJAX without leaving the main forums page.
Well for sure it has a caching problem with IE9, if the user does not have the cache set to CHECK EVERY TIME I VISIT A WEBPAGE (which is not the default setting), on IE9, you never get to see the "reloads" when you switch tabbed pages, infact it can stay for over a day with no updates, so it sucks as users don't think there is any new posts, when in fact there is.
Reply With Quote
  #666  
Old 22 Sep 2011, 19:38
mikez006 mikez006 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Just installed on 4.1.4, tabs show up, but no forums are listed. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #667  
Old 25 Sep 2011, 00:24
Lostboyfan's Avatar
Lostboyfan Lostboyfan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Real name: Robby Wittert
Tagged for later
__________________
Webmaster on www.lostboyfan.com & www.gamingforest.com
Reply With Quote
  #668  
Old 25 Sep 2011, 07:01
bracodesign bracodesign is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Question New to VBulletin

I'm sorry, I'm from Brazil and do not speak English very well, I'm using google translator to formulate my question.

I'm new to VBulletin, I could not finish the installation. I did steps 1 and 2, but did not understand step 3.

Where do I find this page where I have to change the codes, I could explain it better?
Reply With Quote
  #669  
Old 27 Sep 2011, 08:20
Doc90 Doc90 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
tagged

is it possible to obtain something like this?
http://www.inforge.net/community/

(it's jquery i think)
Reply With Quote
  #670  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 02:53
bracodesign bracodesign is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
can anyone explain how to perform step 3, do not know what file should I modify the code
Reply With Quote
  #671  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 02:59
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by bracodesign View Post
can anyone explain how to perform step 3, do not know what file should I modify the code
Step 3 is TEMPLATE Edits, not file edits.

You edit templates via the Admin CP.

Styles & Templates >> Style Manager >> Edit Templates (chose this from the drop down box for the particular style you want to edit) >> chose which template you want to edit.
__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #672  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 14:31
bracodesign bracodesign is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I'm sorry my ignorance, I really understand very little of vbulletin, I made it in the editing area as you indicated, but did not understand what I edit. information by editing, I should change the template in 3 parts, the first part I need to enter a code before the tag </ head> right? I found this tag within a "activateform" and insert the code. Is that correct? The second is to modify the content between the <! - Main -> but I can not find the right place.

These are the installation instructions, help me with this part of me showing how to do?

=========================
FORUMHOME TEMPLATE EDIT 1
=========================
INSERT THE BELOW LINE OF CODE RIGHT BEFORE </head>

<!-- Tabbed Forum Home Header Code -->

<!-- TFH CSS -->
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/tfh/tabview.css" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/tfh/skin-tfh.css" />

<!-- YUI Library -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://yui.yahooapis.com/2.7.0/build/utilities/utilities.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://yui.yahooapis.com/2.7.0/build/tabview/tabview-min.js"></script>

<!-- YUI Library Extension: Dispatcher -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://js.bubbling-library.com/2.1/build/dispatcher/dispatcher-min.js"></script>

<!-- /Tabbed Forum Home Header Code -->


=========================
FORUMHOME TEMPLATE EDIT 2
=========================
REPLACE:

<!-- main -->

*all the Default vb CODE between the remarks*

<!-- /main -->


WITH:

<!-- main -->

{vb:raw template_hook.forumhome_above_forums}

<!-- Tabbed Forum Home -->

<div id="forumhome_container" style="margin-top:5px"> </div>

<script type="text/javascript"> {vb:raw tfh} </script>

<!-- /Tabbed Forum Home -->

{vb:raw template_hook.forumhome_below_forums}

<!-- /main -->


NOTE: IF YOU HAVE CUSTOM <!-- main --> through <!-- /main --> CODE, YOU WILL NEED TO COPY IT AND REPLACE THE DEFAULT CODE IN THE FORUMHOMETAB TEMPLATE


=====================
FORUMHOMETAB TEMPLATE
=====================
THIS IS AUTOMATICALLY CREATED FOR YOU BASED ON DEFAULT VB4.

NOTE: YOU ONLY NEED TO EDIT THIS IF YOU HAVE A CUSTOM STYLE THAT HAS A DIFFERENT FORUMHOME <!-- main --> **CUSTOM CODE** <!-- /main --> CODE


<!-- main -->

<ol id="forums" class="floatcontainer">
{vb:raw forumbits}
</ol>

<!-- /main -->

{vb:raw forumhome_markread_script}



NOTE: IF YOU HAVE A CUSTOM STYLE WITH DIFFERET <!-- main --> **CUSTOM** <!-- /main --> CODE, Replace with your custom code. You do need to leave the last line ( {vb:raw forumhome_markread_script} ) in place tho as that is used for marking the forum(s) as READ.


================================================
forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost TEMPLATE EDIT 1
================================================
INSERT AT BEGINNING OF TEMPLATE:

<vb:if condition="(THIS_SCRIPT=='indexTFH' AND (in_array($forum['forumid'], $_REQUEST['tabcat']) OR in_array('all', $_REQUEST['tabcat']))) OR (THIS_SCRIPT=='forumdisplay') OR (THIS_SCRIPT=='index')">


================================================
forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost TEMPLATE EDIT 2
================================================
INSERT AT END OF TEMPLATE:

</vb:if>



==============================================
forumhome_forumbit_level1_post TEMPLATE EDIT 1
==============================================
INSERT AT BEGINNING OF TEMPLATE:

<vb:if condition="(THIS_SCRIPT=='indexTFH' AND (in_array($forum['forumid'], $_REQUEST['tabcat']) OR in_array('all', $_REQUEST['tabcat']))) OR (THIS_SCRIPT=='forumdisplay') OR (THIS_SCRIPT=='index')">

==============================================
forumhome_forumbit_level1_post TEMPLATE EDIT 2
==============================================
INSERT AT END OF TEMPLATE:

</vb:if>
Reply With Quote
  #673  
Old 02 Oct 2011, 19:57
Angle4cor Angle4cor is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011


After all I always get only this. My categories just disappeared. I tried to do this on three styles already. I'm using vB 4.1.6.

Can someone help me?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #674  
Old 04 Oct 2011, 02:48
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by bracodesign View Post
I'm sorry my ignorance, I really understand very little of vbulletin, I made it in the editing area as you indicated, but did not understand what I edit. information by editing, I should change the template in 3 parts, the first part I need to enter a code before the tag </ head> right? I found this tag within a "activateform" and insert the code. Is that correct? The second is to modify the content between the <! - Main -> but I can not find the right place.

These are the installation instructions, help me with this part of me showing how to do?

=========================
FORUMHOME TEMPLATE EDIT 1
=========================

=========================
FORUMHOME TEMPLATE EDIT 2
=========================


=====================
FORUMHOMETAB TEMPLATE
=====================


================================================
forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost TEMPLATE EDIT 1
================================================


================================================
forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost TEMPLATE EDIT 2
================================================



==============================================
forumhome_forumbit_level1_post TEMPLATE EDIT 1
==============================================


==============================================
forumhome_forumbit_level1_post TEMPLATE EDIT 2
==============================================
The BOLD RED are the names of the specific template(s) that you edit.
__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #675  
Old 04 Oct 2011, 04:44
bracodesign bracodesign is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Tabs / modules

I have some categories and within a forum with several sub-forums, how do I set the tab to show all when clicked, would be: tabindex.php? Tabcat [] = 152
152 is the ID of the category?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:55.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: