Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Allow Usergroups to Post HTML Details »
Allow Usergroups to Post HTML
Mod Version: 1.00, by kall (Coder/Designer) kall is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.4 Rating: (34 votes - 4.32 average) Installs: 510
Released: 26 Sep 2005 Last Update: 28 Nov 2005 Downloads: 2010
Not Supported Uses Plugins Is in Beta Stage  

Just like the name says, this ultra-simple little Product will allow you to specify Usergroups that may post in HTML and have that HTML be parsed...SOME PEOPLE ARE HAVING TABLE PROBLEMS - THIS IS UNSUPPORTED USEAGE OF THE MODIFICATION AND I AM UNABLE TO ASSIST!

***BE AWARE THAT INDISCRIMINATE USE OF THIS HACK IS RISKY - RESTRICT IT TO ONLY THOSE USERGROUPS YOU TRUST ABSOLUTELY***

The scary message above is to make sure you are aware that enabling HTML for any group opens you up to security issues. This is why it is not a feature of Stock vB, probably.

I decided I needed to have the ability to post in HTML because I just installed ZT's RSS Feeds hack, and the ones I got from Google looked all horrible.

Now updated to be controlled by a Setting in Usergroup Manager, it's phrased and even works in editpost.php (preview) in WYSIWYG and normal modes, AND the Forum Rules shows HTML is ON.

This will not work retroactively. That is, if a User posted something in HTML before they were given the ability, that post has to be edited by that member (or someone else with HTML ability) in order to be parsed. I am assuming this is due to post caching.

Many thanks to Kirby for prodding me to figure it out by myself and not just telling me what to do.

A "demo" is here..html is OFF in that Forum, but the post is made by an Admin, so the HTML is parsed.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 27 Sep 2005, 11:12
dastar dastar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
NM. I got it now.

Works well (as long as you uninstall the original, doh!) thanks Kall!

Works in preview post too! :banana: :banana:

Last edited by dastar; 27 Sep 2005 at 11:21.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 27 Sep 2005, 11:22
kall's Avatar
kall kall is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Ace
Originally Posted by dastar
NM. I got it now.

Works well (as long as you uninstall the original, doh!) thanks Kall!

Works in preview post too! :banana: :banana:
Coolness man, you are most welcome.

Heh. That's 2 bbcode_parseing type plugins I have released now.
__________________
vBulletin Styles (All styles compatible with 3.8.4 - Steel Blue 4.0 Available) | vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 27 Sep 2005, 12:40
Cyricx Cyricx is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
That's awesome! Kick ass job!!

/me clicks install.
__________________
Cyricx (Chris)
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 27 Sep 2005, 14:42
NuclioN's Avatar
NuclioN NuclioN is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
what to do with the bitfield_allowhtml.xml file???
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 27 Sep 2005, 15:15
dastar dastar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Upload it to your includes folder.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 27 Sep 2005, 15:27
murrtex's Avatar
murrtex murrtex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Murat
it does not on me... everything is finish?? or let me wait..
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 27 Sep 2005, 15:40
Vtec44 Vtec44 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
It's working for me!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 27 Sep 2005, 15:43
dastar dastar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Originally Posted by murrtex
it does not on me... everything is finish?? or let me wait..
It's finished. What problem is it giving you?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 27 Sep 2005, 20:23
NuclioN's Avatar
NuclioN NuclioN is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Originally Posted by dastar
Upload it to your includes folder.
Tnx Now i have to figure out how this works.
-edit- works great

Last edited by NuclioN; 27 Sep 2005 at 20:49.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 27 Sep 2005, 22:15
Vtec44 Vtec44 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Maybe it's designed not to work that way, but HTML doesn't work in signature of the allowable group. Maybe v1.01 will change this?
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 28 Sep 2005, 20:27
kall's Avatar
kall kall is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Ace
Originally Posted by Vtec44
Maybe it's designed not to work that way, but HTML doesn't work in signature of the allowable group. Maybe v1.01 will change this?
Well no .. the signature isn't exactly 'posted', now is it?

Maybe...
__________________
vBulletin Styles (All styles compatible with 3.8.4 - Steel Blue 4.0 Available) | vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 04:09
utw-Mephisto utw-Mephisto is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
runs on vb 3.5 gold including preview and people not in that user group can even quote but gets only plaintext .. THIS is what I was waiting for THANKS
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 04:10
utw-Mephisto utw-Mephisto is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Demo (no reg. required) : http://www.ut2007world.com/forum/showthread.php?t=511
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 07:47
Acers's Avatar
Acers Acers is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Real name: Safin
umm gives me this error when i try to set permission for usergroup

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /includes/class_core.php on line 635


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 10:09
murrtex's Avatar
murrtex murrtex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Murat
my problem is this;

when i click update html permission on usergroup
it says;

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in \includes\class_core.php on line 627


and nothings happens.

what should i do? for fix that error
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: