Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Allow Usergroups to Post HTML Details »
Allow Usergroups to Post HTML
Mod Version: 1.00, by kall (Coder/Designer) kall is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.4 Rating: (34 votes - 4.32 average) Installs: 510
Released: 26 Sep 2005 Last Update: 28 Nov 2005 Downloads: 2010
Not Supported Uses Plugins Is in Beta Stage  

Just like the name says, this ultra-simple little Product will allow you to specify Usergroups that may post in HTML and have that HTML be parsed...SOME PEOPLE ARE HAVING TABLE PROBLEMS - THIS IS UNSUPPORTED USEAGE OF THE MODIFICATION AND I AM UNABLE TO ASSIST!

***BE AWARE THAT INDISCRIMINATE USE OF THIS HACK IS RISKY - RESTRICT IT TO ONLY THOSE USERGROUPS YOU TRUST ABSOLUTELY***

The scary message above is to make sure you are aware that enabling HTML for any group opens you up to security issues. This is why it is not a feature of Stock vB, probably.

I decided I needed to have the ability to post in HTML because I just installed ZT's RSS Feeds hack, and the ones I got from Google looked all horrible.

Now updated to be controlled by a Setting in Usergroup Manager, it's phrased and even works in editpost.php (preview) in WYSIWYG and normal modes, AND the Forum Rules shows HTML is ON.

This will not work retroactively. That is, if a User posted something in HTML before they were given the ability, that post has to be edited by that member (or someone else with HTML ability) in order to be parsed. I am assuming this is due to post caching.

Many thanks to Kirby for prodding me to figure it out by myself and not just telling me what to do.

A "demo" is here..html is OFF in that Forum, but the post is made by an Admin, so the HTML is parsed.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 10:36
kall's Avatar
kall kall is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Ace
Originally Posted by Acers
umm gives me this error when i try to set permission for usergroup

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /includes/class_core.php on line 635


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
@acers That is indeed odd. The install code of the Product *should* be executed when you install it.

@murrtex: That shouldn't cause the Product to not work..look in your Product Management. Does 'HTML' appear anywhere there? What about Plugin Manager?
__________________
vBulletin Styles (All styles compatible with 3.8.4 - Steel Blue 4.0 Available) | vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 12:51
Mepher Mepher is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
I just installed on 3.5 gold and got the same error as Acers.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 12:57
Mepher Mepher is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Originally Posted by kall
@acers That is indeed odd. The install code of the Product *should* be executed when you install it.

@murrtex: That shouldn't cause the Product to not work..look in your Product Management. Does 'HTML' appear anywhere there? What about Plugin Manager?
Yes it does appear in both in the Product manager and the plugin manager. Gives this error when I try and turn it on for any usergroup:

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /includes/class_core.php on line 635
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 13:03
dastar dastar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Make sure you delete his original plugin then upload the new one. I was getting the same error until I deleted the old one. I am running it on 3.5 gold with no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 13:04
Mepher Mepher is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
I never installed the old one, I waited till Gold was released to make sure it worked for people. I downloaded the latest one this morning and installed that.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 13:08
Mepher Mepher is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Odd. I uninstalled the product and then reinstalled the same one and it works now. :ninja:
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 13:10
dastar dastar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Originally Posted by Mepher
Odd. I uninstalled the product and then reinstalled the same one and it works now. :ninja:
Strange..... at least it works. I was getting the same errors as you were before I did what I mentioned above.

Last edited by dastar; 29 Sep 2005 at 13:17.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 19:50
Kirk Y's Avatar
Kirk Y Kirk Y is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
How can I get the HTML to display on vBA CMPS?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Please feel free to re-use any of the code in any of my projects submitted to vB.org, so long as original attribution is retained.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 21:27
kall's Avatar
kall kall is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Ace
Originally Posted by Mepher
I never installed the old one, I waited till Gold was released to make sure it worked for people. I downloaded the latest one this morning and installed that.
*sighs*

I just installed a Gold testbed. I uploaded the bitfield from this hack into my /includes/xml directory. I imported the product. I set the permissions. I tested it.

It works. No errors at all.

I apologise if it does not for you.

@acidburn - Hmm.. I didn't realise it wouldnt work there. Have you asked Brian about it? One would have assumed that vBaCMPS would look at the $dohtml value...
__________________
vBulletin Styles (All styles compatible with 3.8.4 - Steel Blue 4.0 Available) | vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 22:31
Kirk Y's Avatar
Kirk Y Kirk Y is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Brian? I tried adding dohtml into the Globalized Output Vars, to no avail.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Please feel free to re-use any of the code in any of my projects submitted to vB.org, so long as original attribution is retained.

Last edited by Kirk Y; 29 Sep 2005 at 22:46.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 22:44
utw-Mephisto utw-Mephisto is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Originally Posted by utw-Mephisto
I don't get any error - really weird .. even had updated from RC3 to gold and it is working like a charm :ermm:
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 29 Sep 2005, 22:55
kall's Avatar
kall kall is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Ace
Originally Posted by acidburn0520
Brian? I tried adding dohtml into the Globalized Output Vars, to no avail.
Brian - The creator of vbadvanced.

Might be worth asking over at www.vbadvanced.com
__________________
vBulletin Styles (All styles compatible with 3.8.4 - Steel Blue 4.0 Available) | vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 30 Sep 2005, 01:50
Kirk Y's Avatar
Kirk Y Kirk Y is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Okay, I asked... not sure how much help they'll be, but atleast I tried.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Please feel free to re-use any of the code in any of my projects submitted to vB.org, so long as original attribution is retained.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05 Oct 2005, 04:06
csidlernet csidlernet is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Real name: chad
coolies.
/me install
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05 Oct 2005, 22:29
Red Fox UK Red Fox UK is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I seem to have a problem, whiklst my usergroup can view and post HTML content - other usergroups are just shown the raw HTML, its not parsed for the viewers :ermm:
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: