Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 15 Nov 2014, 20:24
squishi squishi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Unhappy Custom BBCodes not working after rebuilding post cache

The title says it all.

I have reprocessed the post cache of all my forum's posts.
Now the custom [ YOUTUBE][/YOUTUBE] bbcodes (without the space) no longer work in older posts.
When I post a new one, the embedded videos do show. Old posts just show the bbcode.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15 Nov 2014, 21:27
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Hmm...maybe it doesn't work right if you rebuild the post cache from the admincp. You could try just deleting the post cache and see what happens (it will get rebuilt as users view posts).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15 Nov 2014, 23:12
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
If you edit one of the older posts, what is it showing exactly for the full bbcode? Is it any different from a post that is working?
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16 Nov 2014, 18:29
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
If you disable post caching does it work or not?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17 Nov 2014, 07:21
squishi squishi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Where can I find the setting to turn off the post cache?

When I edit an older post, the youtube embed words again.
So there is nothing wrong with the bbcodes, they just don't get replaced when rebuilding the post cache.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17 Nov 2014, 10:14
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
If you edit one of the older posts, what is it showing exactly for the full bbcode? Is it any different from a post that is working?

Like is the code in lowercase and and the working code is in uppercase? Or do you just click on edit post, then save changing nothing, and it works?
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17 Nov 2014, 17:58
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by squishi View Post
Where can I find the setting to turn off the post cache?
AdminCP > Settings > Options > Server Settings > Cached Posts Lifespan > 0
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18 Nov 2014, 08:27
squishi squishi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
I set the post cache lifetime to 0 and then revisted older posts with an embed.
They are not showing the embedded video, just the code.

The case of the bbcode should not matter. WHen I add a new post, the bbcode can be upper or lower case. I expect the same behavior from the post parser.

--------------- Added 18 Nov 2014 at 08:28 ---------------

I have also just disabled all plugins and turned the post cache time to 0.
The custom BBCodes are still not parsed.

--------------- Added 18 Nov 2014 at 08:29 ---------------

When I edit an older post and just hit the save button, the code gets parsed and the video shows.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Nov 2014, 08:52
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Try running the "Hourly cleanup #2" scheduled task. That should remove cached posts that are older than the limit (all of them, since you have it set to 0). From what you said it definitely sounds like it's a problem with the posts in the rebuild cache, so you just need to clear it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18 Nov 2014, 16:12
squishi squishi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
I did rebuild all posts twice, using the maintenance task. That should have rebuilt the posts.
But it's actually what has caused the problem.

I would prefer not to delete all cached posts. That would only increase the load on the server.
Instead, I would prefer to fix whatever problem there is with the BBCode parser that is used when the post cache is rebuilt.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18 Nov 2014, 16:36
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Is it a mod that adds the YOUTUBE bbcode? Then you'd have to find out if they can help you. If it is a mod then I'd guess that it uses a hook that isn't called from the admincp.

If I understand things (based on a quick look at the code, so I may not understand), when you set the cache time to 0 the cached posts will get deleted as soon as the Cleanup #2 scheduled task runs, so they may have already have been deleted anyway. But like I said before, if the cache time is > 0 then the cache will get built as users view posts, so that seems like it could even be better than building it all at once from the admincp (unless you were doing it in the middle of the night or something).

Edit: reading your post again, I'm thinking maybe there's a misunderstanding about the problem. I'm thinking if the post cache has been built incorrectly, then you'd have to build it again even if the problem were fixed. It sounds like maybe you're thinking that you could fix the problem and avoid rebuilding the cache? I suppose that's a possibility, depending on how the mod works.

In any case, that's all I have to say, I'll let someone else help.

Last edited by kh99; 18 Nov 2014 at 16:47.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18 Nov 2014, 21:29
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
It is a mod that does the [ youtube ] tags. I seem to recall I had this same issue on my site with the mod and had to modify it. I would suggest you check the modification thread and see if it's been mentioned and if a fix was posted there.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19 Nov 2014, 09:51
squishi squishi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
No, it's not a mod. I just used the "BB Code Manager" in the backend to define this custom BBCode. (Unless this BBCode Manager is a mod).
bbcode manager.jpg
I noticed that other custom codes in the BBCodeManager did not get replaced, either, when I rebuilt the post cache.

Last edited by squishi; 19 Nov 2014 at 09:57.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19 Nov 2014, 09:58
squishi squishi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
I have disabled all plugins now and will rebuild the post cache. That will take a few hours.
I am very sure that the problem will persist. I will report back...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19 Nov 2014, 11:22
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by squishi View Post
No, it's not a mod. I just used the "BB Code Manager" in the backend to define this custom BBCode. (Unless this BBCode Manager is a mod).
OK, but are you certain of that? If you have a bbcode that takes an entire youtube url and embeds it, then I believe that it would have to be a mod. If it just takes the id then it could be a custom code in the manager.

Sorry to question what you said, but like Lynne said, if it's a mod then you should check in the mod thread. For example, in the AME 2.5 Media Embedding mod, there's this: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...202476&page=35 and if you scroll down to post #517 you'll see they are talking about that exact problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:11.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: